We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront

Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1FH, England
+44 1473 226082
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“beef wellington” (41 reviews)
“seafood skewers” (21 reviews)
“steak” (42 reviews)
Closed Now
European, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1FH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our first visit to the Waterfront Bistro and Bar and will not be our last ! The entrance way is unassuming and leads through to a modern ,friendly bar where you wait to be escorted upstairs to your table. The restaurant is modern,...More

Thank Elaine B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Only been once but the food I had was first class, service was great staff very friendly and helpful. And reasonably priced well worth a visit.

Thank westham16
Save your favourites!Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a family get together for a special occasion. I've eaten here before and was pleased with the quality of the food previously. You should as these are prices to expect quality food. My in laws had serloin steak which was by all accounts pretty...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ate here with a group of 12 customers and colleagues last week. It's a lovely restaurant with a nice ambience. The staff are friendly and quite switched on. However, there perhaps weren't enough of them. The meal took over three hours in all for...More

Thank John M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met here with a client for dinner. Drinks in the bar then dinner upstairs. Location is great - short walk from Premier Inn Service and food was very good. Considering all of us had three courses, all different, we all enjoyed our choices. Prices are...More

1  Thank read_review_first
A TripAdvisor Member
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I used to be a regular of this restaurant a few years ago for the set menu, but I stopped going as I found the menu lacking in variety and the contents of it really didn’t change much. However was excited to return with work...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

I have visited the Waterfornt many times over the last few years, it has been my favourite restaurant for a while now but unfortunately we had a bad experience when eating here recently. The restaurant has introduced a new menu and it is nowhere near...More

Thank DD_Ipswich
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback we are listening to our customers and some of the comments you have mentioned have already been rectified. The Beef Wellington has already gone back on the menu and we sincerely apologise about the steak. We tried a different supplier...More

Reviewed 6 February 2018

This was our monthly dinner and 28 of us enjoyed a lovely evening The service was excellent with us all served at once. The food was brilliant and everyone enjoyed their choices The bang bang prawns and moules were excellent as were the main courses....More

Thank Marilyn W
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm very glad your Dining Society were all happy and all of your own hard work paid off! We look forward to welcoming you all back whether it is as individuals or if you wish to come...More

Reviewed 5 February 2018

On Sunday 4th February we enjoyed an excellent Sunday Roast to celebrate my Husband`s 80th birthday along with 12 members f our family - it was a cold day and on arrival a member of staff took our coats and made us very welcome -...More

Thank mildredmay
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

We are all really happy you enjoyed your husbands special birthday, I have passed your gratitude onto my team and we look forward to seeing you all soon. We have a great group of regulars so I'm glad we were all on form to sing...More

Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

My family returned to the waterfront for the second time after reading that there was a menu change which looked very interesting. Certainly didn’t disappoint! My son is a vegetarian and although not a great variety of choice for him, he had the roulade -...More

Thank cfreeman12
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm really glad you enjoyed your experience with us once again. Change can often be hard but we will be listening to our customers and developing our menus accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Ipswich
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
829 reviews
.09 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1,442 reviews
.23 km away
Novotel Ipswich
918 reviews
.36 km away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
317 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
103 reviews
.25 km away
Bistro on the Quay
776 reviews
.16 km away
Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich
583 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ipswich Waterfront
571 reviews
.28 km away
41 reviews
.18 km away
The Old Custom House
10 reviews
.11 km away
Wolsey's Gate
11 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LabrettaMod | Reviewed this property |
Lunch only 12 until 2
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Claire P | Reviewed this property |
Next to Anytime Fitness
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1FH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 226082
  • E-mail
Restaurant with stunning Waterfront location serving locally sourced fresh products. Fixed price menus available from Sunday to Thursday with an A La Carte menu on offer all week.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing