We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie

75 East Street, Colchester CO1 2TS, England
+44 1206 973371
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“beef cheeks” (8 reviews)
“fish pie” (8 reviews)
Opens in 28 min
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
75 East Street, Colchester CO1 2TS, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our wedding meal at the Seige House last month, we had 40 people most having 3 courses, and the food was fantastic,! I found most party menus were mostly a glorified roast but we had choices of steak, lamb burgers, trout and much...More

1  Thank frankiemw12
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here last week amazing food good all round pub with food like ,rabbit and pigeon on the menu you know your in a proper English pub.staff are very friendly and the price isn't to bad but you get what you pay for .will definitely...More

2  Thank Lee T
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having afternoon tea right now. Sooo good I just had to review. Beautiful sandwiches, lovely fresh bread of different flavours, very well filled. Sublime cakes and scones and so much clotted cream yum yum washed down with plenty of tea and coffee and the obligatory...More

1  Thank mummycool
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were a large party but were still able to choose from the full menu which was a nice surprise. The food on the whole was good but the fish pie was mainly potato and one steak came out slightly under cooked but they soon...More

Thank 30guestc
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review

30guestc, Firstly thank you for posting your review of your visit and we are glad that on the whole your experience was a positive one. I am sorry that your fish pie was not up to our usual standards and i will follow this up...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my wife had one of the specials wish was fish pie. Both off us only had small bits of salmon in the pie. No other fish it had. A very hard top which had been put in micro wave to be very hot....More

Thank Carl S
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review

Carl s, We are very sorry that you did not feel you had a good experience when you came in to eat. I will be following up on the points that you have made to ensure it does not happen again. We hope you will...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited The Seige House with my family for Sunday lunch and what an enjoyable experience it was. The service was spot on, attentive but not intrusive and the 2/3 course set menu provides great value for money with a good choice of well cooked,...More

Thank van100
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review

van100, Thank you for posting your review, we are glad that you had an enjoyable experience. Nice that your family enjoyed our extensive gin list as well, hopefully we will see you back again soon. Regards The Old Siege House

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasant environment and good service, even with a hen do happening while we were there there were no problems at all!More

Thank Caroline S
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review

Caroline, We would like to thank you for posting a positive review about your recent visit to The Siege House. We are glad you had a pleasant time and encountered no problems, we look forward to your next visit so we can hopefully improve to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to Siege House for lunch and had a lovely meal. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the surroundings good and each course was very tasty. Excellent service too - not rushed but perfectly timed. Will definitely returnMore

Thank 306lyndar
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review

306lyndar, Thank you for posting such a nice and positive review of your recent visit, we hope that you will return again soon and try our lunch menu again which we change on a regular basis. I will pass your comments on as i am...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Returned to dine with some friends for lunch and once again the food was superb. We all had the fish pie which was delicious. For dessert I had the lemon posset served with a shortbread biscuit which was devine to finish a wonderful meal. It...More

Thank Mistyhazel
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review

Mistyhazel, We are glad you have returned to the restaurant and have enjoyed a lovely lunch with your friends, your feedback is appreciated by all the staff and we hope to see you again soon. Regards The Old Siege House

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Siege house last week with my family and can honestly say it was the best meal I have had in a while! Even on a busy Saturday night the service was quick and the staff were really friendly and attentive. The menu...More

Thank Megan966
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review

Megan966, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for giving us such a great 5 star review. We appreciate that you had a great time and felt the service and food were of a very high standard even when we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
GreyFriars Colchester
363 reviews
.68 km away
Thai1
424 reviews
.42 km away
Naka Thai
359 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Castle Park
806 reviews
.87 km away
Colchester Castle Museum
699 reviews
.87 km away
Hollytrees Museum
148 reviews
.67 km away
Colchester's Natural History Museum
71 reviews
.98 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
420rachel
My husband & son require a gluten,fairy & egg free options and my daughter has coeliac. Please can you advise if you cater for different dietary requirements? We are looking to book a family meal to celebrate our son's 18th birthday on Monday 13th Feb
10 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Darren L | Property representative |
420rachel, we can certainly provide you with a selection of dishes for your requirements. Unfortunately we are actually closed on Mondays! Please email us through the website if you would like any more information.
0
Votes
Michael F
we will be dinning at the above in a few weeks time what is the car parking available
31 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Darren L | Property representative |
We have parking for 17 cars on a first come basis. There is also parking close by depending on the time you are coming. You can park on east hill after 6pm I believe and also priory street parking is 50p after 6pm.
0
Votes
Sophiia89
Can you cater for a vegan diet? I like to take my other half some where special
5 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Darren L | Property representative |
Sophiia, yes we can cater for a vegan diet and can adjust dishes according to your requirements. If you contact us before hand we can discuss your likes.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$39
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 East Street, Colchester CO1 2TS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Colchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1206 973371
  • E-mail
Description
Here at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie we provide an a la carte dining experience in an ambient atmosphere at a very reasonable price. If you are looking for quality food, book your table today! Specials on Friday and Saturday evenings. Come and try our set lunch menus, £12.45 for two courses, £14.95 For three courses Tuesday-Saturday Lunch. £16.95 For two courses and £19.95 For three courses on Sunday lunch.