We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chinese Buffet

Unit G33 Trinity Walk | Market Walk, Wakefield WF1 1QU, England
+44 1924 339322
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good22%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (20 reviews)
“dim sum” (6 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Unit G33 Trinity Walk | Market Walk, Wakefield WF1 1QU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided Chinese instead of carvery wish we had tried the a carvery food was shocking soup was overflowing with salt spare ribs asked twice for them to refill but no joy went proper ribs just bits of meat full of bones King prawns more like...More

Thank hutchy125
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place has a really nice atmosphere, its great value for money and the food is sublime.😋 Great to see my noodles made in front of me too👍🏻

1  Thank CharlieJThompson
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're so glad you enjoy dining with us, enjoy our dishes and feel we have a good atmosphere, thank you for your lovely comments

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never been before and my wife and i were hungry so we went to the Chinese Buffet. Very good service and the food was good. Fantastic value for an eat as much as you want for £8.95p. Will go back.

1  Thank Colin D
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're so glad you enjoyed your first visit with us for lunch recently and received great food and service, thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 13 January 2018

One of the better Chinese buffet restaurants in the area, the place is always clean and the food hot and the selection of dishes good.

Thank Andrew C
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely comments and we're so glad you enjoy dining with us and enjoy the food we have available, we hope to welcome you again soon

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Following a visit to pinderfields hospital. I thought I'd treat my wife to lunch. Having been to the Huddersfield and Blackpool restaurants. We headed to the Wakefield restaurant. What a mistake. The service was OK but thats it. I know it's a reduced menu at...More

Thank 1973Richard123
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us in Wakefield recently. I would like to assure you that we do follow strict guidelines set by the FSA around food temperature, but we do take all...More

Reviewed 26 December 2017

Lovely lunch buffet with my Sister and Nanna. A nice restaurant with a lovely atmosphere about it! The staff are very helpful and polite. We got seated fairly close to the entrance/buffet as my Nanna has trouble walking and walks with wheels for abit extra...More

Thank Jessica C
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

We're so glad you, your sister and Nanna had a great visit with us recently and were able to accommodate you. We're so glad you really enjoyed the dishes you tried and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

I'm afraid to say lunch today was shocking... Fare enough it's Christmas nut the selection was terrible. Non of the normal good things and trays very low. Would think long and hard before coming again

Thank Christopher H
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy this visit due to our selection, we pride ourselves on the selection of our dishes so I will feed your comments back to the team for future Christmas menus

Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Went to Chinese buffet Saturday just gone and the food was appalling it was clap cold no heat to it the chicken was very tough not happy and emailed them and no reply backMore

Thank elaine w
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us recently. I would like to assure you that all of our dishes are cooked and served well within the FSA guidelines for buffet dining and we regular...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

A lot of stairs up to the restaurant, but they do have a lift just right of main door. Not easy for disabled to reach some of the food, due to the lay out. But nice friendly staff will help. Prices are good, evening menu...More

Thank ELAINE P
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed dining with us and enjoyed the dishes you tried. We will pass your comments back to the team and we do hope you will join us again

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Lovely food and atmosphere. Staff very helpful. Miss the crispy seaweed but always good variety of food

Thank Joanne H
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we're really glad you enjoy dining with us and we will pass your comments back to the team

PreviousNext
12345643
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Wakefield
CitiLodge Hotel
154 reviews
.25 km away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
318 reviews
.44 km away
York House Hotel
274 reviews
.53 km away
Stanley View Guest House
98 reviews
.86 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Olive and Meze
334 reviews
.21 km away
Delphi Restaurant
402 reviews
.12 km away
Trinity Bakehouse & Cafe
102 reviews
.13 km away
Robatary
27 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wakefield Cathedral
206 reviews
.21 km away
Theatre Royal Wakefield
185 reviews
.52 km away
Trinity Walk Wakefield
58 reviews
.19 km away
Wakefield Museum
48 reviews
.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
pauluss22
27 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Oompalumpa1 | Reviewed this property |
hi we always order a jug of water and get a large jug so yes you can order water hope this helps
1
Vote
nickyjayne
16 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Alan D | Reviewed this property |
I believe they do but just tell them and they should know. It's certainly more common these days.
1
Vote
1300anne100
20 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Lucy S | Reviewed this property |
Hi and sorry I'm a bit late for last Xmas, don't often visit trip advisor. I think they do open but best book a table (for Xmas 2017!!)
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Private Dining, Buffet
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Unit G33 Trinity Walk | Market Walk, Wakefield WF1 1QU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Wakefield
  • Phone Number: +44 1924 339322
Description
The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant. THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing