We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beagle Pub

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
+44 1473 730607
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

414 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 414: English reviews
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in premier Inn ( chantry park) which is next door and menu of this pub restaurant is available in the rooms of premier Inn. Had a fabulous English steak mushroom pie cooked on the premises and real marques ale "Broadstair". Service, ambience and friendliness is superb and price is very reasonable too. Highly recommended but needs booking.

Helpful?
Thank sandip R
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Sandip R. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Beagle. Look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Clare More 

Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good Food friendly staff. You might have to wait unless you've reserved a table. Worth waiting. Drinks not cheap!

Helpful?
Thank Ken W
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Hi Ken, Thank you for the great feedback I'll pass onto to the team, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards David Chandler General Manager More 

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Some nice food on menu, but had to wait an hour for main courses. We had starters as that gives them a chance to get the main ready but still ended up waiting an hour for the main.. staff were very attentive and apologetic but we were considering leaving when it finally arrived. Food was however worth the wait with... More 

Helpful?
Thank thundachild
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a group of friends, we visit this restaurant on a regular basis, partly because it is somewhere you can get good pub grub, friendly service and a comfortable, spacious environment. Favourites are ham, egg and chips, fish and chips, scampi and chips and goats cheese and beetroot salad. Vegetarian options are limited though. Easy parking and just off the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
David C, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Linda B, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Beagle. I'm glad you enjoyed our food here especially the favourites you listed they are very popular and we look forward to seeing you all back again. Kind Regards Clare More 

Great Wakering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited here recently for a meal for 2 on a Friday evening. It was very busy and fully booked. Fortunately we had reserved a table as some people were being turned away. We were seated straight away. In fact we arrived about 15 minutes early but were still seated. Drinks order was taken promptly and food order soon after. No... More 

Helpful?
Thank CherylandDavid1994
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Thanks Cherylanddavid1994, for leaving us this response. I'm glad you enjoyed the food and the service and look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Clare More 

Hadleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good value, good food and friendly staff, but the garden can be very noisy, as it's next to the busy A14. On busy days it can be noisy indoors too, which can be a problem for people like me, with hearing aids, so I try to avoid peak times. I'm a regular visitor.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Margaret N, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Beagle. It is great to see you are a regular visitor and with the hotel next to us and you like the food and service but unfortunately as your aware we are next to a14 so it can be noisy at times. Kind Regards Clare More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided on going to the beagle to celebrate 3 birthdays and we probably won't go back, the food was of a reasonable standard but the service just lacked something! The young man that served us was polite enough but didn't seem very experienced and it felt like he was just muddling through ( that may just be down to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin T
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Martin, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Beagle take our reviews very seriously. I will ensure that training will be looked at this situation and the company itself have issued us with Ipods to use... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

I don't like leaving bad reviews but in this case I will make an exception. I admit that when we arrived it was slightly busy (Friday lunchtime.) We sat and waited....and waited. A waitress came and took our drinks order and we waited....and waited. 20 minutes later we had our drinks. We waited and waited.....10 minutes later our food order... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick0506
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Thank you, Nick0506, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. Unfortunately that Friday we were let down by a member of the team without warning leaving us unable to cover. We were also training a new member of the team which did make things a lot harder. I do hope in future... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Have been using the Beagle since it was converted from cottages in the 1980's. On the last few occasions that we have visited with friends and family the service has been extremely poor, in fact the worst we have experienced in 30 years. As we waited to be greeted and escorted to our table several staff were going in and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Hi Mary B, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Beagle take our reviews very seriously. I am sorry that you have felt that the service has become poor here at the Beagle in the time you have been visiting. I wish you had chosen to speak to one of the management team on one... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Dinner with a friend and we had a nice evening. The service was friendly and helpful and the food was freshly cooked and very tasty, although the chicken was a little dry. they take gourmet club cards too!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
David C, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Sarah H. You really made our day today and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards David Chandler General Manager More 

Travellers who viewed Beagle Pub also viewed

 

Been to Beagle Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730607

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Beagle Pub and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Beagle Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?