We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitised menus
Read more
Updated 10/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Asian Foods, Cocktails and Sphere. Pan-asian cuisine that will take you on a lifetime journey. Our vast variety of food selection is prepared with respect for the authentic recipes and original products and is cooked with the finest fresh ingredients. We invite you to discover the best street food from Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Indonesia, Cambodia, Malaysia, Korea, India, Nepal, Japan and China in our dishes. We also have signature cocktails and mocktails, spirits and an array of Asian Beers for our guests to enjoy! All of this in the heart of Lisbon, in a beautiful setting that recreates the relaxed ambiance of a 1920’s Asian market in all its different divisions.
US$12 - US$47
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dim sum bao pad thai yellow curry peking duck glass noodles fried rice spring rolls curries beef chocolate mousse fries asian food long wait the food is great visited this restaurant lemongrass
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Centrally located with a small terrace, this restaurant was so hyped when we first wanted to go and because they did not take reservations, waiting time was about 3 hours. We gave it a try again but this time over lunch. Food from different Asian...cuisines was good, somewhat pricey (50€ for lunch for 2) but not worth waiting for hours.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Boa-Bao, Marketing at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Audrey, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. We work very hard to provide the best experience possible, from the ambiance to the service and obviously the food. We hope to receive you again soon and...More

Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Such a great experience, tried the Peking duck and the sea bass bao based on the waiter’s advice, both v good! Food was delicious and the staff were really friendly and helpful too.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Boa-Bao, Marketing at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Dear aed_nc, your review fills our hearts with happiness! It is such a pleasure to receive "passengers" like you that truly appreciate our Asian Food Journey and enjoy our team's advice. We can't wait to welcome you again and take you on another unforgettable adventure...More

Reviewed 29 April 2021 via mobile

Hip place with excellent food! Mix of asian and fun.... service is amazing and quick great ambience but a very long cute... always make reservations

Date of visit: April 2021
Boa-Bao, Marketing at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Thank you for joining us, Denise! We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to share our Asian Food Journey with you again soon... Kind regards, the Boa-Bao team

Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

Very disappointing Asian food badly prepared : Thai shrimp curry supposed to be spicy but without taste or spice Sichwan soup with duck and duck improperly cooked not spicy which of course is against the recipe Restaurant which advertise no gluten plates (only 2 choices...for the whole menu) We were asked to leave at 2100, the restaurant throw people out after 1 hour and 30 minutes When you go with friends to a restaurant it is not to look at the watch!!! Only go there if you are ready to eat fast and go home and eat so called Asian food prepared for people who have never traveled to Asia and ate genuine Asian foodMore

Date of visit: January 2021
Boa-Bao, Guest Relations Manager at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Dominique, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read your review and to know you didn't enjoy your experience. At Boa-Bao we work daily to create a special experience to all our passengers. At the moment we are accepting reservations and we always...More

Reviewed 27 November 2020

Honestly I do not understand why the restaurant has that good reviews. I agree the place looks good but the food is just... not good. I tried 4 different kind of bao, they were all super cold. The bread isn’t good. The dim sum aren’t...good either. Good looking restaurant, very bad food.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Boa-Bao, Guest Relations Manager at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2020

Dear Anthony, we appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our food. We are open since 2017 and have been praised many times by the quality and authenticity of our pan-asian cuisine. We work with experienced chefs, many of them native...More

Reviewed 6 October 2020

The decor is very cool and we really wanted to like this place, but the service was terrible. We ordered a couple of starters, a tofu fried rice main course and dessert.... Waited 40 minutes to get our main course and when it arrived it...was tofu pad thai (not fried rice). Had to exchange it and wait another 15 minutes. Meanwhile, UberEats orders were flying out of the kitchen at lightening speed, which makes me think they prioritize UberEats > dine-in customers. Which is ridiculous. Finally got the dish and it was pretty oily/greasy. The dim sum starters were just OK - the dough is way too thick. Would not pass in an authentic restaurant. We waited another 20 mintues for dessert and eventually asked the waiter how much longer it would be. He checked and came back to tell us that he actually forgot to punch in the order so it wasn't coming at all... but he could try to get it to us "fast-ish." We declined, paid our bill and left. Really disappointed.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Boa-Bao, Owner at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Dear WorldTraveler639, first of all, thank you so much for visiting Boa-Bao. We believe the only way to keep making our guests happy is to hear their feedback and therefore we appreciate your comments and suggestions. Our concept at Boa-Bao is to present a pan-asian...More

Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

Went for dinner on a trip to Lisbon with friends. We arrived at 20:00 and first got a table at around 21:00. The hostess warned us upon arrival that it could take up to 45-50 minutes to get the table so we went for a...drink at a bar next door. Food was really good, prices ok and the service friendly. The restaurant is a little bit noisy but that was completely ok for a dinner with friends.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Boa-Bao, Owner at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Dear Jacinthe, thank you so much for sharing your experience at Boa-Bao. Indeed, we usually receive a lot of guests for dinner so we recommend all our passengers to arrive as early as possible to avoid a longer boarding time. We are happy to know...More

Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

This place is seriously overrated. The service is slow. It took 30 minutes to serve a Bao and a soup during the lunch time. The 0,33 draft beer is served in 0,25 glass. When I pointed that with a standard 0,33 Tsingtao beer bottle I...managed to fill the glass 1,5 times, the waiter informed that the bottle contains more than 0,33. And while I travel a lot and can compare the price/value ratio in Asia, Europe, States, Emirates, Boa-Bao is a little expensive compared to other Asian restaurants in major cities. On a positive side, the dishes are indeed of good quality and tasty.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Boa-Bao, Owner at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Dear Viktor, thanks a lot for your feedback. We are often praised by our fast service so we apologize if, unfortunately, we took a little longer with your order. Regarding the beer serving, we usually serve it in the bootle with our personalized Boa-Bao sleeves,...More

Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

The Food at boa boa is unbelievably good and the staff is super nice !! I come back as soon as I can!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Boa-Bao, Guest Relations Manager at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2020

WOW, Leonie! Thank you so much... We give our heart and soul to everyone that boards with us and reading your compliments is definitely the best reward we could ask for. Please, feel free to come back anytime. We still have plenty of Asian Food...More

Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

hey! its a little bit turistic, but its worth it, better to go when is not rush hour. My vegetarians options were really good. the aubergine bao and also the curry amarelo with sticy rice & tofu! great waitress with a big smile in the...terrace area. we will come back!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Boa-Bao, Guest Relations Manager at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2020

Wow, Adria! You can’t imagine how wonderful it is to read compliments like yours. At Boa-Bao we work very hard everyday to create unforgettable journeys and it’s great to read we managed with you :) Every detail is carefully thought of, every dish lovingly made...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Chiado & Carmo
The traditionally trendy "Chiado" (literally,
"squeak", the nickname of a 16th century poet) offers
plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars where you can
stop for a cafe or cocktail, after exploring its
streets, shops, art galleries, theaters, museums and
viewpoints. It's also the home to the statue of the
famous statue of portuguese poet Fernando Pessoa,
having is usual espresso at "A Brasileira" as he used
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
1,247 reviews
.07 km away
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
482 reviews
.10 km away
Hotel Borges Chiado
1,491 reviews
.10 km away
9 Hotel Mercy
1,334 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mar Ao Carmo
1,247 reviews
.06 km away
Restaurante Carmo
2,282 reviews
.06 km away
Mar ao Largo
342 reviews
.02 km away
Tapas n' Friends Trindade
637 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
7,957 reviews
.07 km away
Escultura de Fernando Pessoa
354 reviews
.11 km away
Museum of National Republican Guard
99 reviews
.09 km away
Chafariz do Carmo
20 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
24 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from RicardoM155 | Reviewed this property |
Ideally yes but you can walk inn too
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Boa-Bao

Yes, Boa-Bao is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Boa-Bao is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4