We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Angelina

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Location and contact

1st Arr. - Louvre
0.5 km from Place de la Concorde
Improve this listing
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
The Rue de Rivoli tea room is available by phone every day from 9am to 5pm.
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours
CUISINES
French
FEATURES
Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Table Service
Reviews (10,996)
Filter reviews
5,221 results
Traveller rating
2,722
1,446
631
222
200
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
2,722
1,446
631
222
200
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch pastry cakes eggs benedict club sandwich croque madame meringue eclairs mille feuille bread salad hot chocolate is mont blanc rue de rivoli melted chocolate sweet tooth worth the wait
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

You have to wait over an hour to get in, so it’s not really worth it in my opinion. If you didn’t, it would be maybe worth trying once. They have the thick type of hot chocolate which was very nice but that was about...the only good thing. The staff were quite rude, despite two out of the four of us speaking fluent French- treated like an inconvenience. We were seated right at the back which was fine but meant we struggled to get any service. We ordered pastries and hot chocolates, the pastries arrived about ten minutes before the drinks. It also took us over fifteen minutes to get the bill and pay. It’s very expensive for Paris even, but I guess you pay for the special atmosphere. There was a very rude family near us who were letting their children play videos out loud and despite all the guests nearby staring, shaking heads etc, no staff member told them to stop which really ruined the atmosphere for us. They might be able to seat people quicker if they didn’t take so long to let them pay!More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Beautiful place, perfect for a teatime date. Had their favorite hot chocolate, of course. And it was amazing!

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Me and my wife were at Angelina for breakfast during our honeymoon. Having stood in the line for 30 mins, we were invited by the Matrie’D to step in, having seen us multiple times standing and waiting in the line. Before being seated, the Matrie’D...walked up to my wife and asked if we were in the line, clearly showing racist behavior. Upon confronting him, he said *he asks this question to everyone*, which was a clear lie, as standing in the line for 30 minutes, we did not see him ask anyone this question. He didn’t look convinced when we looked a big flabbergasted at him asking us this and it took the couple behind us agreeing that we’d been waiting for him to let it go. It was very obviously profiling, and extremely inappropriate and offputting. Absolutely terrible experience.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You may have to wait in line for a while but its worth the wait. The hot chocolate is the best we've ever had. All the pastries are fantastic

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We tried booking online but there was no availability so went to Angelina's next to Jardin du Luxembourg where we walked straight in. My son decided he wanted a pain au chocolat, but each time he asked the waitress pretended she didn't know what he...was asking for. Got tiresome after about 4 attempts. Think she was on a wind-up. My husband and I ordered the famous hot chocolate and patisserie. These were delicious but incredibly sweet and we were unable to finish them. All in all we are glad that we visited Angelina's but suspect there are places that are much better and cheaper in Paris.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AngelinaParis, Marketing at Angelina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Angelina. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We assure you that the quality of our service and the food we serve is our priority. Please...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderfully elegant. Near Louvre. Pricey but splurge while you are here. Came near closing time for hot chocolate that was absolutely decadent.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AngelinaParis, General Manager at Angelina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Dicksonc. We acknowledge receipt of your message and would like to thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience at Angelina. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Angelina, and please accept our best regards. Oriane...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place was breathtaking however if you tend to dislike hot chocolate then do not buy it for the hype on tiktok. The queue to enter the restaurant is from 1-2 hours at lunch which was unexpected so if you are planning on doing a...city break i would skip it considering the time you will lose. My sister ordered pasta and i must say that its some of the best pasta i’ve ever tried however i would not recommend getting a slice of cake as it is simple without any glazing or cream. The hot chocolate was alright and i wanted to try it but it was not for me but if you are a fan of hot chocolate i would give it a try. For 4 people we ended up paying £70, 4 drinks, 3 desserts and a main course.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AngelinaParis, General Manager at Angelina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Pioneer. We acknowledge receipt of your message and would like to thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience at Angelina. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Angelina, and please accept our best regards. Oriane...More

Reviewed 21 October 2022 via mobile

Hi Angelina, It has been a dream of mine to visit Angelina, and I did, during my birthday. Angelina Louvre, Carla and Sangrine were very pleasant. Carla assisted me well, gave me paperbag, and checked up on me. She was so kind and made my...stay pleasant. My waitress was a different story, Gladys. She was racist. She did not move me to a better spot. She did not give me a paperbag for my food. She did not pack my salad for me. All I heard from her was No No No. But she was kind to the westerners. It was si disappointing to encounter a racist and unprofessional waitress. It made me think twice about Angelina and I stayed for about 20 mins because of her. Before I went out Carla greeted me again and we chatted. I commend Carla because she was welcoming other people well too. I don't think she knows how the other staff treat customers. Hope this will be addressed. I will be posting my experience across platforms. Hopefully Gladys does not repeat her attitude towards other clients. Thanks!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AngelinaParis, General Manager at Angelina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

Hello Ceco. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Angelina. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We assure you that the quality of our service and the food we serve is our...More

Reviewed 20 October 2022

We had a very good dining experience at Angelina. We were there for a late lunch. The eggs Benedict were great and of course the hot chocolate was to die for. The only downer was the waiting in line. Not sure there is a solution...to this problem but each time we went by the line was very long.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AngelinaParis, General Manager at Angelina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

Hello Jeffrey. We acknowledge receipt of your message and would like to thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience at Angelina. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Angelina, and please accept our best regards. Oriane...More

Reviewed 18 October 2022 via mobile

The hot chocolate definitely lives up to the hype: it’s thick, sweet and filling without being too rich. Just perfect. Worth the visit for the tradicional decor, service and cakes/pastries as well. It is however pricey as you would expect on a place who is...always extremely busy (always a queue outside for seating).More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AngelinaParis, General Manager at Angelina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

Hello. We acknowledge receipt of your message and would like to thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience at Angelina. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Angelina, and please accept our best regards. Oriane from...More

Reviewed 3 October 2022

First the positives - I think this may be the best Croque Monsieur my husband and I have had (apart from Bertinet’s Bakery). The portion was significant, it was well made and the service was fine. When we arrived at our table we said no...to the table they gave us in a crowded corner in the back where we were crammed in with a loud family who had a pram. The hostess kindly allowed us to wait on the side for a better table rather than having us get back in the queue and this wait was brief. Now the negatives - this may well have been Coco’s old haunt but fast forward to today and it’s quite a rundown salon with very crowded shoddy looking furniture and crass décor. Many customers were donning baseball caps or trying to squeeze their children into one small table and it was very loud. It was a bit of a zoo. Also, our coffees (cappuccino and latté) were very average and over priced considering the rundown atmosphere. If we really want another Croque we’ll arrive very early in the morning or not at all. What a shame. I can’t imagine what Coco’s view of Angelina would be today.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 October 2022 via mobile

We have breakfast at Angelina .. the service inside very good the food amazing .. Many different choices for breakfast and sweets .. The reasons for 4 stars not 5 2 things First the inside setting no AC and no O2 as many peoples and...no window even . The 2nd things the line outside and how they deal with people keeping us out for long time and there is many tables free inside that the only reasons other of that every thing goodMore

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AngelinaParis, General Manager at Angelina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2022

Hello. We acknowledge receipt of your message and would like to thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience at Angelina. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Angelina, and please accept our best regards. Oriane from...More

Reviewed 27 September 2022

The hot chocolate is worth trying and also very tasty onion soup. The croissants were OK, not the best and we took their signature dessert - the whipped cream with meringue and fondant on top - it was horrible so we left it.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 September 2022 via mobile

We had a great brunch! Wait wasn’t as long as I expected and the hot chocolate really was the best! Got macarons and goodies to take home too as it was all good.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AngelinaParis, General Manager at Angelina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience ! We are so lucky to have customers like you dear LeeLee422, really! We hope to see you soon in our establishments! Oriane from Maison Angelina 🤍

Reviewed 16 September 2022 via mobile

We were outside for around 20 mins. The resturant was busy. When we went inside we were taken upstairs to a very awful dark room as they pushed table together. We then said we do not want to sit it the room together with another...party who left but we stayed for a table downstairs. The one we got was not great it was near the toilets but better than upstairs. We asked for champagne with the menu being in French and we are English we ordered a bottle of €45 non alcoholic “champagne” I found this this terrible service that it was not pointed out the server that it was non alcoholic. The chocolate cake was dry the hot chocolate is not as bad as most reviews say it was nice. The strawberry cream cake was better. Not the best I would not go back it was just ok and fir the price I expected more.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AngelinaParis, General Manager at Angelina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2022

Hello dia1dia. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Angelina. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We assure you that the quality of our service and the food we serve is our...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
2,438 reviews
.05 km away
Hotel La Tamise
729 reviews
.07 km away
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
1,623 reviews
.09 km away
The Westin Paris - Vendome
4,454 reviews
.12 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Happy Caffe
731 reviews
.10 km away
Carre des Feuillants
592 reviews
.13 km away
Restaurant Le Meurice Alain Ducasse
999 reviews
.03 km away
Balagan
473 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rue de Castiglione
44 reviews
.11 km away
Paris Metro
3,217 reviews
.17 km away
Librairie Galignani
41 reviews
.03 km away
Bar 228
127 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Angelina staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Angelina, Paris - 226 rue de Rivoli, Louvre / Palais-Royal - Restaurant Reviews & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Angelina

Yes, Angelina offers takeaway services.

Yes, Angelina is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Angelina is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4