We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holmes Place

15 South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
+44 1492 874235
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good29%
  • Average16%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible25%
Travellers talk about
“chips peas” (4 reviews)
“salad” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Cafe, British
15 South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called in here for a late lunch on the off chance and had a really good, traditional seaside lunch at a very good price. It was also served very quickly by friendly staff. The frozen chips are not like the things you get in...More

Thank FirstMateKent
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We went and sat inside for an early fish and chip supper. We haven't stayed in Llandudno before, so wasn't sure where to go - especially with a 3 and 4 year old. We went in because it looked busy, we found service super quick...More

1  Thank leahlufc
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We were here on 31st May noon. Had Fish and Chips . Cod Fish was very fresh. And big dish for 1 person.

Thank Shilpa D
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Day tripping into Llandudno for a half term visit,a trip upto the Ski centre,walk along the pier & Mr Punch..i was getting hungry,we have been to Holmes Place before,i chose the special,fish,chips & peas with a pot of tea,a children's fish isn'tbon the menu,so we...More

Thank steven b
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to Holmes place for a few years we have never had a bad meal and the staff are always pleasant some people who come are so rude and abrupt some of these comments on here are not called for its a...More

1  Thank Cbell1977
Reviewed 28 May 2017

we where looking for some-where to have Lunch and came across Homles Place Cafe The cafe was quite busy but this was not a problem, We found a table and sat down and member of staff came over we ordered two fish specials and a...More

Thank Anthony W
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Sadly you are correct about the pizzas, microwaved and grilled. With the turn over time we have the oven would take far too long and mean people waiting up to half an hour for a kids pizza. I am sorry your child didn't enjoy it...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

we visited here today to grab some takeaway fish and chips to eat along the sea front. We Orderd our food and was told to wait outside. My son's chips came first. There not traditional chips frozen! 5 minutes later our fish and chips came....More

Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

It is stated six times on our take out menu that it is frozen chips (top, middle, bottom on the hot food side as well as in brackets next to the word chips, then top and bottom on the sandwich side), also on the blackboard...More

Reviewed 22 May 2017

We visited this restaurant 2 weeks ago, we were doing an Anglessey road trip and decided that this would be our first location for a food stop as we fancied traditional fish and chips. We were very disappointed by our visit. The decor is dated...More

Thank MattnMarie
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your visit. All our pies come with chips, peas and gravy. I hope you were brought a fresh one without gravy.

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Hubby and I went here for lunch on Monday. There were only a few customers in so we didn't have to wait long to be served. He had 2 x chip shop style sausages, chips (cooked from frozen) and fried egg (he didn't like the...More

1  Thank Jilly2903
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

We are hoping the new owners will change a few things!

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Staff can't be bother everything is to much trouble and as for service with a smile you've got no chance they seem to cook things when they want when asked for couple of portions of chips for the grandkids as a treat was told sorry...More

1  Thank Antony B
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

I presume you came in during a busy breakfast period if it was 10am. We have a very small kitchen and if we have a high volume of breakfast orders we are unable to do chips early in the morning as there is just no...More

Nearby Restaurants
The Looking Glass Ice Cream Parlour
574 reviews
.05 km away
Johnny Dough's Wood-Fired Pizza
448 reviews
.06 km away
The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant
616 reviews
.09 km away
Orient Express Cafe & Restaurant
637 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
2,885 reviews
.10 km away
Home Front Museum
402 reviews
.23 km away
Llandudno Pier
3,449 reviews
.11 km away
Bonkerz Fun Centre
144 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Holmes Place staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
09:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 15:00
10:00 - 15:00
10:00 - 15:00
10:00 - 15:00
10:00 - 15:00
09:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Conwy County  >  Llandudno
  • Phone Number: +44 1492 874235
The cafe is located right near the beach and Llandudno pier. We have an ice cream kiosk outside and offer a take out menu (which can be subject to waiting times during busy periods). Our most popular dish is fish and chips, a seaside classic! The staff are a close knit bunch with many of us returning year after year! We are a friendly bunch and there is a real family atmosphere amongst the staff. A few of the staff are even actually related! We have a fantastic health rating of 5 stars and many of our senior staff have a collection of health and safety certificates which can be seen on the wall downstairs. We have plenty of space with 16 tables inside, 3 outside and even space downstairs! There are two kitchens, the fish and chips are cooked separately downstairs. They are that popular we need an extra kitchen to cook them in! The main downfall is that the bathrooms are downstairs but we always offer assistance navigating the stairs or directions to the nearest ground floor bathroom!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing