We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ganymed

Schiffbauerdamm 5, 10117 Berlin, Germany
+49 30 28599046
Website
Share
Save
All photos (60)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good37%
  • Average22%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“beef tartare” (4 reviews)
“profiteroles” (3 reviews)
“coq au vin” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
International, French, Seafood, European, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Schiffbauerdamm 5, 10117 Berlin, Germany
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A small group of friends (6) out for our last supper in Berlin. Chose this place as we walked along the street. Menu looked fine, and all the tables were full, so we decided to dine. We did not receive service for 40 mins. I...More

Thank Domenico M
BerlinerGourmet, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ganymed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Domenico, thanks for your feedback. Sincerest apologies for any negative experience you may have had. We are working on improving our service!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We waited for 40 minutes before someone came to take our order, and then they never brought us half of what we ordered. Very expensive, and absolutely not worth it. I would not recommend it.

Thank Raffela M
BerlinerGourmet, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ganymed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Raffela M, thanks for your feedback. Sincerest apologies for any negative experience you may have had. We are working on improving our service!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location at the Spree river is very nice. Waiters are friendly but service is very slow. Our oysters very delightful but the asparagus with Wiener Schnitzel were just average. Schnitzel were everything but not “Wiener”. Dishes are overpriced for this level.

Thank Edgar P
BerlinerGourmet, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ganymed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Edgar, thanks for your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 8 May 2018

I wish I could review the meals here, because I'm sure they are really great, but we waited so long to order, nearly forty minutes, that we got up and left. the waitstaff were also rude, and continued to serve newer customers before us, they...More

1  Thank CarlRobin
BerlinerGourmet, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ganymed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear CarlRobin, thanks for your feedback. Sincerest apologies for any negative experience you may have had. We are working on improving our service - hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 7 May 2018

Ganymede came as very pleasant surprise since we chose the place for its river coast location and nice ambiance. The food was outstanding, asparagus risotto with white fish, salmon tartar and profiteroles with vanilla ice cream and chocolate and raspberry sauce. All dishes very tasty....More

Thank Valeria M
BerlinerGourmet, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ganymed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Valeria, thanks for your positive feedback. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 5 May 2018

Made a reservation the previous day for 6pm tonight. Arrived exactly on time. Had to call the waiter to order. We both had the 28.50€ menu. Received our soup and then waited for over half an hour after we finished the soup and then the...More

Thank Keith S
BerlinerGourmet, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ganymed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Keith, thanks for your feedback. Sincerest apologies for any negative experience you may have had. We are working on improving our service - hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 May 2018

Expensive and pretentious... this brasserie has a wonderful location in Berlin that they capitalise shamelessly. Ganymed forgets they are aiming customers with enough experience to spot the difference between wonderful French cuisine and a rip off. Beware! Don't get seduced by the charming look of...More

Thank Alejandro M
BerlinerGourmet, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ganymed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Alejandro, thanks for your feedback. Sincerest apologies for any negative experience you may have had. We are working on improving our service - hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

One of the worst experiences ever. Waiters were stressed no time to get either menu cards or take order. My wife ordered a salad vwith tuna and olives and I had the escargots. Mine only tasted of melted butter and some were uneatable, my wife...More

2  Thank Nils A
BerlinerGourmet, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ganymed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Nils, thanks for your feedback. Sincerest apologies for any negative experience you may have had. We are working on improving our service - hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 22 April 2018

I can't speak highly enough of the Ganymed restaurant, our waiter was amazingly humorous and fun, he gave us a lovely welcome, he was amusing and gave us advice on what to drink in celebration of my boyfriend's birthday. I am a vegetarian and he...More

Thank Klara O
BerlinerGourmet, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ganymed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi Klara, thanks for your positive feedback. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 22 April 2018

Had reservations at 7pm , seated right away and by 7 40 , still had no wine . Could get my oysters cooked , couldn,t subsitute them with anything . Watched as the table next to us had two drink orders and first course, while...More

Thank trollheim1
BerlinerGourmet, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ganymed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear trollheim1, thanks for your feedback. Sincerest apologies for any negative experience you may have had. We are working on improving our service - hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Mitte
The centre of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights
like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum
Island. The central location makes this one of the
city's most expensive places to live. It is here the
oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence
of some significant transformations, as well. The
gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets
between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 637 hotels in Berlin
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
1,198 reviews
.12 km away
Hotel Allegra
214 reviews
.12 km away
Riverside Hotel
33 reviews
.13 km away
Melia Berlin
5,650 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Peter Pane
1,663 reviews
.16 km away
Staendige Vertretung - StaeV Berlin
161 reviews
.09 km away
Staendige Vertretung
1,188 reviews
.09 km away
Cantina in der Bar Tausend
255 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Palace of Tears
1,744 reviews
.13 km away
Friedrichstadt-Palast
3,893 reviews
.27 km away
Sammlung Boros - Boros Bunker - Boros Collection
305 reviews
.24 km away
Kabarett Theater DISTEL
105 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paulob58
2 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Paulob58 | Reviewed this property |
Why is my review not published?
0
Votes
Paulob58
2 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Paulob58 | Reviewed this property |
You had a different experience? Fine? Mine was awful. Why has the review not been posted? Censorship?
1
Vote
dimondking
21 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Julia H | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$12 - US$39
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Schiffbauerdamm 5, 10117 Berlin, Germany
  • Location: Europe  >  Germany  >  Berlin>  > Mitte
  • Neighbourhood: Mitte
  • Phone Number: +49 30 28599046
  • E-mail
Description
Vive la France - at the Schiffbauerdamm. Gourmets and fans of the French cuisine are pampered by the Brasserie Ganymed on the highest culinary standards. In former times, Bert Brecht and Helene Weigel stopped here to enjoy the cooking and the authentic Parisian air. The dishes are prepared with fresh, regional products and special French delicacies; the waiters celebrate flambeing, carving and filleting in front of the guests. On hot days and warm summer nights, be sure to secure a place on the Spree Terrace. All dishes are prepared with an extent of care and we can guarantee the vast variety of wines. Well trained waiting staff are always there to help or recommend best food and wine to accomodate your taste pallets. We always try to impress our guests with different menu each day. Our chefs daily create special lunch menu (served 12AM - 4PM) and dinner menu (served 5:30PM - 11PM) in order for our loyal customers and tourists to try something new each day.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;