We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rose Cottage Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
The Rose Cottage The Village | There Are Two Entries For This Pub, Eastbourne BN26 6UW, England
+44 1323 870377
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good30%
  • Average1%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“meringues” (2 reviews)
“lamb” (4 reviews)
“pudding” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Rose Cottage The Village | There Are Two Entries For This Pub, Eastbourne BN26 6UW, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Visited as a couple - just for refreshment but husband ended up having a ciabatta. He enjoyed his lunch. Quiet location in a lovely village. Take a walk up the road to the church as its like going back in time to see thatched roofs...More

1  Thank benjyk
Keith M, Owner at The Rose Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your kind review, space is always a problem in old buildings such as this, until rubber walls are invented, not much we can do about it. Regards Keith

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Friendly, accommodating, efficient and comfortable- just a few words for our experience last Thursday evening. Our family group of 13 were very impressed with the service, quality of food and fair price for the meal. A great place to celebrate my 50th birthday, in warm...More

Thank 1515karenh15
Keith M, Owner at The Rose Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear 1515karenh15, I apologise for not responding earlier to thank you for your wonderful review, it much appreciated that you have taken the time to do this, my staff and i are happy that we play a part in your celebrations, we look forward to...More

Reviewed 18 March 2017

The family went to Rose Cottage for my husbands 80th birthday. It was one of the best celebrations we have ever had. From the wonderful welcome to the most fabulous food and service, we really could not have bettered it anywhere.The owner who is a...More

Thank VOLLER
Keith M, Owner at The Rose Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Dear Voller, Thank you so much for taking the time To review our establishment,we are pleased that we were able to contribute to your special occasion. Regards Keith and Staff at Rose Cottage

Reviewed 13 February 2017

decided to revisit the Rose Cottage as we had previously had a good experience.We were greeted pleasantly by a member of staff and shown to a seat of our choice.We ordered drinks and meals which were delivered quickly.They were of the usual high standard and...More

Thank Greenynewhaven
Keithmed, Owner at The Rose Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Dear Greenynewhaven, Thank you for your kind review, my wife will be pleased that you especially enjoyed her meringues, perhaps she should have made the crumble as well! oop's sorry, we will do better next time !!! Look forward to seeing you soon Keith

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Three of us went there on a Monday evening at 6pm to celebrate my birthday. Yes a quiet day AND a quiet time. We were the only people in the restaurant and the host Keith could not have been more jovial and welcoming. He lit...More

Thank PhilipinFrance2016
Keithmed, Owner at The Rose Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Dear PhilipinFrance, Thank you very much for your kind review, it means so much to us that you enjoyed your evening with us, we look forward to seeing you again and enjoying the "Banter". Kind Regards Keith and Staff

Reviewed 2 December 2016

Lovely location for a lovely country inn in this tiny village overlooking Firle Beacon. The food was very good at a reasonable price. We were warmly welcomed by staff and made to feel wanted. Will certainly visit again.

Thank Allan B
Keithmed, Owner at The Rose Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear AllanB, Thank you for your kind review, and look forward to seeing you again upon your return!! Keith

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Four of us had lunch here, all had different main courses, three fine, one had to go back to the kitchen for adjustment, this was dealt with speedily and we all enjoyed our lunches followed by delicious desserts, would not hesitate to go back.More

Thank rosebee2015
Keithmed, Owner at The Rose Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear Rosebee2015, I am pleased to read your positive review, whilst I am sorry to hear that there was a problem with one of your meals, I am pleased the matter was dealt with speedily, and more importantly, to your satisfaction, just goes to prove...More

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely quite location, good food, atmosphere lacking however would definitely return to see if it was the large party of diners that spoilt the atmosphere xMore

Thank Helen P
Keithmed, Owner at The Rose Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear Helen P, Thank you for your review, I am sorry if the large party spoilt the atmosphere for you, however you will note that we do not play music nor do we have televisions blaring away, we like to think that the atmosphere is...More

Reviewed 25 October 2016

my friend was over from greece and i wanted to give him the english pub experience,our first choice was the plough and harrow at litlington but unfortunately the ovens had broken down and the choice was ploughmans.harry gave us complimentary drinks and apologised profusely.I had...More

Thank dennis2456
Keithmed, Owner at The Rose Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Hi Dennis2456, Thank you for your kind review, point taken about menu! where do we start with so many great dishes we always seem to upset somebody by taking their favorite dish off the menu, With regards to your choice of potatoes, my young lady...More

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Visited for weekday lunch. There were 4 of us and we were all Pleased with our choices. Service and food very good. Plenty of choice of sitting areas, inside or out. Would happily come again when in the area.

Thank LMK63
Keithmed, Owner at The Rose Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear LMK63, Thank you, Thankyou. Keith

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Green Almond
337 reviews
1.19 km away
Rosetto
391 reviews
1.49 km away
The Pilot Inn
369 reviews
.28 km away
Xing Fu
73 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Towner Art Gallery
373 reviews
1.36 km away
Nigel Greaves Gallery
103 reviews
1.57 km away
Devonshire Park Theatre
201 reviews
1.52 km away
Eastbourne Lifeboat Museum
81 reviews
1.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Anita B
23 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Mark S |
Food is served 12-2 Monday to Saturday. Check website for other times.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Rose Cottage The Village | There Are Two Entries For This Pub, Eastbourne BN26 6UW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Eastbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1323 870377
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing