We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tickled Trout Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Smiths Hall Lower Road | West Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PE, England (Formerly The Chequers)
+44 1622 814717
Website
Today
08:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Fri 08:00 - 22:00
Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 251: English reviews
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really liked the new look, hadn't been for a long time and it was lovely. The only thing that let it down were the portion sizes, too small for the amount being charged. You would expect to feel full at the end of the meal but we didn't. For a main meal of £19 I would expect both veg and... More 

Helpful?
Thank josportsmad
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you were impressed with our refurbishment and enjoyed your visit. We have discussed your feedback with the executive chef who takes all customer comments very seriously and has actioned all points raised. We hope that you will visit us again soon. More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely place. Stopped with a friend for something to eat and was made to feel very welcome and had a great laugh with the bar staff Jane (the blonde one) and Kylie. Both these girls are a credit to this place. Made us feel very relaxed and entertained which is hard to find in a pub now days. Food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you were impressed and experienced the Tickled Trout welcome. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

West Malling, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited for lunch and was very pleased with the renovations they have done. Much brighter and more open. The menu was good and the food was lovely although the portions were a little small for the price. Will definitely visits again.

Helpful?
Thank Heather1952
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you were impressed with the renovation and enjoyed your lunch. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We haven't been here in three years, it has had a major facelift but hasn't lost any of it's friendliness, tonight we have had a lovely meal from a good menu, the staff were courteous, and friendly, for a Tuesday it was quite busy, only negative was the noise level as it has wooden floors and beamed ceilings, but if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne J S
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you were impressed and received our friendly and attentive service. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely Sunday Lunch. Interesting wines. Prompt service. Great buzz and decor. Friendly and relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank valeveritt
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you were so impressed and that you received a warm welcome from Harry. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was amazing , service was faultless and the price reasonable. Really enjoyed the experience and if we lived closer this would easily be a regular eatery for us and we would bring all our friends

Helpful?
Thank Jayson S
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive feedback. We are delighted that you were impressed with our amazing food and faultless service. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Waited for a while to go here and was excited to go entrance and bar are lovely was impressed was then taken through for meal, Starter came quickly was not that great needed mayonnaise ordered a burger for mains to be safe was so dry had to ask for sauce and mayonnaise eat the avocado and bun, boyfriends could not... More 

Helpful?
Thank readiekaty
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Readiekaty Thank you for posting your feedback to trip advisor. I am extremely concerned by our comments and would ask you to call me on 01622 814717 to discuss in person As you can see from previous reviews our team pride themselves on excellent food quality and service standards and are disappointed that you did not receive our usual... More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had cauliflower and coconut soup, bread basket and asparagus with crispy egg and cold meat, delicious. Beautiful bar and restaurant, lovely spot, well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Christine S
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive feedback, we are delighted that you were impressed and look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very rare evening free of children and a date night. Living close the pub we tried it for the first time and were overwhelmed with the amazing staff (Harry, Megan and Chloe) the food was phenomenal and I will certainly becoming back here and have found a pub we are pleased to call our local! Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Claire D
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you were impressed with our phenomenal food and amazing staff and look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

London, UK
Level Contributor
408 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Tickled Trout is one of Hush Heath Estate's gastropubs with rooms attached. Immediate impressions are positive, although the low ceiling in the pub is a hazard for those over 6 feet. The menu looks good and ranges from enticing sharing plates and bowls of salad to a sensible selection of starters, mains and desserts. Vegetarians aren't particularly well catered... More 

Helpful?
Thank DELondon
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you were impressed with the decor and service and aplogise for the low ceiling, its a very old building. I have discussed your detailed food quality feedback with the executive chef. He is extremely passionate about sourcing great quality local produce, delivering excellent standards of... More 

Travellers who viewed The Tickled Trout Restaurant also viewed

East Farleigh, Maidstone
Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Been to The Tickled Trout Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$45
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Smiths Hall Lower Road | West Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PE, England (Formerly The Chequers)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 814717
Description
The Tickled Trout, West Farleigh is a modern and stylish pub with 6 boutique hotel rooms and a fabulous fish themed restaurant with an Italian twist. It also features an impressive fresh wine and beer bar where our guests can eat or drink in a relaxed yet sophisticated environment. We are open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Like all our other venues, we pride ourselves on serving delicious wines, ciders and craft ales including those produced by our own winery Hush Heath Estate in nearby Staplehurst. Our beautiful boutique hotel rooms, with their own private entrance, are designed with comfort and luxury in mind and in the summer we open our sun filled deck and terrace 'al fresco' dining area which overlooks the large, landscaped garden, complete with children's play area. An outside bar complements this area and is a fantastic 'go-to' destination and meeting place to gather friends and family together.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Tickled Trout Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Tickled Trout Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?