We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Golden Ball Inn

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Whiston | 7, Turner Lane, Rotherham S60 4HY, England
+44 1709 726911
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 398: English reviews
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Not very good either food or service . Two other pub-come- restaurants nearby and both much better and much friendlier.

Helpful?
Thank dorothyblackburn221
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband, myself and little boy called for lunch and left a little disappointed. The starters were nice, we had calamari. My husband main was southern fried chicken and ordered a large but only a small arrived at the table, the waitress was already aware of this and said we will bring more chicken out. My husband finished his meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gemma E
Rotherham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I did not think they could improve on the high standards they have set for themselves but they have. The atmosphere is even better, the choice of beers(craft and bright) is excellent, the menu evolves seasonally giving new experiences while not losing favourites and, though personally I think it is a fad, the they now offer Gluten Free as well... More 

Helpful?
Thank BillytheQuiche
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this review

Dear BillytheQuiche Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your recent visit. It is always so nice to receive fantastic feedback from our guests and I can assure you that I have passed on your kind comments to the whole team. In regards to your suggestion, I will certainly pass this on to our... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

So here is place that I had never heard of before, let alone visited, and by sheer coincidence ended up here for two meals/meetings in 24 hours, once for dinner and once for lunch the following day! That said, I was not disappointed on either occaision. The inn is obviously a popular meeting and dining venue even mid-week though, such... More 

Helpful?
Thank GOMS2013
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. You really made our day today.Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. The Golden Ball Team :) More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Didn't know where to go and we wanted a nice country pub and seen this place on TripAdvisor, we booked a table online which was easy and simple. We had a 3 course steak supper meal for £20! Which was very good value for money, soup starter was amazing and the duo pate was also very tasty which my boyfriend... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nessy89
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. You really made our day today. Kind Regards The Golden Ball Team More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Last minute booking but they squeezed us in. Lovely service although our waitress didn't know a great deal about the ingredients included in the dishes, however did try her best to find the answers. Upon being seated we were instantly informed of what was not on the menu; which left us without a fish option.. Specials selection were plenty but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Michael. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Golden Ball Inn. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. More 

Staffordshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The approach to the inn is lovely. The car park is large and across the road from the inn. We were a party of six, one of us in a wheelchair and unable to stand. We were greeted very warmly by our server Kat. When she brought the menus she explained that there were no platters, no pork or lamb... More 

Helpful?
Thank hortonkirbyboy
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I have passed on your comments to Kat (you really made her day!). We do strive to give 100% customer service for each and every guest that does dine with us. Kind Regards Charlie General Manager More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this lovely inn, for a birthday celebration. It's been a while since we were last here, but we were certainly not disappointed. The food was lovely, tasty and well presented, and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Nothing to complain about at all, and would recommend to anyone

Helpful?
Thank Margaret195002
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Golden Ball Inn. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. Kind Regards The Golden Ball Team More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pleasant environment and good food. Variety of menu including classics. Gets busy in the evenings. Would return

Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
General Manager A, General Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Barbara, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. We always love to receive great feedback. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited the Golden Ball on Friday evening and had a lovely meal, so good infant I decided to invite friends the following night. However this time we were highly disappointed!! The service was good however the quality and quantity of food was absolutely ridiculous. We payed £14.50 for a king prawn, lobster and chorizo linguine that was of starter size... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 236hannah
General Manager A, General Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this review

Hi Hannah, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Golden Ball Inn take our reviews very seriously. Please call our manager directly at 441709726911 for ways we can work towards resolving these issues. We look forward to hearing from you soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Golden Ball Inn also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rossington, Doncaster
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Golden Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Whiston | 7, Turner Lane, Rotherham S60 4HY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Rotherham
  • Phone Number: +44 1709 726911
Description
The Golden Ball Inn in Whiston is a country pub with a comfortable and relaxed dining area oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Golden Ball Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Ball Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?