We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Running Horse Harvester

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Chatham Road | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AG, England
+44 1622 752975
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 419: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We went here with the children and grandparents for one of the children's birthday. We were waiting a long time at the door to be seated despite booking and there being alot of staff working (chatting) at 4 in the afternoon. When the meals came, both steaks were missing the mushrooms and tomatoes, the kids meals were missing gravy. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank frances g
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked a table for 6 adults & 1 highchair for Easter Sunday. On the Saturday we rang to see if booking could be increased by 1 additional and was told no. Tried again on Sunday morning and pressed the matter and were now told OK. The meal: One of our party only wanted the salad & a starter so had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love Harvesters but I hated here. the waitress didn't seem like she wanted to serve us and just leave us without drinks and food and when it was ready left it under the hot plate for at least 10 mins whilst she chatted and cleaned up tables even though the restaurant was empty. it was dirty and the salad... More 

Helpful?
Thank ilike5star
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this review

Ilike5star, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you have time a nice place to eat .good for children. But you might have to wait gets very busy at times,

Helpful?
Thank terry h
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Terry H. More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Attended here with my partner, the restaurant was quiet so was seated straight away, pleasant meal and our waitresses Diane was very attentive.

Helpful?
Thank jamestorrance
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you so much for telling us about your visit and we will pass the message on to diane More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Don't bother with the breakfast The sausages were black The eggs could have knocked someone put they were that hard The beans a pile of cold orange mush The mushrooms dripping in oil The tomatoes look like they are blow torched to give a colour but clearly not cooked Bacon cooked on a charcoal griddle pan has the pattern but... More 

Helpful?
Thank kelbel635679
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this review

If you'd be willing, our manager would like to speak with you at 01622 752975 to discuss ways to improve your experience with The Running Horse, Sandling moving forward. Thank you for your input, and we hope to hear from you soon. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in with my partner yesterday as I really fancied a salad. Our waitress (Diane?) was lovely and really great and looking after all of her tables, the pair sat next to us had never been before and were delighted with the value of the lunch menu! Obviously you know what you are getting with a brand/chain but I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lavania1407
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this review

Lavania, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went as a large group of 10 at 430 on a Sunday. Restaurant was reasonably busy but not packed. Main concern was the service. Couple around us complained as the service was so slow. When food came we had some items missing and had to go up to ask another waitress to bring the items as our waitress was never... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miles-and-Co
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologise that the service was slow and about the toilets More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We pre booked our table, given great service, the food was out of this world.such a relaxed cosy restaurant,

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this review

Linda, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the running horse for breakfast, food was very tasty and well cooked. The choice was good and service efficient. We will return

Helpful?
Thank nurse1976
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. We can't wait to see you again! More 

Travellers who viewed The Running Horse Harvester also viewed

 

Been to The Running Horse Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$19
Cuisine
British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chatham Road | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 752975
Description
At The Running Horse Harvester in Maidstone food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Maidstone, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Sandling, Allington and Penenden Heath, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Running Horse Harvester and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Kent
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Running Horse Harvester staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?