We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mr. Pickwick Pub

) #43 of 354 Restaurants in Lucerne $$ - $$$ , , British
Rathausquai 6 | 6004, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
+41 41 410 59 27
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good48%
  • Average17%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (43 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Pub, Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rathausquai 6 | 6004, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location was superb. The staff are good too. The rooms are a bit small for the price you pay but then this is Switzerland. I'd definitely recommend the place. Absolutely fabulous location even if I repeat myself!More

Thank MumbaiK-9
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear MumbaiK-9 Thank you very much for your positive review – your recommendation is strongly appreciated! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us since we really do our utmost to provide a great hotel and pub event to our guests. We hope...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here for lunch and I ordered a veg burger. The taste of the veggie patty was awesome and for once the veg burger seemed as 'huge' as a non veg burger and not a 'compromise'!!More

Thank Shubhra Jyotsna S
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Shubhra Jyotsna S Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted that our veggie burger exceeded your expectations since we really endeavour to provide an authentic pub experience to our guests. Upon your next visit we highly recommend trying...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We walked up and down the waterfront, looked at every menu of every restaurant. We chose Mr. Pickwick's for its Fish and Chips. We were clearly disappointed. First off, the place was full of cigarette smoke drifting in from outside. And, they were "sold out"...More

Thank LizardHntr
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear LizardHntr Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really sorry that you didn’t have a good experience at our Mr. Pickwick Pub. It was, indeed, unfortunate that the fish ‘n`chips were sold out but this can very occasionally occur...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stopped at this hotel because our travelling companions chose it; not a good choice in our view. Giving our order at the counter to an unhelpful woman was not a good start; the English menu was varied but confusing. The food was OK but...More

Thank Juliet D
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Juliet D Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry if you felt you were treated in a manner not consistent with our high standards. We have taken your comments seriously since our team strives hard to provide a...More

A TripAdvisor Member
71
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Visiting Lucerne again and of course we came to this pub again. We liked atmosphere and snack food for football fans is great place tooMore

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear pub visitor Thank you very much for your 5***** review on TripAdvisor! We do indeed strive hard to provide „a home away from home“ to our guests – friendly service, live sport events on large TV screens, a wide range of beers and quality...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

🍻🍻💕 Recomended for all! If you are a beerlover or not, this is the place for great atmosphere, drinks and food 👍🏻More

Thank Jeanette J
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Jeanette J A big thank you for your excellent review on TripAdvisor – your recommendation is very much appreciated! We do indeed offer a wide range of beers and high quality pub food. If you haven’t done so yet, why not try our homemade...More

Reviewed 3 July 2017

I stop by here on a semi-regular basis as I like the location right on the river, the staff are always friendly, and there is always a rather eclectic mix of people. They have a good selection of beer and the food is "pub style"....More

Thank DoogsOz
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear DoogsOz Thank you very much for your elaborate review on Tripadvisor – your words are strongly appreciated! We do indeed work hard to provide a great pub experience and we are happy to count you among our regular guests. Upon your next visit we...More

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Hands down some of the best chicken wings ever! The samosa was pretty good too. Basically you can't go wrong here!More

Thank dgirl918
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear dgirl918 Thank you very much for your 5***** review on TripAdvisor! We feel honoured by your comment and recommendation of our food. Why not try our homemade gourmet burger when you next visit us? In any case, we look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017

Sat on green plastic chairs, drank from pint glasses and enjoyed very tasty burger and chips (good portion sizes) by the waterside. Slightly better value than most of the restaurants in this part of town. Enjoyed the experience!More

Thank jetsetwelshie
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear jetsetwelshie A big thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor – your words are very much appreciated! We are pleased to hear that you spent a really good time at our Mr. Pickwick Pub. We do indeed strive hard to provide our guests...More

Reviewed 27 May 2017

Food is pretty good. You order at the bar and they bring the food to the table. I had the snack platter and friends had fish and chips. A tasting board of 5 different beers was nice. Reasonable for the area.More

Thank Texasdon35
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Texasdon35 Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed our homemade fish and chips, one of the flagships of our food menu. Why not try „Mr. Winkle’s steak & ale pie“ when you next visit us? We hope...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Stadtkeller Swiss Folklore Restaurant
324 reviews
.11 km away
Zunfthausrestaurant Pfistern
682 reviews
.13 km away
Restaurant Rathaus Brauerei Luzern
724 reviews
.08 km away
Ristorante Pizzeria weisses Kreuz
349 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Luzern
4,022 reviews
.26 km away
Chapel Bridge (Kapellbrucke)
4,298 reviews
.11 km away
Old Town Lucerne
1,976 reviews
.13 km away
The Rosengart Collection
539 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
magnetrn
16 May 2016|
Answer
Response from CGGastrag | Property representative |
Hi there! We are open seven days a week, if you are still in town, we‘re looking forward to seeing you around at "the place where people meet“. Best regards
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$26
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
View, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 00:00
Monday
11:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 00:00
Thursday
11:30 - 00:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
11:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rathausquai 6 | 6004, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland (Formerly Mr. Pickwick's)
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of Lucerne  >  Lucerne
  • Phone Number: +41 41 410 59 27
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the, "place where people meet" and the, "oldest pub in town". Two great reasons to visit us! We offer great quality pub food, English & Irish beers on tap and much more! Our staff strive to offer an authentic pub atmosphere to ensure our guests feels at home.The pub (above the pub is the Hotel Pickwick) is located on the banks of the river Reuss overlooking the famous wooden chapel bridge and Mt. Pilatus. The pub really is a room with a view!Hope to see you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing