We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beagle Pub

$$ - $$$, British,
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
+44 1473 730607
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good27%
  • Average21%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (5 reviews)
“salmon” (5 reviews)
“premier inn” (26 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We booked a table for 6.45pm. When we arrived we were shown to our table and given the menus. The waitress then informed us the they had run out of a few things. There were no roasts left, no pies, no hunters chicken, no fish...More

Thank Shazzarush
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Shazzarush, we truly appreciate your honest feedback. We do apologises that we were unable to provide our full menu to our guests on Sunday evening and the management team have discussed the issues and reflected on what went wrong. Thank you for bringing this to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had heard some bad reviews recently regarding the Beagle however we still booked with hope that they had simply had a bad night. On arrival the service was very good, drink orders were taken and delivered very quickly. I started with Calamari which sadly...More

1  Thank Mark O
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mark O, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I send to you my apologies for the experience you have had. I'm happy...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit every so often but don't always book, we did today but short notice. All the staff including behind the bar were helpful, cheerful and nice to be greeted by. Beer selection gets better still, plenty of wine choice, decor and general surroundings still...More

1  Thank AdmiralGant
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! I'm glad you enjoyed the food and the service. No matter how full I am I always find room for dessert somewhere,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been having a regular "date night" at this place for a while now . When we were at a loss for our venue for our NYE we both agreed to book our fave venue . What a mistake ! The food was reheated...More

1  Thank KenBessent
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I'm sorry to hear that you thought the food was reheated and dry, we always try to strive to high standard and on this occasion we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met a colleague for a business meeting - his choice as I'm not local - very impressed. Decent cask pint, friendly staff (even though I was an hour late) - and food was excellent. Very tasty, with a varied menu - a cut above normal...More

1  Thank Jon E
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jon E, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, I will share the great comments about our food to the kitchen team. We look forward...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful pub atmosphere with great food and a fantastic staff attitude We have never been away from home on a Christmas day in nearly 40 years of marriage so this was a first and an experiment, it worked so much so that my wife...More

1  Thank David G
David C, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi David G, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! I'm so happy you really enjoyed Christmas day with us at the Beagle and that you drove all that way...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All had the Christmas fayre menu. Soup was good. Cocktail had the cheapest frozen prawns absolutely tasteless unless you had them in their measly amount of sauce. Lettuce was more like dark cabbage leaves. Beef was ok, fish was ok but turkey dry. Had to...More

1  Thank suecollis7
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Suecollis7, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. I'm sorry to hear of your problems with your meals when you dined, did you make aware any of our management team? If you need to discuss further then please call me on...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We found it on the phone map whilst travelling through the area. It was a lovely place with a great atmosphere and excellent food. The staff were very cheerful and friendly. Will definitely make a point of going back there.

1  Thank Jos T
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jos T, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We look forward to your next visit! Take care! Assistant Manager Stephen Racher

Reviewed 12 December 2017

We had eaten here last year as a large family group and really enjoyed it, so much so that we made arrangements to take friends there for a pre Christmas Lunch. The service was poor (probably understaffed) and the food was poor, cold eggs, the...More

2  Thank tomsnan2017
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Tomsnan2017, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that the service was slow for you on this occasion, we are extremely busy with xmas bookings. I will investigate with the kitchen on the...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

Family get together group, thoroughly enjoyed our evening here. Service from Emma was fantastic, catered for our every need with a smile and some humour.. Food was fine and pricing fair. Recommended.

1  Thank paulsnutter
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you so much for your recent visit and scoring us so high. Our front of house staff are highly trained to deliver good service. Also thank you for recommending us Kay Shift Supervisor

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Ipswich
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
607 reviews
.18 km away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
610 reviews
.61 km away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
1,101 reviews
2.32 km away
pentahotel Ipswich
546 reviews
2.80 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Sproughton Wild Man
217 reviews
1.35 km away
India Gate
24 reviews
1.07 km away
Ipswich Codfellas
9 reviews
1.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Shed
10 reviews
1.36 km away
Riverhills
199 reviews
2.56 km away
New Wolsey Theatre
693 reviews
3.43 km away
Portman Road Stadium
102 reviews
3.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JulesP82
We used to go here just over a year ago but loved away. First meal since we moved back to Ipswich and it's gone so down hill which is such a shame. Service was incredibly slow and uncaring. When our mains came out mine was missing. After waiting a while I asked and was told she would look into it however she didn't come back. I went to find someone who again went to find out. Original lady then came back to ask me what I ordered. God knows what she was doing all that time. My main eventually came. I ordered the cous cous. It was about a tablespoon of cous cous with a full plate of iceberg lettuce and what tasted like half a pint of vinegar on it and two chunks of coconut. I couldn't eat it. Husband and toddlers meals came out ok though nothing to shout about. Ordered drinks which we had to chase up twenty minutes later. I was asked how the meal was and advised of the above. She said oh sorry about that and disappeared for the bill. My main was taken off the bill however no real apologies for what was meant to be a special evening. Not going back
15 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from David C | Property representative |
I am sorry you were not happy with the service and from what you described it was not acceptable. I was pleased to hear that they took the meal of the bill and apologised to you and sorry that you felt that this apology was... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730607
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing