We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Flying Boat - J D Wetherspoon

) #22 of 90 Restaurants in Dartford $ , British,
36-42 Spital Street | Canterbury, Dartford DA1 2DT, England
+44 1322 421970
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good33%
  • Average17%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (3 reviews)
“car showroom” (5 reviews)
“spoons pub” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
36-42 Spital Street | Canterbury, Dartford DA1 2DT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Mucky tables, dirty floor and a toilet smelling of urine. Steak sent back as too tough. Second attempt steak tender and cooked to perfection. Just a shame it's so unkept, wouldn't visit again.More

Thank Anna J
Tanya M, Manager at The Flying Boat - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi I am so sorry about your visit. We are having massive issues with our toilets at the minute due to drain blockages and a leak under the floor so I do apologise for that but hopefully this will be improving as soon as the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is a Wetherspoons pub so normal Wetherspoons menu. Not sure if they were short staffed but all seemed a bit rushed it is a rather large establishment so quite noisy when it's full had trouble hearing ourselves at times. Food was edible service a...More

Thank jittersparkle
Tanya M, Manager at The Flying Boat - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Thanks for your comments, I will feedback to the team. We do have our off days with staffing levels but it is something we are continually working to improve. We do hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Typical Wetherspoons. Plenty of space. Toilets upstairs. Good food and good beers at good prices. Can be busy. Previously a car show room It's worth a visit. No problems here. Download the app.

Thank carjams
Tanya M, Manager at The Flying Boat - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thanks for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Always nice atmosphere in here always busy on Friday and Saturday never eaten in here. But great prices on drinks

Thank Lazykez
Tanya M, Manager at The Flying Boat - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hi! Thanks for your lovely review. See you again soon!

Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

I am a big fan of the chain but with all it's impressive décor the bar staff are hopelessly mismanaged , one poor fella serving a busy lunchtime Croydon alone whilst the waiting staff wandering about aimlessly.More

Thank Simmo270
Tanya M, Manager at The Flying Boat - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hi We are really sorry that you experienced this in our pub. Unfortunately we had some unavoidable staffing issues over the weekend that did affect how quickly we were able to serve. Some of our floor staff are not able to serve on the bar...More

Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Nice pub with good food. Usual weatherspoons menu. I used the weatherspoons app on my phone and the drinks arrived within mins delivered by a very pleasant waitress the food followed shortly after.

Thank Peter W
Tanya M, Manager at The Flying Boat - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hi! Thanks for your review. We are glad you found the app helpful, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 31 May 2017

First visit here for sometime. I know this is a budget pub restaurant and every meal (of 3) that was served to us was overcooked. The mash on the kids meal was very dry and even had a hard edge. Fish batter crumbled as soon...More

Thank Lee R
Tanya M, Manager at The Flying Boat - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hi That sounds awful, and to not even have an apology is unnacceptable. I will speak to the team and investigate. Please accept my apologies on the teams behalf. Thanks for your feedback.

Reviewed 25 May 2017

We went to the Flying Boat on Wednesday 24th...Lovely, impressive building i must say...seating OK...order drinks bought and food ordered etc...then the wait began.. We noticed several people who came in after us got served After an aprox 20 minute wait we asked (this is...More

Thank Barry A
Tanya M, Manager at The Flying Boat - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Hi That sounds horrendous! Thank you for letting us know and I am glad you at least received good service from a manager. I will speak to the team on duty and see what went wrong. Thanks again

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

My friends and I had a great evening at this pub. We love the new app to order and Dan who served us was a really lovely guy. Would definitely go again.

Thank Dawn D
Tanya M, Manager at The Flying Boat - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Hi! Thanks for your lovely feedback. Will pass this on to Dan. See you again soon.

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stopped of here on the spur of the moment looking for a snack. After reading through the menu we both decided to have a main meal We both made our choice but we're told that if we were to wait 10...More

Thank Dave H
Tanya M, Manager at The Flying Boat - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Hi! Thanks for your review we are glad you enjoyed yourselves. See you soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sedir Restaurant
118 reviews
.20 km away
Royal Siam
179 reviews
.31 km away
Dartford Greek Taverna
101 reviews
.18 km away
Bella Venezia
87 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Orchard Theatre
354 reviews
.29 km away
Dartford Borough Museum
29 reviews
.35 km away
Hesketh Park
19 reviews
1.59 km away
Stephen Oliver Studio & Gallery
9 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bryony W
14 October 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Tanya M | Property representative |
Hi We have a whole vegan menu as well as a gluten free menu too. They are available under the stairs. I can recommend our 5 Bean Chilli it's delicious!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 36-42 Spital Street | Canterbury, Dartford DA1 2DT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Dartford
  • Phone Number: +44 1322 421970
Description
Large Family dining pub. Large beer garden to enjoy the summer months.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing