We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, European, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
European, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
238
122
76
45
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
238
122
76
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak soup creme brûlée mussels cheese board four courses sunday lunch wine list lovely evening sommelier carrots quay
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had Boxing Day lunch and it was really good. Not many people there sadly but understandably given the current pandemic. Service and food both good, starters hit and miss, soup brilliant, veg tasted like left over Christmas veggies, but mains very good. Felt safe...as good COVID measures in place. Made our day memorable.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TheLoftysPoole, thank you for joining us for Boxing Day lunch and I am pleased that you overall enjoyed your lunch here, but I can, with absolute certainty, say that everything is made fresh on the day. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year! Christian HdV...More

Reviewed 5 December 2020 via mobile

Hit and a miss.... super helpful staff but food is a bit meh! Pate - super flavoursome. Parsnip and Apple soup - no flavour at all. Vegetable risotto - like baby food, bland as. Steak frites - just alright. Choc and honeycomb pave - tasty....Trifle - ok. Overarching smell of cheese across the restaurant which is very off putting. Shame. Beautiful setting.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Dear kerryt334, thank you for your feedback which I also shared with our kitchen and bistro teams. I hope you were able to speak to the Bistro or Duty manager on the night? Kind regards Christian HdV Poole

Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

Last minute trip with girlfriends, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, very Covid secure with one way systems etc. Clean and comfortable rooms and fabulous location. Thank you for a lovely stay, highly recommend!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
G4124EGchristians, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear U228KIkatel thank you for staying with us and the great feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards Christian HdV Poole

Reviewed 6 September 2020

We ate here last night, table for two for our wedding anniversary, viewing the menu online and the high prices, expected that little bit more. The ambiance is lovely and the bistro is designed lovely, felt Covid safe. The food - I had French onion...soup for starters my husband had scallops both of which were fantastic. For mains we had mussels and morrocan lamb with couscous, couscous- the mussels served with frites were good but not exceptional, some were quite gritty! The lamb dish my husband found very chewy and dry. The drinks - overpriced £8.75 for a gin and tonic is extreme The service - 10% surcharge included on bill!! However service was terrible, we were asked to use scan code to view the menu on our phones, surely they could provide menues and then clean them! When we requested menues they did come reluctantly, we were served our starters before our drinks arrived, we asked numerous times and different staff for things that didn't arrive! Let down the evening. For the two of us with the added service charge and 2 courses it was £95 for that price expected more.... would we return, dont think so!!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
G4124EGchristians, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

Dear murrayschicken, thank you for your feedback which I have shared with the team and apologies if you were not fully satisfied with your meal that night. The QR coded menus is one of many save guards against COVID -19 and we are working hard...More

Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

I debated about giving the stay two stars and three! The only thing that made me do three was some of the staff in the bistro were very good! What was meant to be a real treat (our first night away baby free) was far...from a treat! Please please please... do not spend £250 on this hotel! It would be an absolute waste of money... for £250 I would expect something really quite special... special it was not! I’ve stayed in far better holiday Inns!! The bistro is also outrageously priced for very average food! We ordered the tiger prawns of which we got four and may as well have come from Iceland! The steak was flavourless and tough... again I’ve had better from Sainsbury’s and cooked myself! Very disappointing Finally I’m not sure if there was a problem with the plumbing in our room but every 5 minutes through the whole night there was a noise which is hard to describe but drove us both close to the edge and left us with very little sleep.... the cold tap in the bathroom also ran scalding hot!! 🤷🏼‍♀️ We will be emailing the hotel to express our disappointment... to be honest we were both so tried when we left we just wanted to get home!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
G4124EGchristians, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2020

Dear Lobster81, thank you for your time writing your review and I am sorry to read about your not so satisfying stay here with us. I am disappointing that you have not shared your findings with us during your time here as we would have...More

Reviewed 18 August 2020 via mobile

Visited with family today . Staff very keen to please with any requests catered for . Food was ok - not exceptional but on the whole tasty . Drink prices were like I was living in London. £22.50 for 3 pints and £16.50 for 2...glasses of wine .More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
G4124EGchristians, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Dear Welltravelledp, thank you for spending time with us here and I shared your findings with the team. Kind regards Christian HdV Poole

Reviewed 10 August 2020 via mobile

Having been to Poole a number of times over the years, I have to admit I had never even considered the Hotel Di Vin Bistro as a place to eat. On this occasion, this was a relatively last minute dinner booking as a treat for...myself and my partner. The hotel itself is just off the quay and the bistro is set downstairs. Upon entering the bistro you immediately have your expectations set as the decor is very pleasant indeed. My partner and I were shown to our seats in the restaurant which only had 2 other tables in use, although I will note that there were several more tables in use in the outdoor space. The menu is accessed via a QR code displayed at the table, and even on a larger screen phone it can be difficult to see the full choice especially for drinks. However, these are strange times and this is not an unusual occurrence at the moment. We chose dishes off the specials menu of Scallops for starters and fillet steak with sides or carrots & spinach for main. The scallops were excellent and cooked to just the right degree. For the mains, my partner had his steak medium rare, and again this was cooked perfectly for him, whilst my well done steak was also cooked to perfection. Even the fries and accompanying sides were delicious. I would note here that the fillet steak only comes as an 8oz option and I personally would have liked a larger size option. For dessert my partner tried the creme brûlée and I opted for the cheese plate. I’m pleased to say that the creme brûlée met the ‘crack’ test and the selection of cheeses was well received. I will note that the crackers for the cheese plate were Jacobs Cream Crackers, and whilst I have no problem overall with this, a small selection would have been a nice touch. I can say that the ambiance during the meal was excellent and the background music was loud enough to enjoy, whilst being quiet enough not to intrude into a conversation. The service we received from the waitress, the bartender and the restaurant manager on the night was fantastic and certainly added to the overall experience. Whilst slightly on the more costly side, all in all I would say this represents good value for money. Not only will we be returning in the future, but o would certainly recommend the bistro to anyone.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
G4124EGchristians, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Dear E2014XOchrisc, thank you for your great review and very kind words. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Christian HdV Poole

Reviewed 30 July 2020 via mobile

I had a real treat of a meal with my wife tonight. We both had tiger prawns with a great aioli dip and rib eye steaks with bearnaise sauce. The service was very attentive catering for my wife’s zero carb dietary needs and always on...hand when needed. We would love to return here when we are able a real treat after lockdown.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
G4124EGchristians, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2020

Dear leehM5998XZ, thank you for the great feedback and hopefully we will be welcoming you again very soon. Best regards Christian HdV Poole

Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

Excellent food, amazing service, they can’t do more for you. I am so impressed with their skill and their recommendations. Beautiful food. Would give 6 stars but can only give 5.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
G4124EGchristians, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Dear Sarah L, Thank you for your amazing feedback - very much appreciated! Best regards Christian HdV Poole

Reviewed 15 February 2020

Beautiful meal on Valentines eve and breakfast the next day. Nice bar and very friendly staff who cared.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
G4124EGchristians, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

Dear GrandTour78338, thank you for joining us for your Valentines celebrations and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Christian HdV Poole

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Thistle Poole
1,598 reviews
.50 km away
RNLI College
1,190 reviews
.51 km away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
1,207 reviews
.76 km away
Arndale Court
193 reviews
1.29 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Italian Diva
658 reviews
.11 km away
Karma Mediterranean Grill & Bistro
871 reviews
.18 km away
Bingley's Bistro
558 reviews
.15 km away
Sakuna Khrua Thai
383 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden
354 reviews
.10 km away
Poole Harbour
1,985 reviews
.27 km away
Brownsea Island Ferries
663 reviews
.30 km away
Scaplen's Court
20 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nickynou2016
4 June 2017|
Answer
Response from michellenF9805FU | Reviewed this property |
Smart casual
0
Votes
luciaandber
30 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jim G | Reviewed this property |
Farmers table is a selection of shell fish, pates, cold meats, smoked salmon, various veg in oil buffet style as a self service 2nd course. Normally part of their Four course meal. It is delicious Enjoy
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing