We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Schloss Duernstein

$$$$
Austrian, European, Central European, International, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Duernstein 2, Durnstein 3601, Austria
+43 2711 212
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 33: English reviews
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is well located and have big amount of dishes Everything was good and fresh as well. Prices are fair and the only problem is the service that was a bit slow but maybe due to the fact that we came in a big group all together.

Helpful?
Thank 705eyalh
Fam-Thiery, Leiter Front Office at Schloss Duernstein, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for rating us so well on tripadvisor. We will pass your good feedback on to our kitchen staff. Regarding the slow service we apologize and would like to ask you to reply via e-mail (hotel@schloss.at) to find out what day it was exactly and what the siuation was. This way we can start reacting. Thank you very... More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

We had booked a birthday dinner for 2 at this restaurant and it was a total disaster. First after being told the aperitifs would be complimentary- a nice gesture- we were ignored for over 30 minutes. Then came a 2 hour dinner where we had to remind the waiters- all of them looking lost and incompetent- about the need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gobi_13
Burlingame, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We waited nearly an hour for a cheese plate and an ice cream sundae. We couldn't even find our waiter so we had to walk to the front desk of the hotel to complain. Please avoid this restaurant - despite the great view from the terrace.

Helpful?
Thank PinnaclesRanch
Fam-Thiery, Leiter Front Office at Schloss Duernstein, responded to this review

Dear Mr./Mrs. PinnaclesRanch, thank you for your evaluation and review. Your complaint was also handled in house already. According to our system the dishes were booked 20 minutes before you ordered, however, you said, that our waiter did not put in the order right after. Whatsoever, we apologize for the long waiting time! It would be a pleasure to welcome... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped for lunch and enjoyed the scenery and very pleasant ambience. Food and service were of good quality. Recommended if passing by.

Helpful?
Thank RobM1
Fam-Thiery, Leiter Front Office at Schloss Duernstein, responded to this review

Dear Mr. RobM1, thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased that you recommend to stop for lunch at our Danube terrace. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again one day, maybe also as our hotel guest, and wish you all the best! Yours Family Thiery & Team More 

Umbertide, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2016

We were a party of four who were staying in another hotel in town but saw that this hotel and restaurant were members of the Relais & Chateaux association and decided, based on past experience with the brand, to have our last dinner in Durnstein in the hotel's restaurant. To quote from he hotel's web site: Relais & Châteaux is... More 

Helpful?
Thank OaklandTraveler7
Fam-Thiery, Leiter Front Office at Schloss Duernstein, responded to this review

Dear OaklandTraveler7, thank you for your review. We regret that you had a bad experience at our hotel. You were also in e-mail contact regarding your complaint already. For explanation of your comments see also our answer to the review of Mr./Mrs. Shtinky on July 20th. It would be a pleasure if you give us a second chance one day... More 

Umbertide, Italy
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2016

Our server was the Maitre di Service according to his badge. I would think he would care a bit more about how our service was. He himself served us our wines and placed them on an adjacent table out of our reach. He never returned to pour more wine even when we were empty. We had to get up and... More 

Helpful?
Thank shtinky
Fam-Thiery, Leiter Front Office at Schloss Duernstein, responded to this review

Dear Mr./Mrs. Shtinky, thank you for your review. We deeply regret that you experienced a bad service in our restaurant. In fact the hotel and the restaurant are not separate entities, they belong together. However our tripadvisor account was registered only for the hotel and we catch up on the reviews now. We apologize for the bad service. Indeed our... More 

Houston, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2016

A bit too formal. But we managed in the attire we brought. The food and service were excellent. There's not much more you can ask for. :)

Helpful?
Thank williamtC5381JP
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
163 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2016

Lovely setting on the Danube terrace with great views of the valley. The food was fantastic (asparagus soup, home made pasta with spring mushrooms and chocolate cake in my case) was perfect and well delivered. The staff was led by very knowledgeable heads who knew their job. The younger members can do better but the season is just started :)

Helpful?
Thank Vitproch
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2016

Beautiful setting but staff was hurried and the food was only average, not worth the cost. The tastes did not blend well, seemed to be a combination of Austrian with a modern feel but at least with the dishes we tried, it didn't quite work

Helpful?
Thank rosannoni
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2016

On the occasion of our daughter's 20th birthday we had dinner at the Schlossterrasse overlooking the Danube. The weather was superb and the view is breathtaking. We were greeted warmly by the maître. Food selection was good as expected - advanced Austrian cuisine. Since the menu also listed one vegan horsd’œuvre we expected that the kitchen would be able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Klaus H

Travellers who viewed Schloss Duernstein also viewed

Durnstein, Lower Austria
 
Durnstein, Lower Austria
 

Been to Schloss Duernstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Austrian, European, Central European, International, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Duernstein 2, Durnstein 3601, Austria
  • Location: Europe  >  Austria  >  Lower Austria  >  Durnstein
  • Phone Number: +43 2711 212

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Schloss Duernstein and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Schloss Duernstein staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?