We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Playhouse

4 St. Johns Street, Colchester CO2 7AA, England
+44 1206 571003
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good41%
  • Average20%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (11 reviews)
“curry” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
DETAILS
4 St. Johns Street, Colchester CO2 7AA, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

I've been here on many occasions with friends, partner, work colleagues, even with my in-laws. They all love the relaxed atmosphere here and the food is delicious and reasonably priced. By far my favourite meal is Lamb shank which is served with mash, gravy and...More

Thank Alexandra I
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had no idea this place existed as I am not local. Was brought here for lunch and although it was around 1pm the place wasn't overly busy but still had a good atmosphere. Served reasonably quickly at the bar and our food once ordered arrived...More

Thank 350Gail350
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went there a few times this week the lady boss is lovely always has time for you and very helpful food good and drinks great prices nice and clean large area a must if you in Colchester

Thank johnwatson1
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! And I'll make sure the manager gets to see your comments. We're pleased you were able to enjoy our food and drinks deals, and hope you visit again

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My favourite bar in Colchester, nice atmosphere, decor and the best selection of beers in Colchester. The only frustration is the time it takes to get served, it's a running joke amongst regulars now. Staff just walk around the bar aimlessly, stop for a chat...More

Thank Adam P
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologise for the slow service, and this is something we are focusing on in the continued training of our staff. We're pleased you enjoy our beer selection though! And we hope to continue to be your favourite bar! Thank...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a Wetherspoons so you know what your getting,and this 1 does it aswell as any.Went on a Tuesday for the steak deal. I had an Angus and the Mrs a Barbecue chicken melt,both came out nice and hot and the steak perfectly cooked,you...More

Thank UmpleB
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and thank you for the lovely comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit and were able to make the most of our food deals! We hope you'll come and try one of our other club...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been to many Weatherspoons all over the country. But must say this is the best one for decor and atmosphere keeping the old theatre theme the building used to be. And unusual for this chain plenty of staff behind the bar all pleasant and helpful....More

Thank gjbell
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, such positive comments are always a pleasure to read. We feel very lucky to have such a lovely building, and we're pleased you enjoyed your visit. Hope you will visit again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Where to start... disinterested staff. Slow and poor service. Most staff have no idea what Ale or Lager is on offer, you have to walk them to the pump. Ran out of curries on Curry night, I ask you? Really! Just poor. Add in staff...More

1  Thank Keith v
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologise that you did not enjoy your visit, and we have spoken to staff on the issues you've raised, we hope it won't happen again. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

I was visiting Colchester and found this lovely JD Wetherspoons. Lovely looking building, great staff and service and a busy nice atmosphere. Food and drinks are very well priced and the new app to order at the table is wonderful. Totally recommend this pub.

Thank moody900
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for such a positive review! We're pleased you enjoyed your visit and the building, we feel very lucky to be in such a lovely setting! Thankyou again, and we hope to see you again in the future

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

If you like Wetherspoons, you will know what to expect from the food and drink, reasonable food at good prices and a large drink selection. Unfortunately, there is no outside area, but it's nice to sit on the old stage and look at the gallery...More

Thank Jay3679
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this review

Hello, thankyou for your review, they're always a pleasure to read. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit and were able to take advantage of some of our food and drink offers! Although in the early stages, we are hoping to expand to include an outside...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is a lovely old pub which used to be a theatre. It still has a lot of the old decor and character of those days - I love the puppets, models and standees of old and new celebrities (not all theatre / film related)...More

Thank Jay-Marie08
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this review

Hello, thankyou for taking the time to write your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit! And if you think of any new audience members we could add, let us know! We are currently hiring more staff, and we will ensure our standards are kept...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lunch
188 reviews
.05 km away
Noodle Zone
174 reviews
.10 km away
The Den at Twenty Three
84 reviews
.11 km away
Missoula
83 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mercury Theatre
759 reviews
.28 km away
Colchester Arts Centre
129 reviews
.20 km away
Headgate Theatre
55 reviews
.04 km away
Colchester's Natural History Museum
71 reviews
.40 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Gog97
What are the opening times for people under the age of 18? I'd like to spend some time with some friends but am just a few months away from being legal so I intend to drink soft drinks only. Will I still be allowed entrance in the evening?
26 June 2015|
Answer
Response from p137 | Property representative |
Hi, In answer to your question Under 18's are allowed in the Pub until 21:30pm during your visit you will need to be accompanied by a responsible person over 18 and you will also need to consume a meal and soft drink of... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 St. Johns Street, Colchester CO2 7AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Colchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1206 571003
  • E-mail