We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
+44 1293 880911
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good38%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (26 reviews)
“pudding” (20 reviews)
“fillet steak” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting with friends on a lazy Sunday afternoon, we'd pre-booked for the Sunday Roast menu. Upon being served at the bar, one member of our party of four encountered a terribly rude barman. We were seated. Front of house staff seemed friendly and welcoming. Our...More

4  Thank jamstadvisor
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was lovely, nice friendly atmosphere. Service was a little on the slow side due to lack of staff, but did not spoil our meal as we were in no rush. Matt the guy who served us was very professional & calm obviously over stretched....More

Thank Resobko
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've lived within walking distance of the Hillside for over thirty years and so have used this restaurant off and on for several years, more for its convenience than its quality. The building is lovely and has great potential. The staff always seem to try...More

2  Thank Les O
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great for lunch and meeting up with friends for s glass of wine or a beer. A good place to recommend for anyone visiting the local Crawley area either on pleasure or business.

Thank Neil R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at opening time and we were greeted by a very friendly waiter. The food was served very promptly and was excellent.

Thank Keith S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A few years ago I would have given The Hillside a solid 4-stars but now I struggle to give it 2. The food is just not great and it certainly isn't good value for money. Have tried several times and each meal is as bad...More

Thank rbgwynne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a small group of friends we arrived at the Hillside looking forward to a good lunch with good company. We went to order our food just before 1.30pm - we were told 'Sorry, we aren't taking anymore food orders as we have a buffet...More

Thank jewel100
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Jewel, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We had to stop serving food for 30mins as we had to serve the buffet food and after that we continued as normal. Sorry for...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have eaten here a few times and it is always consistent which is a good thing. The food isn't going to blow you away but for a good, reliable pub meal this is a good choice.

Thank IS_Scotland
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you - I appreciate that feedback L Holman.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before visiting the Hillside Inn, I telephoned to inquire as to whether I needed to book a table because I was unsure of the time of arrival of my daughter and her partner's train from London (approx 2.15 pm arrival). I was informed by there...More

1  Thank pudaloffm
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Pudaloffm, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. sometimes due to required works to do in a kitchen we have to close it between 3pm to 6pm. But that happens only few times a year. Again very sorry about your experience....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wanted to go the the six bells for there pizza and prosecco night but we were told they were closed due to a gas leak and was told to try their sister pub hillside ! We arrived at eight to meet another couple who all...More

1  Thank t777nar
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I can only sincerely apologise for this night due to our main head chef has had to take leave from work and we all tried to do our best as a result, which I know wasn't good enough.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coaching Halt
660 reviews
1.25 km away
The Snooty Fox
133 reviews
.97 km away
Real Barbecue and Bar
220 reviews
1.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tulleys Farm
1,207 reviews
2.84 km away
Tilgate Park
995 reviews
3.04 km away
The Hawth
166 reviews
2.04 km away
Crawley Memorial Gardens
102 reviews
2.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
susieh109
14 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Gill R | Reviewed this property |
You can definatley walk probably 15 to 20 minutes. Will ve well worth it. Portions are large so always good to wslk it off, enjoy
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley
  • Phone Number: +44 1293 880911
Description
The Hillside Inn in Crawley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing