We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The White Heifer That Travelled

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
West Park John Fowler Way | John Fowler Way, Darlington DL2 2GG, England
+44 1325 462464
Today
11:45 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:45 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 164: English reviews
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Came into this lovely pub yesterday for food with my mam. I had the chicken and rump (should have had cajan on it but they left it off for me) and my mam had rump and king prawn salad. Both were hot and delicious. The pub was quite busy but quiet in the section we sat. The staff on shift... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 52Laura
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went in here with my girlfriend after getting back from a long day of travelling. The food is really well priced with good portion sizes! The staff were all spot on The manager Axl and the team were very attentive, which brought a great atmosphere to the pub.

Helpful?
Thank James B
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback its great to hear about your experience with us at The White Heifer. We hope to see you again soon. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went there as a family of 8 and food was excellent as was service. Food excellent quality and came hot on hot plates and waitress very friendly and pleasant. Highly recommended for food and drinks with a great service.

Helpful?
Thank Deano7719
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback its great to hear about your experience with us at The White Heifer. We hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Very tasty food and the prices are reasonable for the portion sizes excellent service from the staff. Will be visiting again. 😀

Helpful?
Thank Jade G
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback its great to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came for food with my friends, it was a last minute decision, but the pub was relatively quiet and the bar staff were really friendly. The food was lovely and cheaply priced. I'd definitely recommend for future casual dining experiences.

Helpful?
Thank smwest89
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback its great to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can't complain about anything, good service, great value food, comfortable setting. Would recommend highly. Added bonus is the excellent choice of beers.

Helpful?
Thank Noddyshead
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback its great to hear you enjoyed your visit and our selection of beers. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called for lunch one Saturday not till 2-30pm very quite but lots of reserved tables which never became occupied all the time we where in. Welcome was get any table and come back and order. We choose and I went to order since when you order kormas do they ask is that a curry and you are ordering what is... More 

Helpful?
Thank boydy73
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback all feedback is used to improve our business moving forward. To answer a few of your points. Yes there was a lot of tables reserved on this day of your visit put we have to reserve these tables for our customers who have specifically rang up for these in order to ensure they have their seats.... More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to the White Heifer for a family meal and left extremely disappointed with both the food and the service. The waitress was rude, she dumped knives and forks on a tray telling us to 'sort them ourselves' as she was really busy and on her own. The starter arrived 50 minutes after we ordered it, was cold and... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulL8255MK
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback I have looked into this with my team to understand more about the specifics of your experience. With regards to the waiting time on food. Yes we were busy in this day and sometimes it is the case that there is a wait on food. However, we do try our best to communicate this with... More 

Darlington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed when I arrived at the White Heifer at 1200 Christmas day with my elderly father in law for our usual Christmas day drink. This is something we have done the previous 2 Christmas' at this pub only this Christmas we were turned away at the door. The lady who greeted us told us it's only drinks on invitation,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mathew G
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this review

Hi Mathew thank you for your response on this matter. Unfortunately we cannot let everyone in for drinks on Christmas Day and need to have someone on the door to control this, as the pub is fully booked for diners paying £37.99 per head. I am the new manager here and started a few months ago. I know every business... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for lunch as we hadn't been here for a while. The food was average but nothing memorable. However, the waitress was very good and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon and deliver a better experience for you. More 

Travellers who viewed The White Heifer That Travelled also viewed

 
Darlington, Durham
Darlington, Durham
 
Darlington, Durham
Darlington, Durham
 

Been to The White Heifer That Travelled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
11:45 - 23:30
Monday
11:45 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:45 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:45 - 23:30
Thursday
11:45 - 23:30
Friday
11:45 - 23:30
Saturday
11:45 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West Park John Fowler Way | John Fowler Way, Darlington DL2 2GG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Darlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1325 462464

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The White Heifer That Travelled and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The White Heifer That Travelled staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?