We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant Ofenloch

$$ - $$$German, , European
Kurrentgasse 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
+43 1 5338844
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good34%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“venison” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
German, Austrian, European, Central European, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Kurrentgasse 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Nice Wiener schnitzel and boiled beef. Good value as the portions are large. Managed to book in the morning for evening table on a Friday, which was lucky. Good selection of wines and beers. Waiter was polite and attentive.

Thank Vincent C
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you very much for your high rating and your positive feedback. We are pleased that you praise our food quality as well as the quantity, and also our service staff.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was really the most cruel experience in a restaurant ever, that waiter was friendly, the welcome as well, and after the order starts the scary movie, the covert consisting of old bread and lard, starter sailing tartar the taste Danube water, and the final...More

Thank BLeisure365
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We are very sorry that you we didn´t meet your expectations. But I have to say, that our bread is always fresh and our food is hot when served. If it wasn´t so in your case it could only be a terrible mistake and you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Never disappointed Best service Manuel and Daniel are great hosts True Viennese hospitality Great food something for everyone Their own label wine as well as an international selection Location best in the heart of the city Enjoy every visit

Thank Dale S
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your high rating and your numerous positive words. We are very pleased that you are our guests again and again. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We did last minute reservation. I had schnitzel and my son ate gulash :) both were fantastic. Not only the food was good but also service (Martin helped us) and the atmosphere of the restaurant were good. We had wine and desert and paid acceptable...More

Thank DILEK S
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your high rating and the recommendation! We are happy that you enjoyed your dinner and the atmosphere of our restauarnt. Thanks a lot for your positive response about our service team. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I contacted the restaurant when they were closed for annual holidays and I had a reply from Karin confirming everything within an hour even though it was during her vacation. Vienna has some fine restaurants but if you want upscale quality traditional Viennese food with...More

Thank Werlynne
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very very much for your detailed description and your high rating! This shows us that we reached our goal - satiesfied guests who enjoy good traditional food in a relaxing ambience. We are looking forward to your next trip to Vienna!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As usual, before I go anywhere I always study reviews, starting with the worst ones first. I was appalled by some of the reviews about the Ofenloch as they were completely untrue and self righteous To the Ofenloch staff, and as an American, I apologize...More

Thank cuttershelper
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are overwhelmed by your detailed report! Thank you very very much for your excellent rating - we are so happy that you enjoyed your evening at our restaurant with Austrian dishes and pleasant service. And that you shared your experience here with other travelers!

Reviewed 11 January 2018

a very nice place, great location. tasty traditional food (we had a schnitzel and a goulash both great!!!) staff very friendly

Thank yaaray
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you very much for your high rating! We are very happy that you love our atmosphere, enjoyed our Austrian food and that our service team has given you a pleasant stay.

Reviewed 8 January 2018

On our last day in Vienna in this years X-mas / NYE vacation we decided to finally visit the Ofenloch. Finally, as we tried a few times before and could not get a table. My daughter and i shared and started with a "Vitello Forello",...More

1  Thank axelfunkearchitekt
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you very very much for this detailed and all through positive feedback and high rating! We are glad that you loved all our dishes and drinks and that our service staff did a good job. We are looking forward to welcome you again during...More

Reviewed 7 January 2018

We have been to Vienna many times and are always looking for somewhere new to try. We came across Restaurant Ofenloch and it did not disappoint. We found that the selection on the menu would suit most palates and the quality and presentation did not...More

Thank Borret
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and that you consider to return on your next trip to Vienna!

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Our family of 6 visited Ofenloch 2 nights ago and we had the experience of a lifetime. We ordered a few of the chefs selection appetizers which came, along with a number of delicious other options, with smoked salmon and beef tartare. Usually I am...More

Thank EmC1987
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you very very much for your high rating and your outstanding description. That is exactly what we are working for every day: full satisfaction of our guests. Also thank you for your high recommendation!

PreviousNext
12345636
Nearby
Inner City
In Vienna's best-known district, pedestrian boulevards
Kärntner Strasse and Graben connect you with landmarks
such as the Wiener Staatsoper (Vienna State Opera),
Vienna’s iconic Stephansdom (St. Stephen’s Cathedral)
and the vast compound of Hofburg, the Habsburgs’
former Imperial Palace. Peek down side streets such as
Annagasse and Weihburggasse, and Graben’s Seilergasse
and Habsburggasse, to get a feel for the centre. The
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 359 hotels in Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
1,215 reviews
.12 km away
Hotel Wandl
416 reviews
.15 km away
Hotel Amadeus
208 reviews
.17 km away
Hotel Das Tigra
961 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bank Brasserie & Bar
445 reviews
.12 km away
Fabios
991 reviews
.11 km away
Kolar
173 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Peter's Church
3,228 reviews
.16 km away
Judenplatz Holocaust Memorial
200 reviews
.09 km away
Clock Museum (Uhrenmuseum)
132 reviews
.04 km away
Meinl am Graben
142 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mickb2512
13 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Restaurant-Ofenloch | Property representative |
We are very sorry, but we are closed on 24th and 25th of December 2016, because we allow our staff a peaceful and merry Christmas with their families. However, we are looking forward to welcome you from 26th of December... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$30
Cuisine
German, Austrian, European, Central European, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kurrentgasse 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
  • Location: Europe  >  Austria  >  Vienna Region  >  Vienna>  > Inner City
  • Neighbourhood: Inner City
  • Phone Number: +43 1 5338844
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing