We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hind

$$ - $$$, British,
285 East Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4EP, England
+44 1709 532490
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good26%
  • Average17%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“roast beef” (3 reviews)
“pate” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
285 East Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4EP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We held out works night out at The Hind. There was a large group of us and we were sat comfortably in a raised area at the back. We had pre ordered a Buffett (b) selection and were more than happy with the selection that...More

Thank Michelle M
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your great 5* review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your night out and we hope to see you again soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible dried up over priced food!! Never again. We ordered two meals and one was lovely but the other was terrible it was Over cooked and dried up. If the meal had been reasonably priced I wouldn’t have complained but at 11,00 I felt completely...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

My apologies that you were not happy with your meal, I did ask if everything was good at the time and you said yes; it wasn't until you finished that you brought to Holly's attention that you were not happy. We would have quite happily...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly my meal was nice. However my husbands mixed grill was atrocious. Fatty steak, dry chicken, burnt gammon. When we complained they offered to do it again or change it but that meant waiting for at least another half an hour, which would also mean...More

1  Thank Lyn495030
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Lyn Thank you for taking the time to review the Hind and leave us your valued feedback. Firstly I would like to apologise that your visit was anything less than perfect, it's disappointing to read that you went home unhappy with your visit. It...More

Reviewed 16 January 2018

waited nearly a hour for the food even though the place had just served a party with their meals, rest of the pub was very quite.. when we asked where was our order we were told it was being plated... asked again 10 mins later...More

2  Thank ychoos
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Went in with my boyfriend and his friend the staff were extremely rude to my boyfriend as he bought his self a pint and the bar staff said they couldn’t serve him because he could have given it to his friend when they weren’t looking...More

2  Thank Ellaboulton
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory.

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Friendly pub with a wide beer range including several from local breweries. Great atmosphere with real fires in winter. Good value pub food too . Plenty of parking and big garden

Thank Mike S
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi Mike S, Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review. We're glad you found the pub to your liking and that you enjoyed our drinks range. We hope to see you in the Hind again very soon.

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

The meals have gone downhill while prices have gone up. Good beer and plenty of choice but service is so slow at the bar lately. Stop sorting out behind the bar and serve customers or they will go elsewhere. The place needs some ventilation as...More

Thank TonyR27
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hind, we're sorry you didn't enjoy your recent visit with us and the meal was not to your liking. With regards to your comments about the bar unfortunately it is sometimes necessary to restock the bar...More

Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

This is our go to place for an early dinner. The place is generally busy, the recent refurb has made it feel more friendly and 'restauranty' rather than 'pubby' ! The menu is good pub fare, I had gammon with eggs which is one of...More

Thank Richchap24
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Hi Richchap24, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Hind. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Avoid avoid avoid! We visited the hind on a Sunday afternoon for our eagerly anticipated Sunday lunch. Upon arriving we were impressed with the nice atmosphere and good decor. After ordering our food and drinks we were told of a 20 minute wait for food......More

Thank Barnsley1990
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Good morning , My apologies that we let you and your party down on your visit to the Hind. I will be discussing with the team where they went wrong that day.

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We arrived and all ordered sunday dinners. We were told it would be a 30 minute wait, which was fine. An hour and 15 minutes later our food arrived with no apology until prompted by ourselves. The food was bland and tasteless, and the beef...More

Thank Kerry X
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Good morning Kerry, my apologies that we let you and your party down during your visit to the Hind. I will be discussing with the team on duty what went wrong that day. Again my apologies

PreviousNext
12345627
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Rotherham
Premier Inn Rotherham East (M18/M1) Hotel
388 reviews
1.44 km away
The Brentwood Hotel
305 reviews
1.66 km away
Carlton Park Hotel
824 reviews
1.78 km away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
648 reviews
2.01 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Pondicherry
211 reviews
.73 km away
The Brecks Beefeater
432 reviews
1.37 km away
The Branded Burger
40 reviews
1.49 km away
Cuccinis
137 reviews
.72 km away
Nearby Attractions
Clifton Park
605 reviews
2.68 km away
Clifton Park and Museum
192 reviews
2.49 km away
Rotherham Minster Church
57 reviews
3.06 km away
Ulley Reservoir Country Park
69 reviews
.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
annatkinson123
2 August 2015|
Answer
Response from eileenanddavid2015 |
Got to say we had a nice Sunday lunch there.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 285 East Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4EP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Rotherham
  • Phone Number: +44 1709 532490
Description
This stunning pub is set on the hill with a beautiful spacious beer garden for summer and a roaring fire for the winter. Food is served from 12pm-10pm Monday to Friday and we serve a lovley brunch bettween 10am-12pm Saturday and Sunday with the full menu starting at 12pm. So if its just a coffee and a muffin or a full blown meal, come in an see what treats we have to offer. We also have a full bar stocking Wines, Spirits, Beers and our very own Ember Ale.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing