We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Retreat Grill, Bar and Restaurant

319-321 Chorley New Road | 319 - 321 Chorley New Road, BL1 5BP, Bolton BL1 5BP, England
+44 1204 849313
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (53 reviews)
“pizza” (41 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 9:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
319-321 Chorley New Road | 319 - 321 Chorley New Road, BL1 5BP, Bolton BL1 5BP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We have driven past this place many times but never been in We were in the area on Sunday and decided to have lunch there There was a good offer for Sunday lunch either 2 courses or 3 courses We had the most beautiful tomato...More

Thank Donna L
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We love this place far all family.occasions. food is always on top form and plenty of it , staff are pleasant and very attentIve, can be pricey for both food and drink but the quality of food and atmosphere make up for price. We love...More

Thank ronmorich
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just arrived home after a fabulous Charity night in aid of Christie’s at Retreat. 120 guests - 3 choices of 3 courses - absolutely perfect food - full credit for producing such excellent food for so many guests all at once. Very attentive waiting and...More

Thank wherecanwego
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'd heard good things about The Retreat so when colleagues and I decided to go out for lunch, this was the obvious choice. At lunchtime the restaurant wasn't that busy and we had booked in advance. We were seated but the waitress noticed I was...More

Thank Julie B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The restaurant is in a lovely setting with plenty of parking, it’s clean inside and it has a nice bar area. The service we received was extremely poor, given the amount of people in the restaurant was very few. The food was appalling, we ordered...More

1  Thank Barnaby K
RetreatRestaurants, General Manager at Retreat Grill, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for the review however I'm sorry it wasn't more of a positive experience for you. Our fish & chips is priced at £12.95 and the fish weight is between 6-8oz delivered fresh in daily from our suppliers at Fleetwood. Hopefully you will visit...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was absolutely amazing! The smell got your mouthwatering and the first mouthful you got to taste all the beautiful flavours which just left you wanting more! The fillet skewers and lamb starters were just perfection. The combination of flavours for each starter were...More

1  Thank AmyGreenwood88
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I went to Retreat last Saturday and in spite of some of the reviews decided to give it a go. We both had the 10oz fillet steak and it came, cooked to perfection with a pepper sauce. Service was good and the...More

1  Thank MartyBenahavis
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here for a catch up with our family, the Retreat is a lovely place with a great atmosphere. The staff are extremely friendly and the food is fabulous. Two of us had the terriacki fillet of beef skewers, two had pizzas and one...More

Thank muttibolton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had dinner here last night, we did pre book and it was busy so glad we did. It’s our new ‘local’ so glad that we all had a lovely 3 course dinner! The decor is warm and inviting and it’s going to be lovely to...More

Thank PrettypinkBlackpool
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Drinks were lovely very satisfying however I was not as impressed with the food. The lamb was very tough and not what I expected. Following this I am hesitant to return. What a shame.

1  Thank oliviarossx
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Coffee Shop at Heaton
37 reviews
.66 km away
Lagan
54 reviews
1.26 km away
Victoria Inn
371 reviews
.87 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bolton Steam Museum
90 reviews
.90 km away
Queens Park
124 reviews
1.35 km away
Doffcocker Lodge
39 reviews
1.08 km away
Bunbury's
25 reviews
1.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
anthonyhodgy
12 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Donald T |
Click on their website and download the menu
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 319-321 Chorley New Road | 319 - 321 Chorley New Road, BL1 5BP, Bolton BL1 5BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bolton
  • Phone Number: +44 1204 849313
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing