We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aquarel

) #50 of 574 Restaurants in Bruges $$ - $$$ , , European
Simon Stevinplein 2 A, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 34 07 44
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good33%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (29 reviews)
“pasta” (12 reviews)
“croquettes” (8 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Belgian, Dutch, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Simon Stevinplein 2 A, Bruges 8000, Belgium
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stopped by this restaurant at 4:00 pm. They were out of food, since they only use fresh ingredients, and they said they would have more food at 5:00 pm. I returned at 5:00 pm. They were very accommodating and the food was delicious. I...More

Thank Myla G
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dezr customer, many thanks for your review and your visit. Also thanks for your considaration that we needed some time to get everything ready after a very hectic servce at noon. We saw that you enjoyed our fresh food and our company and we look...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fast food was not the word, within seconds of ordering a pasta carbonara I was presented with a bowl of inedible murk and my husbands was equally inedible. Do yourself a favour and don't bother!!!!More

Thank Sue K
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Madam, many thanks for your review. However when asking if you have liked the pasta, you did not react negatively or said it was inedible. It is clear that my menu states the the pasta carbonara is made with pasta of course, cheese sauce...More

Reviewed 1 July 2017

After trying to find a restaurant in Bruges that would please all of our family, we stopped at Aquarel. We had sat down in a very nice, highly recommended restaurant just prior to going to Aquarel, however after 15 minutes no one stopped at our...More

Thank John B
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear customer, many thanks for your review and thanks for your visit to our restaurant. We enjoyed having you at Aquarel and enjoyed even more that you liked our service and fresh dishes. We wish you good travel and hope to see you again soon...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

It lies in a beautiful square, with heavy tourist traffic and horse wagons passing by each minute. The coffee was sadly very poor quality (I only had a double espresso) but the neighbor table enjoyed their food very much. overall nice experience, but way too...More

Thank oleandersman
Erwin D, Manager at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Good morning, many thanks for your review. We keep in mind the remark regarding the coffee, however coffee is very subjective. We buy locally at a small bean burner, and we try to get coffee as close to the taste of our local residents ........More

Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Five of us ate here after a long day walking in Bruges. Host (think it was owner) was very friendly and chatty. No delays in service and all plates were cleaned (every morsel eaten) when we were finished. While the food is not Michelin standard,...More

Thank tokav
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Hi Many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again. and Yes, we do not hold a michelin star, but we cook for our customers fresh dishes what they like ! greetz. Erwin and his Aquarel team.

Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The warm and friendly service was typical of what can be expected in the Flemish part of Belgium. The restaurant is situated on a very pleasant, charming little leafy square which gets the sun around noon. Good selection of beers and typical Belgian specialities.

Thank Jo F
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Good morning, it iwas a pleasure having you amongst us all at our restaurant Aquarel. We are very happy that you enjoyed our dishes and our services and the Aquarel team hopes to see you again soon. Best regards, Erwin & his Aquarel team.

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

You should not count to have something extra ordinary as the place is very touristic. But it was good and fast. We paid 81 Eur for three adults. Important, the kitchen is closed at 17.00 till the dinner time.

Thank StasF
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Good morning, man thanks for your review and your visit. Yes our restaurant is open from 11 am til 5 pm. Hower in July and August we will be open until 9 pm. Looking forward seeing you again ! Erwin and his Aquarel team.

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

I had pasta and my husband had a half of chicken. Just beautifully cooked and the manager was super nice! Such a beautiful restaurant!!

Thank Hanna G
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Good evening, many thanks for your review and thanks to my staff for serving you a delicious meal ! Cheers, and hopefully till soon ! Erwin & his Aquarel team.

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Calm atmosphere, many options, tasty food, fast service, reasonable prices. Good location, good place for lunch near the city attractions. Loved it!!More

Thank DCSP2014
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Good morning, many thanks for your visit and your review. We are as a team happy to read that you enjoyed our restaurant and our food and service. We wish you safe travel and hope to see or read from you soon ! Best regards,...More

Reviewed 4 March 2017

My comment has been deleted once. tow cup of hot water (normal water, no other accompagnement) costs 4 euros , excuse me ? The dish is far from satisfactory. I will definilty make it in the to-avoid list.More

Thank franklinqwf
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Sir, many thanks for your review but let me comment on it, and give it the right response and honesty as what is written is far from being correct : - i nor my team are racists. We enjoy all people whatever color, religion...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
't Brugs Beertje
1,255 reviews
.08 km away
Hashtag Food
572 reviews
.08 km away
de Verbeelding
378 reviews
.08 km away
De Koetse
512 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Holy Savior Cathedral (Sint-Salvatorskathedraal)
551 reviews
.16 km away
Square and Statue of Simon Stevin
120 reviews
.01 km away
The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse
38 reviews
.21 km away
Church of our Lady
25 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GPAofMaldon
13 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Erwin D | Property representative |
Good morning, many thanks for your email. Peter and Cindy left the Aquarel in May 2010. If we can be of further assistance, do not hesitate to contact me. Erwin.
0
Votes
Carl H
4 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Erwin D | Property representative |
Good morning, many thanks for your request. You can email us on info@aquarelbrugge.be to book a table. We are open from 11am till 5 pm. We are not open in the evening. And we are closed for holidays from Monday March 2nd... More
-1
Votes
ted365
26 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Erwin D | Property representative |
Good morning, many thanks for your question. We are open from 11 am till 5 pm each day. Closed on Wednesday and Thursday until March 15th. As of that date, closed only on Thursday. If you have more questions, do not... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$29
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Digital Payments
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 20:00
Monday
11:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 20:00
Friday
11:00 - 20:00
Saturday
11:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Simon Stevinplein 2 A, Bruges 8000, Belgium
  • Location: Europe  >  Belgium  >  Flanders  >  West Flanders Province  >  Bruges
  • Phone Number: +32 50 34 07 44
  • E-mail
Description
A cosy restaurant, in the city center of Brugge - Bruges. On a square with no traffic serving fresh qualitative food. Every customer is welcome ! Not open in the evening ! Each day from 11 till 17 h, except for Thursday, and during the period of 1 january till 15 march we are also closed on wednesday. Free WIFI ! All credit cards accepted : Mastercard, Visa, Amex, Maestro, Bancontact.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing