We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barley Mow

$$ - $$$, British,
Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
+44 1754 820883
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good12%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“belly pork” (28 reviews)
“whitebait” (6 reviews)
“fish pie” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I have been talking about coming here for a couple of years but never got round to it, so as a last minute decision we booked a table tonight.. And wow! Without a doubt the best steak we have ever eaten and...More

4  Thank SarahMichaelHenly
Reviewed 1 week ago

Oh my god! This place never disappoints we had Sunday lunch here and it was wonderful. Both myself and my husband had the roast lamb it was beautiful,the vegetables are just as lovely well cooked and just as nicely presented as the main . From...More

1  Thank julieannburke
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Julie Ann Thank you for your review, and your continued custom. we've started to do Lamb and its proved very popular, so its now got a permanent position on our Sunday lunch menu! We look forward to seeing you soon Regards Jayne and Team...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We go to the 80s weekend at Butlins in Skegness. And every time we go we always make time for a trip to the Barley Mow! We went Saturday lunch time this time, and were met with a warm greeting! We had noticed that their...More

2  Thank Treechopper
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for your lovely review, Butlins 80's weekends are very popular and we get alot of trade from it, ( thank you Butlins) people like yourselves that come back everytime and always pop in to see us for a meal. I was happy...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want a good homecoming cooked Sunday lunch, this is the place to come. The food is very tasty and well presented. The staff are friendly and give good service, but beware you must book as they get very busy. Also they can overbook...More

1  Thank laniaboys
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for your great review, our Sunday lunches are very popular and it has become our busiest day of the week, as you've stated booking is recommended, although we do try to accommodate walk in guests where at all possible. We try to...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Beautifully cooked food at a reasonable price early evenings. Had goats cheese filo tart and veg then had to make room for sweet phew

1  Thank Maureen T
Reviewed 29 August 2017

With military precision, our party was booked in for the required time slot and we were told to arrive 15 minutes early to sort drinks and choose from the menu. This turned out to be a crafty little ploy as almost 45 minutes after arrival...More

1  Thank BinksumSinkum
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent value. Food as always excellent. Hake was a real treat. Sides perfectly cooked. Lovely service

1  Thank Carole C
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This pub serves marvellous food from a varied selection at very reasonable prices. We were made very welcome by staff that were friendly and professional.

Thank Bronzehonda
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Fantastic from the word go. Great owner/manageress who made us feel welcome as soon as we walked in - no request was too much for her. Food was delicious and reasonably priced. Cracking pub 👍

2  Thank pwrens
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We go to this pub regularly to eat even though we are 30mins away! You cannot beat the food and the owner and staff are so friendly! The menu is changed regularly and there is always something different on it. The presentation is the standard...More

2  Thank 30TravelBug1985
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Suttons Traditional Fish and Chips
33 reviews
4.12 km away
The Old Chequers
126 reviews
6.39 km away
Bricklayers Arms
102 reviews
7.90 km away
Nearby Attractions
Batemans Brewery
156 reviews
3.66 km away
Lincolnshire Wildlife Park
827 reviews
4.34 km away
George Bateman and Son
15 reviews
3.71 km away
Gibraltar Point National Nature Reserve
544 reviews
7.98 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kellybergmanas
28 September 2017|
Answer
Response from BarleyMowSkegness | Property representative |
hello thank you for your enquiry, we do not offer a vegan menu but our vegetarian choices can be adapted to suit vegans, as we make them to order. hope thats of help regards Jayne
1
Vote
j0hnp0ppy
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BarleyMowSkegness | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for you're enquiry, we do indeed cater for Gluten free diets, as most dishes are prepared on sight, we can adapt to suit GF diets, alot of sauces are reduced or thickened with arrowroot or butter and cream... More
0
Votes
Claire D
27 December 2016|
Answer
Response from BarleyMowSkegness | Property representative |
Hi Claire We have a FB page, sample menus are on it. Website going live in January 2017. We are closed today, 27th, will reopen 28th at lunch, if you need any further help, please contact us after 1030am. Thank you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday
5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Skegness
  • Phone Number: +44 1754 820883
  • E-mail
Description
We are a country pub, located 14 miles from Boston, 8 miles from Skegness, we boast a large car park, beautiful garden with patio and heated smoking hut.Inside we offer a large conservatory overlooking the garden, which leads into the public bar, with 2 drinking areas and a separate dining room on the side overlooking the countryside. We close all day Monday and serve evening meals from Tuesday to Saturday evening and lunches from Friday to Sunday. We get very busy in the evenings and on a Sunday Lunch, so we do recommend to book!! We offer fresh prepared food using reputable suppliers and make majority of the dishes here on sight, we pride ourselves on Proper Food in a clean comfortable cosy yet modern village pub with restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing