We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Society Rooms

Brenchley House Week Street | Brenchley House, Maidstone ME14 1RF, England
+44 1622 350910
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good46%
  • Average17%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mash” (2 reviews)
“burger” (4 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Brenchley House Week Street | Brenchley House, Maidstone ME14 1RF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Popped in for breakfast early on a Saturday morning. I had the large English with unlimited coffee. The meal was brought to me after 5 to 10 minutes which was impressive. All nice and hot. It was delicious. The coffee was self service from a...More

Thank cartman802
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First visit for a while goid choice of drinks and improved service from staff. The Society Rooms however is showing its age, worn and dated decour and weathered toilets, it just needs some cash injection and TLC.

Thank Sam W
Tim H, Manager at The Society Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your comments and glad to here that you think we are improving. As with any busy pub it does from time to time need some TLC and we are working hard here to make that happen. See you soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a couple who have visited Society Rooms at least three times a week over the past ten years we were bitterly disappointed this evening, my chicken breast was inedible. On previous visits a member of staff has enquired if the food was satisfactory, this...More

Thank tinkerbell72018
Tim H, Manager at The Society Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am very disappointed to read these comments. I will address everything you have stated and work to improve this for you. The menu has recently been reduced yes, but this was a company wide move to help speed up service for everybody. The issue...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice surroundings and welcoming atmosphere. 3 starters for £10. Good quality food. Always a pleasure to pop in for a pint. My local do will be returning

Thank CJubilee1977
Tim H, Manager at The Society Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for this review. I am pleased to here that we are getting it right. Give the I-order App a try on your next visit. Thank you again

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

good food, chill place to hang out with friend . Really loved the fried prawn society does it better than some of the finest resturants. 👍👍👍

Thank Saron R
Tim H, Manager at The Society Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the comments Try the I-order App next time and lets see if you think we deserve a 5 star review next time. Thanks Again

Reviewed 2 March 2018

I visited a few Maidstone hostelries after the Maidstone United versus Southport match. I asked somebody for directions to the Society Rooms and he advised me not to bother. He was right, as this was one of the poorest Wetherspoon pubs I have ever experienced....More

Thank David W
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

A cheap and cheerful place to visit for a very good value lunch. A glass of wine/beer is included in the price of the grill meals and although steak was not available the chicken alternative was succulent and tasty. The only drawback is that due...More

Thank minty2014
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Myself and a couple of friends meet up for drinks and white to eat on Wednesday afternoon. We had chicken breast strips with a chilli dip. We had the offer 3 for £10. Surprisingly good. Stayed for an hour. Beer was good at a good...More

Thank Graham B
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Building has very airy open plan feel to it which I do not favour, too much glass for me, feels more like a modern restaurant than a pub but good reasonably priced food as ever and usual varying real ales, very near station and a...More

Thank Michael R
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Contemporary style setting, not really my cup of tea but staff friendly and the beer was of good quality and both drinks and food were of good value. I had a mixed grill and it was what it was, no complaints and no wow factor....More

Thank BigG573
Tim H, Manager at The Society Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you like a good value for money and apologise that on your visit with us, we was out of French mustard. We do hope you visit us again.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Maidstone
Travelodge Maidstone Central
555 reviews
.67 km away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
790 reviews
.85 km away
Grange Moor Hotel
396 reviews
1.48 km away
Oakwood House Hotel
375 reviews
1.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mu Mu Restaurant
1,331 reviews
.06 km away
Artemis
466 reviews
.06 km away
Narai Thai Palace
370 reviews
.07 km away
Gurkha
326 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Maidstone Museum
215 reviews
.21 km away
Hazlitt Theatre
96 reviews
.35 km away
Fremlin Walk
62 reviews
.28 km away
Brenchley Gardens
35 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Deborah M
6 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Tim H | Property representative |
Hi, unfortunately our last day for sunday roasts is tomorrow, but will be serving them from 12pm till 11pm.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Brenchley House Week Street | Brenchley House, Maidstone ME14 1RF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 350910
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;