We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1-3 Salford Road | Over Hulton, Bolton BL5 1BJ, England
+44 1204 63257
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 23:30
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 280: English reviews
astley
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Back again for a family birthday meal everyone catered for in one go Special thank you to Liam aka duckers for sorting the meal list out and being so attentive with the order requests Thank you to the manageress We will be back x Thank you xxxxcarole xxxxxx

Helpful?
Thank carole p
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited lasted night I wasn't particularly that bothered but my partner enjoyed a mixed grill at a Hungry Horse in Otley, Leeds last year so when we discovered there was one near by where we lived he fancied giving it a go. He had a mixed grill and I had chicken Tikka Marsala. Must admit you got a lot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
Bolton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived with 10 children & 3 adults & although they were understaffed that day were not fazed at all. They pushed tables together & brought 5 high chairs. The food, brought together, was delicious & hot, & didn't feel it had been hanging about. I personally had the veggie breakfast which was large & only £2.99, a bargain. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited here for a quick lunch . The place was quite busy probably due to it being half term . we managed to get a seat straight away , chose what we wanted from the menu and then queued for our order to be taken . The food came pretty quick so no problem with the service today . The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
AdamB1968, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us . we at the red lion endeavour to give great quality food and service at all times I will look into your concerns however the cottage pie is served to our specification with gravy and can be served without on request hope to see you again soon Adam More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Not usually my type of place as I hate sport on tv and dont bother if you want a quiet lunch away from the kids - but for a family meal with no washing up a great place .Extremely busy but the staff had us seated pretty quickly and the food came no later than promised .Great value and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank bellaotis22
AdamB1968, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback , as you stated we were very busy also with football , we do cater for adults and families in different sections unfortunately we had football on when you visited will pass on your comments to the team More 

Salford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here many times before changed over but won't be visiting again, had lasagne tasted off complained and all I got was maybe it wasn't to my liking, what a load of rubbish got lemon meringue for desert and same again, changed for chocolate pudding like rubber, when I complained all I got was we have people ask for these... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuartdianemiles
AdamB1968, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

I am so sorry that the lasagne and the lemon meringue wasn't to your taste as stated by the duty manager these are a couple of our top selling items and we very rarely get complaints regarding these items , we at the red lion do strive to give the best in food quality and service at all times so... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went today with my mum. Excellent food, didn't wait long for it to arrive. Excellent staff and very friendly. Came to check on us at the table to see if everything was at our liking and if we need anything else. Really enjoyed it all. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank bikerjulie
AdamB1968, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review , I was pleased to hear you had a great experience I will pass on to the team. thank you again , hope to see you soon Adam Griffiths - general manager More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a meal tonight and decided to go for the valentines special - 3 courses with prosecco for £30. We were not disappointed! The staff were friendly and attentive without mithering and the food was tasty and in decent sized portions. Nothing too fancy, so you can go in casual clothes and relax with your meal. Will be going... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
AdamB1968, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review , I was pleased to hear you had a great experience on your valentines evening, its feedback like this we can build to give our guests what they want on the special occasions I will pass on to the team. thank you again , hope to see you soon Adam Griffiths - general... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well done to all at Red Lion excellant service, fantastic food well timed will be back again next month. The menu is so much better since the take over last year.

Helpful?
Thank ratchet656
AdamB1968, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review , I was pleased to hear you had a great experience I will pass on to the team. thank you again , hope to see you soon Adam Griffiths - general manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival there was food Debris on the floor outside, once inside there was a sigh saying wait to be seated as to which we had been waiting 10 minute for someone to arrive and seat us. I asked the waiter do we take our own seats her reply was "sit anywhere" once seated went to place my order at... More 

Helpful?
Thank takeavshdhdhh
AdamB1968, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with us we always endeavour to give great food and service here at the red lion and this occasion we seem not to have done this , please accept my apologies . if you would like to contact me to discuss on 01204 63257 i would be more... More 

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Leigh, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-3 Salford Road | Over Hulton, Bolton BL5 1BJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bolton
  • Phone Number: +44 1204 63257

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?