We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Largo Almirante Dunn 23A | 23A - 9500-292, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-292, Portugal
+351 296 281 600
Website
Today
18:00 - 00:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 18:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

728 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 335: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Both luncheon mains, chicken and cod, were very good, with delicious pineapple dessert to top it off.

Helpful?
Thank Rocashoc
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our most lively meal of the trip. The owner was our server and chose a fish and a beef entree for us. A huge menu and selection of wine. Reservations would definitely be recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Shep404
SaoPedro, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this review

Many thanks Shep404. Hope to see you very soon. Best Regards João Chaves More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some of the best dining Ponta Delgada has to offer. Best tuna steak your mouth could water for! The decor and ambiance are perfect and the service exceptional. Even ordering all the "extras" will leave your final bill well below North American standards. Ask for water at your table and it's delivered in a glass bottle you can purchase for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug B
SaoPedro, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this review

Many thanks Doug B. Hope to see you very soon. Best Regards João Chaves More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner here 2 evenings ago. Their vegetable soup was horrible. My husband had their fish fillet, which was an oily mess. My pepper steak was acceptable. I was really not impressed. I should have known that when you see a big laminated menu, you're in trouble. I'm being generous with 3 stars. Also, it's not cheap. So many... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnaDM
SaoPedro, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this review
Google Translation

Ficamos tristes por não terem gostado. Vamos continuar a fazer o nosso melhor para continuar a melhorar a nossa qualidade... More 

Fergus, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am surprised at negative reviews here: you must have caught them on a rough night! What a lovely place, with amazing food. A truly awesome meal. For starters we had fresh bread with a plate of St George cheese and soft cheese with red pepper sauce (standard) but also a soft pate of curried pork, and a fruit butter... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
SaoPedro, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this review

Many thanks Mrs. Nancy, I remember very well because I was your waiter. Hope to see you again. Best Regards João Chaves More 

Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It came recommended by the local guide, but the kitchen turned out quite mediocre. A wide variety of dishes didn't help. We tried anything from fresh fish to bacalhau, chicken and steaks. General agreement that price and quality did not match.

Helpful?
Thank Sigmund L
SaoPedro, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your opinion Mr. Sigmund. We are trying everyday to improve our restaurant. Best Regards João Chaves More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Do yourself a favor and eat at Burger King in the port instead. This is the worst restaurant experience I've had in a long time. They managed to screw everything up from appetizer to entree ... we didn't manage to get dessert because we were tired of begging for attention from the waiter. Just awful!!!

Helpful?
Thank Tonya L
SaoPedro, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this review

We understand that sometimes we have customers who do not like our food or service, what we do not understand is because they do not talk to us on the day and tell us why they did not like it and so maybe we can help or maybe even offer dinner. We are not perfect and we know that sometimes... More 

Calgary
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The soup, creme marisco, was the high point. The melon and presunto was as expected. The menu is extensive with pictures but when my wife tried to order a fish dish, was told it was unavailable with no explanation or suggestion for a similar styled replacement and then when she tried to order another was told it would take 45... More 

Helpful?
Thank BabyboomerCalgary
SaoPedro, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your opinion Mr. BabyboomerCalgary. Our fish of the day it's fresh and when is grilled (simple only with salt) we served only with fresh salad and boiled potatoes, this is how the Portuguese likes the fish, very natural. But we have also another ways to cook de fish of the day. Best Regards João Chaves More 

Creedmoor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ok - so it was Halloween There were only 3 tables in the restaurant when we got there. The menu is a book - LITERALLY!! there are so many choices on the menu you would probably need three hours to sort through them and they also have pictures in the back that you can choose from They also had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank KNUTWILLIE2U
SaoPedro, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this review

You was the only customer who didn't liked, we regret what happened. Best Regards João Chaves More 

Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When walking the cobblestone streets of Ponta Delgada after finding parking up the road, this enchanting little restaurant had all of the European feels; Attractive, dim lighting, pictures taken by local photographers and a LARGE food and wine menu. I wanted to try a little but of everything but the portions are big, which we loved! We started off with... More 

Helpful?
Thank raltamar
SaoPedro, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this review

Many thanks Mr. Raltamar. Hope to see you soon. Best Regards João Chaves More 

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Sao Pedro also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Restaurant Sao Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$32
Cuisine
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Portuguese
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
18:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
18:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 00:00
Thursday
18:00 - 00:00
Friday
18:00 - 00:00
Saturday
18:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Largo Almirante Dunn 23A | 23A - 9500-292, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-292, Portugal
  • Location: Europe  >  Portugal  >  Azores  >  Sao Miguel  >  Ponta Delgada
  • Phone Number: +351 296 281 600

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Restaurant Sao Pedro and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Westport, Massachusetts
3 months ago
dallas, tx
over a year ago
Charleston, South Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant Sao Pedro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?