We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Restaurant Le Plantagenet

$$ - $$$
French, European, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
+33 2 41 51 71 11
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Coutances, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

We had an evening meal in this very attractive restaurant that is part of the Croix Blanche Hotel were we were staying overnight. The staff were professional and attentive. The tables were laid with crisp white linen table cloths and colored linen napkins, which added to the overall quality feel. Our two course meal was delicious, as were our glasses... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stevie50660
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Dear Stevie50660, we do hope to see you before not too long! Thank you for your nice comment. The team at Le Plantagenêt More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Nice modern environment with relaxed atmosphere. 2 menus 23 and 34 euros. 34 euro menu has single options apart from dessert but there are choices on the 27 euro menu. They also offer both menus with wine for the entree, plat and dessert at 16 euro. The wine list is local and reasonably priced for the level of establishment. Food... More 

Helpful?
Thank meraud
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Full marks for your detailed review which has been shared with all the staff, thank you! More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016

We arrived without a reservation just as they began to seat a party of, I would say, twenty or twenty five people. We were greeted warmly and given a table outside on a warm summer evening. The service was attentive, friendly, good humoured and the food was simply excellent. We will return to Fontevreaud and will return to Le Plantagenet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dukpond
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review - indeed almost all our British guests are very satisfied with our restaurant More 

Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Lunch outside was great. You needed reservations inside but outside was fine. It was very busy so service was a little slow but that was fine because the town square was very relaxing. The food was beautifully presented and tasted out of this world. I would defo visit again.

Helpful?
Thank saeb38
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Merci for your review - when may we welcome you back please? More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

Nice Restaurant in the heart of the Village. Good food and the staff were accommodating of our little French language.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Bonjour, Wendy, your short but to the point review is much appreciated! Mieke, proprietor More 

Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

Classic French cuisine, beautifully cooked and gracefully served. The €27 Euro menu - three courses plus amuse-bouche - was more than you could expect at the price.

Helpful?
Thank Ortsag
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Dear Ortsag, your compliments and excellent mark are much appreciated! Best regards, Mieke Chabenat More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2016

Thought this would be a great experience based on reviews. Food was good if somewhat overpriced. But the service was truly terrible, rude and ignorant waiting staff. Waited ages to be served or asked for drinks - felt attitude was poor as we were English..very disappointing - Avoid..

Helpful?
Thank paulbayliss11
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

I absolutely do NOT agree with the fact that British guests are not treated correctly because they are British - I'm the proprietor and English too! I hesitated for a long time to even reply to this review, but here goes: Bonjour Bayliss family, you booked a table for 9 guests during the bank holiday weekend. We did everything we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Great location in the main village square. Food was very good but expensive. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately we seemed to be forgotten at times.

Helpful?
Thank Dinesh T
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

We are sorry to read that the service did not live up to your expectations, we do apologise. Regarding the prices of food (we suggest 2, 3 and 4 course menus as well as à la carte selections): all dishes and their prices are visible at each restaurant entrance. Difficult to comment on your expecations as we do not have... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place to have lunch or diner in a stunning location, in the middle of the village right by the Abbaye. Elegant setting and excellent food. Refined without being pretentious. Reasonable prices considering all the above. And - the service was outstanding with caring and professional staff. Hope to return one day.

Helpful?
Thank Sandrine M
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Dear Sandrine, aren't we lucky with 2 great reviews from you! One for the hotel and this one for the restaurant: the keywords you used in your review really sum up how we like our restaurant to be known! Let us know whenever you are back in town... best regards, Christophe & Mieke, proprietors. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

This visit was unplanned and we liked the look for the specials for the day. We chose to seat inside, but close to the outside as the front on the restaurant opens its doors fully back. The restaurant is big and has seating at the back too. We had the set menu of salmon mousse to start and a Trio... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen R
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Thank you Rootie for you enthousiastic comments - we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal and the 'entrée du jour' as well as the 'plat du jour'. Chef loves cooking fish (too)! Thank you for the recommandations of the wines we serve: we pride ourselves on the fact that we know all the wines we serve as well as... More 

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Le Plantagenet also viewed

Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, Maine et Loire
Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, Maine et Loire
 
Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, Maine et Loire
Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, Maine et Loire
 
Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, Maine et Loire
Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Restaurant Le Plantagenet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$20 - US$48
Cuisine
French, European, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Pays de la Loire  >  Maine et Loire  >  Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
  • Phone Number: +33 2 41 51 71 11

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant Le Plantagenet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?