We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Company Shed

129 Coast Road, Colchester CO5 8PA, England
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (143 reviews)
“fresh seafood” (64 reviews)
“crab” (84 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 5:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
129 Coast Road, Colchester CO5 8PA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017

had visitors so we had a very soggy walk down to the shed armed with wine ,bread and butter ate a lovely mixture of seafood whilst we dried off

Thank ap34uk
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed the seafood whilst drying off.

Reviewed 9 November 2017

the company shed is not a posh place but the seafood is some of the best we have had, you must remember to take bread with you

Thank davidj1950
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for the great review. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 November 2017

We have been taken here by friends a few times and the food is exceptional. It's quirky quaint and mish mash and we love it, from the atmosphere to the lovely staff. Recently we went to eat here and as usual had an amazing afternoon....More

1  Thank Caroleadunn
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you at the shed again soon.

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

The Company Shed won't win any design awards but the seafood is star quality! Don't get me wrong, the restaurant is clean and comfy enough - but at the end of the day, it's a shed, which is part of its charm! The food, however,...More

1  Thank LondonTraveller61
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. I hope you return again soon.

Reviewed 4 October 2017

We had great expectations after reading reviews and advice from my brother in U.K. (He had never eaten there but had heard great things). Apart from the wait of about 1 3/4 hours (in October) we were not called and when I checked in at...More

2  Thank Muriel B
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're very disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. However, there are a few points that I would like to address. Firstly your wait time and why you wasn't called in. We were, and always are, aware...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Scruffy, Crowded and difficult to get a table ..... but some of the best food you will ever eat. Fresh food cooked well and some fantastic local oysters. DO NOT MISS YOUR CHANCE TO EAT HERE. But if you cannot get in.... drive to Mehalah's...More

Thank Duncan W
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks for the great review. Hope you return again soon.

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Very interesting eatery. We had hot scallops and hot large prawns as well as a crab seafood platter. We took our own bread as well as butter and just had water and fruit juice to drink. Very fresh tasty hot and cold produce served with...More

Thank Alisharon
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for the review. I hope you return again soon to enjoy our seafood.

Reviewed 27 September 2017

I was very happy with my scallops but my partner did not fare so well. We had expected that there would be a more varied fish menu but it was mainly shellfish. An allergy to mussels, scallops and oysters made things difficult so we decided...More

1  Thank jeminab
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

I'm glad you enjoyed your scallops. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the rest of your food and you expected a different menu. We've always been a predominately shellfish restaurant but we frequently do cooked fish specials. In the future if you decide to...More

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Wow this place is unique it's got a high star rating for food but to see the place would make you think twice about going in. The fish is fresh and fabulous. The platter served is lovely and the oysters are beautiful. Not a fancy...More

Thank Coomberman
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks for the great review. At the end of the day we are as it says in the name, a shed. My main goal is to provide people with a lovely experience and fantastic seafood so I'm happy you enjoyed your platter and oysters. Hope...More

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

If you like seafood this is Utopia. The decor is plain, the staff are helpful and friendly. No reservations mean you may have to plan your visit. It will be worth it!

Thank dave c
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks for the fantastic review. Hope you come again soon to enjoy some lovely seafood.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
West Mersea Oyster Bar
907 reviews
.40 km away
The Coast Inn
501 reviews
.25 km away
The Gilt Rooms
117 reviews
.95 km away
Mersea Island Fish Bar
76 reviews
.89 km away
Nearby Attractions
West Mersea Beach
68 reviews
.17 km away
Mersea Island Watersports
32 reviews
.23 km away
Lady Grace Boat Trips
80 reviews
.62 km away
Mersea Island Museum
23 reviews
.96 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
michy185
2 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Caroline H | Property representative |
We don't take bookings. Once we fill up we run a daily waiting list. If you want to get straight in with no wait I suggest you arrive by 11am. If you don't mind a wait I suggest you arrive between 11am and 12pm and get in... More
0
Votes
MrTherm
1 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Caroline H | Property representative |
Hi, We don't allow dogs. Some people leave their dogs tied up outside with water in the shade.
1
Vote
MargaretCambs
28 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Caroline H | Property representative |
Hi, yes we are open as normal. Open at 9am, stop serving at 4, close at 5. We've been steady in the week so I would suggest you try to arrive by 1:30 if you can. Hope to see you Tuesday. Caroline
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 129 Coast Road, Colchester CO5 8PA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Colchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing