We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ristorante Papa Francesco

$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
Centro Storico
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Via Marino 5 | ang.Piazza della Scala, 20121 Milan, Italy
+39 02 862177
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 441: English reviews
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited for an early dinner tonight. Ordered 2 Specials off special menu. pizza with Palma ham €12 and lasagne €15 . One glass Coke Zero and a house Italian beer. Total bill came to €47 . That's €20 for 1 beer and one coke ! Pizza was less than average to say the least and I wouldn't be surprised if... More 

Helpful?
Thank E L
Paolo B, Proprietario at Ristorante Papa Francesco, responded to this review

2 person € 47,00 Ripped Off ????? Are you Kidding me ???? Mc Donald it's more expensive !!! About Lasagne I tell you a Secret : We use Microwave !!!! Did you ever seen in your poor life Lasagna prepared express ???. Your natural place is the Tobacco Shop next my door were you can Have every kind of Microwave... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We returned to this place last week of January as we remember the good meals we had here in the past! The staff is very efficient and gives you suggestions of the specialities of the day which do not appear on the printed menu! Service is very friendly and many locals are regular guests. We enjoyed a lovely lasagne al... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ivano62
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
399 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had only just arrived in Milan and went looking for something to eat. We were enticed into this restaurant even though the prices were a little expensive but where they are situated it is somewhat understandable. The atmosphere was great and the service was very good. However, the food was disappointing as both of the pasta dishes we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
Gan Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We have visit the restaurant during new year eve. Service was terrible and we have been waiting long time for the food to arrive. We ordered mix of 3 raviolis. The taste was not good at all, and the ravioly was dry. There are much better restaurants in much less cost. We paid almost 100 euro and the food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank limoreini
auripa, Proprietario at Ristorante Papa Francesco, responded to this review

You are Right, you wait a lot of time. But it was the 31/12/2016 and as you can see we were very busy, It can happen. For the quality I'm not agree with you. Gil Hovav made here a Tv Show called "Capitan Cook" and I think he understand about quality . In any case Happy New Year. Paolo Bonomo More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We were there for lunch. We all ordered different things and the prices were to high. Especially they count you a service fee of 3,50 per person.

Helpful?
Thank Can Y
auripa, Proprietario at Ristorante Papa Francesco, responded to this review
Google Translation

C'è ancora gente che si lamenta del coperto !!!!!! Prima di venire in Italia Informatevi....!!!! Paolo Bonomo More 

Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Attractive, italian, however, becareful because we were enticed into the restaurant for lunch. Nice atmosphere, nice staff, but food was expensive for the price even for Milan. It was average tasting food with very little of the core ingredient, we had the lasagne Nice to visit. But be advised at what you buy!!

Helpful?
Thank Wollfie1
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

We were looking around to try risotto alla Milanese and found good review online, so we gave it a try of this restaurant. First we had unfriendly waiter who forgot how to greet and smile. The we ordered the risotto and a gnocchi, then worse nightmare came. Risotto is average and my gnocchi is well over cook and bland. Had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kwang Yang T
auripa, Proprietario at Ristorante Papa Francesco, responded to this review

I think that "Kwang Yang" is not able to make judgments on Italian food. His/her problem it's only money, he/she is happy to pay 16 € for 2 person. The only place were it's possible to pay 16€ for 2 person it's McDonald. Paolo Bonomo More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016

Visited with my 5 year old daughter and we were made very welcome. Seafood pasta was very good and reasonable prices for close to Duomo.

Helpful?
Thank Sandstorm_KW
Debrecen, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016

We were just wondering in the centre of Milan, looking for some decent restaurant. The reason why we chose this one is the staff and the sign next to the door (you'll see when you're there). We chose the meal of the day. It was... the most delicious meal we ate in Milan so far, it was just simply perfect.... More 

Helpful?
Thank thorion87
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We found this place because of the good recommendations on tripadvisor. Staff wasn't friendly. Antipasti were very basic. Pasta pesto wasnt really good. Macaroni was basic.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
auripa, Proprietario at Ristorante Papa Francesco, responded to this review

We always serve basic food to basic person. Paolo Bonomo More 

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Papa Francesco also viewed

Milan, Lombardy
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Ristorante Papa Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$21 - US$42
Cuisine
Italian, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Via Marino 5 | ang.Piazza della Scala, 20121 Milan, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Lombardy  >  Milan>  > Centro Storico
  • Neighbourhood: Centro Storico
  • Phone Number: +39 02 862177
Description
Traditional Family restaurant from 1980. The best Home made Pasta and dessert. T-bone steak and Fried Calamari and shrimps available every day.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ristorante Papa Francesco staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Centro Storico

Neighbourhood Profile
Centro Storico
The pulsating core of Milan is in Centro. Duomo Square is enclosed by the gothic cathedral, the historic icon of Milan. However, shopping is what draws most crowds to this area. The classy and versatile Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II with luxury boutiques and high quality restaurants will turn any shopping or lunch expedition into a royal experience. Head to the rooftop of the flagship La Rinascente to enjoy the view of the animated square with a panorama of the Duomo. The Corso Vittorio Emanuele II is the street for high-end shopping. Brands of all kinds and street artists attract the attention of all visitors; while at Via Santa Radegonda 16, Luini Panzerotti is a much appreciated street food shop providing unimaginable culinary experiences. If shopping takes its toll on you, consider visiting Castello Sforzesco, a 15th century castle housing several museums. Those looking to relax can go to Parco Sempione, where nature provides respite from the energy of this dynamic and international city.
Explore this neighbourhood