We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tjoruhusid

Nedsti kaupstadur, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
+354 456 4419
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good9%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish” (207 reviews)
“cod cheeks” (28 reviews)
“soup” (58 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Nedsti kaupstadur, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of the best seafood restaurants in Iceland. Simply a must see! Love this place and visit every time I am in the Westfjords.

Thank Florists
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Probable my third time there and it is just as good as in the first 2 times. The fish seems to be really fresh and the variety of dishes to choose from is so nice. This is my favorite restaurant.

Thank Ingvi S
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Our meal at Tjoruhusid restaurant was the best meal we experienced during our 10 day visit to Iceland. I have never eaten better prepared fish anywhere in the world. The variety of fish, different preparation methods, and different flavors exceeded our expectation in every respect....More

Thank Thomas L
Reviewed 15 October 2017

This is the place! The best, freshest fish you can get, cooked in a variety of ways. And, surprising for Iceland, incredible value as well. Super variety, great service - if only all fish restaurants were this good!

Thank JVR22
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Superb seafood. They lay it out buffet style with most of the dishes in thick cast iron skillets. I don't know how they keep it so tasty The fixings were really tasty too. The setting just adds to the ambiance. Highly recommended.

Thank Amlan G
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Lucky enough to arrive on a quiet eve, as most everyone in town was watching the soccer match. We arrived just slightly after 7pm, with no reservation and there were still seats available. The interior is rough hewn beams with a low ceiling. There are...More

Thank Paula S
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We went for lunch when our ship was in port. I did contact them beforehand about a reservation which I recommend. They were super busy but extremely nice and the food was fantastic. I don't especially like soup but the one they served--a delicious tomato...More

Thank blueviolet47
Reviewed 3 October 2017

A must do! We were lucky and managed to book a table for 2 last minute so I would recommend booking in advance. Food was very tasty. Try not to fill up on the soup before the main courses come out, like I did! Friendly...More

Thank Mhairi B
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Make reservations to ensure a seat,very important. .At Tjoruhusid you will find true Icelandic hospitality and delicious locally sourced seafood.

Thank Gudmundur V
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Before visiting, email or Facebook this location to make reservations to ensure a seat. Once you arrive, you'll be give instructions on how this restaurant works - it's an all you can eat buffet with a wide and delicious variety of fish and side dishes....More

Thank roadtriptraveler7
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Husid
289 reviews
.75 km away
Gamla Bakariio
140 reviews
.58 km away
Braedraborg Cafe
53 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hornstrandir Nature Reserve
21 reviews
.55 km away
Wild Westfjords
133 reviews
.67 km away
Isafjordur Guide
119 reviews
.91 km away
Borea Adventures
166 reviews
.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lelie72017
4 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Blaton R | Reviewed this property |
Yes, I sensed coconut milk as well, but I do not know how to cook that amazing soup. Contact them on FB, they very kind in answering.
0
Votes
Google Translation
YoBill
30 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Mitchell L | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure but they do have a website -- don't worry about the menu -- you can't go wrong!
0
Votes
Tjoruhusid
FAQ Q When is Tjöruhúsið open for business? A First off: we are mostly closed during wintertime (with a few exceptions). We usually close up shop around late October and then start cooking again around Easter (feel free to follow our Facebook page or drop us a line here if you want to make sure). This is for a variety of reasons, mostly because weather conditions in wintertime can make it hard for us to guarantee fresh fish (also, our house is really old and not insulated, so it gets way cold during wintertime). This means that you can’t expect to dine with us from circa early November - late March. Don’t worry though, there’s plenty of nice food to be had in Ísafjörður. And you can always try dropping us a line to see if we happen to be open for some odd reason. But, when you are open for business, what are your hours of operation? We are generally open every single day for lunch from 12oo -14oo, and then dinner from 19oo - 21oo. Do note that since we need fresh fish, etc., our opening hours can be a little sporadic at the beginning and tail-end of the season (spring - late fall), so make sure to call ahead). Q Do I need to make a reservation? A Probably a good idea. Q How can I make a reservation? A You can email us, drop us a line via our Facebook page or call us. We do recommend calling in if you wish to make a reservation with less than three days advance (especially in high-season - it gets crazy!). NOTE: Tjöruhúsið is a family restaurant, and we don’t have a lot of employees or corporate structure or concierge or anything. Sometimes, we’ll get too busy to answer your messages or even pick up the phone (calling during dinnertime isn’t the best idea, for instance). If we don’t respond, please just try again. We’re bound to come around eventually. Q Can I see your menu? A No. Q But I really want to see your menu! A Again, no. Sorry, it’s just, we don’t really have a menu. We just cook whatever’s fresh out of the ocean on any given day (except the salt cured cod - that needs time to cure). At any given time, you can expect us to serve stuff like halibut, wolffish (AKA North Atlantic catfish), cod, pollock, redfish, spotted catfish, salmon, rainbow trout and plaice, in whatever style our chefs are feeling at that very moment. Sometimes we get crazy unusual fish, like monkfish. That’s always fun. For sides (when we’re doing the buffet thing), you can expect: rice, boiled potatoes, mashed potatoes, potato salad, regular salad, barley salad (with peppers and mushrooms and all kinds of nice spices) and whatever else we come up with. We also serve fish soup every day (usually a langoustine base, infused with tomato, cream, and all sorts of fish) and fish stew. During busy season (say, June through August), we usually offer an a la carte lunch (you get to choose which fish you want to feast on), and a buffet dinner (the buffet is really nice, don’t worry, all fresh cooked, and you get to taste everything you want). Q Do you guys do dessert? A Not really, although one of our salt-cured cod recipes we sometimes make kind of verges on dessert territory (it comes with sherry-soaked raisins and almonds). However, feel free to drink all the coffee and/or tea you like, and also there’s a bowl of chocolates. Q I am allergic or averse to whatever ingredient (dairy? gluten? fish?), but I’d still really like to dine with you guys. Can you accommodate my needs and desires? Probably. We’ll sure try. However, you should definitely get in touch with us beforehand to discuss. We hate to disappoint. Q Hi, I’d like a beer with my custom made gluten-free meal. A Oh, you! Q I came by your restaurant and it was closed but there were people hanging out inside and they were laughing and some of them were eating but no one would let me in and I deserve to eat wherever I want, whenever I want. I am enraged and might write furious things about you on the internet! A Listen: sorry about that. We were closed. We sometimes are. But, you know, when we’re closed, we have this nice place to have our friends over at. It would be a shame not to use it, right? Anyway, that time you were over, we were probably celebrating a birthday or something. It’s not you, it’s us. Honest. We sincerely apologise. From now on, we will never close again, in case you might get hungry. No more birthdays. No more joy. Q Don’t be an a**, that’s a legitimate complaint. A You’re right. Sorry. We were just being flippant. Your royal highness. Q Can I get a job at Tjöruhúsið? A Maybe. If you’re nice and fun to be around and can do things that are useful to us (wash dishes, serve food, etc). Try dropping our Department of Human Resources a line at our email. Q Do you have a Reykjavík location? A Nope. We are not affiliated with any restaurants in Reykjavík or elsewhere. Tjöruhúsið is an Ísafjörður thing. Q Anything to add? A Keep it real, y’all!
29 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Tjoruhusid | Property representative |
Good one, sir!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$58
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Nedsti kaupstadur, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
  • Location: Europe  >  Iceland  >  Westfjords Region  >  Isafjordur
  • Phone Number: +354 456 4419
  • E-mail
Description
Tjoruhusið is a fish restaurant in Isafjorður, Iceland. We only serve whatever's fresh out of the ocean on a given day, so there's no menu to speak of, but during high season we usually offer a buffet of everything good for dinner, while lunch tends to be a la carte.

For dinner, we generally do two separate seatings, at 7pm and 9pm, although we try to be flexible if possible. Do note that we are for the most part closed during wintertime (from early November 'til Easter, usually), and then that our openings in the early spring months tend to be sporadic.

We advise anyone intending to dine with us to call ahead to ensure we are open. Any special needs (lactose/gluten/etc) should be noted in advance.

Tjoruhusið does not operate a Reykjavik location and is not at all affiliated with any Reykjavik restaurant, regardless of what some of them might be claiming.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing