We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn Wreay

) #2 of 279 Restaurants in Carlisle $$ - $$$ , British,
Wreay, Carlisle CA4 0RL, England
+44 16974 75770
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good11%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (17 reviews)
“steak burger” (5 reviews)
“fajitas” (10 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wreay, Carlisle CA4 0RL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Arrived on my own about 19:45 as I was stopping in Carlise for business. Asked a friendly guy behind the bar for a table and was told they are just clearing one which I could have. He took my drink order and I took a...More

Thank Terry S
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and even better that you enjoyed your visit and the food. We hope that if you are ever on business again in the area, that you pop in again.

Reviewed 6 days ago

We popped in just to see if they served food on a Friday evening. What a great welcome. The chef was so enthusiastic about his food and had some great specials on offer. Fantastic staff, great beer. The food was probably the best pub meal...More

Thank fionadoig
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review of your dining experience at The Plough. Our Head Chef John is keen to pop out and speak to customers when he can and his passion for cooking is clear when you speak with him. It is very rare to...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Whilst visiting the area on holiday checked out the Plough Inn as found on Tripadvisor as one of the best. Must say certainly wasn't disappointed at all, fantastic surroundings with a great atmosphere. The menu has something for everyone with a fabulous range of starters,...More

Thank ScottMotherwell
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Lovely comments, it's nice to have the recognition for the hard work put in and all the staff and management want customers to leave knowing they have had an amazing full dining experience so thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice rural pub and lovely inside . Staff great and helpful but we were rushed out. Could of had more variety of cakes but on a whole very nice . They did provide for a gluten free friend very well indeed . Thumbs up there...More

Thank S615RWlisag
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon tea at The Plough. It's always difficult to find the right balance between sweet and savoury and too much or too little. This is why we try to balance it with 5 different selections of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Let's get straight to it Beer is amazing, great real ales, landlord knows his beers and will give amazing advise, my mate says that this pub has the best Fosters he's ever had Food, if you want traditional British food this is the best by...More

Thank timbermanbob
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Wow what an amazing review thank you so much, fantastic comments and fantastic review.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect tucked away public house serving fantastic food (recommend the red Thai curry) Great hospitality and great local beers. Highly recommended Many thanks

Thank C1098
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review your visit and we are so pleased you enjoyed everything. Hope you come back soon. Many thanks

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our 1st visit to The Plough Inn. On entering we received a warm welcome from the very attentive barman and shown to our table with the menus . Our drinks were the local beers which we highly recommend. We had the soup of...More

Thank M6FAB
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your food which is all home cooked and freshly prepared. The only thing that you had which comes with a 15 minute wait is the crumble as it is cooked in the oven to order...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Following a recommendation from the cottage owners we were staying with, we booked a table on a Sunday evening. When we walked through the door we were greeted by a very friendly lady and from then on everything was excellent. The service and ambiance could...More

Thank Jodenkel127
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and it was lovely meeting you both. We hope that you will return to Cumbria again in the future and to come and say hello. Many thanks for the review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dropped into the Plough Inn on a whim for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant itself is clean and well presented, the wait staff friendly and attentive, and the food excellent. We had the steak & ale pie and a burger, both of which...More

1  Thank Lauren J
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving a review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal. For the Onion rings on burgers,we use large Spanish onions which can sometimes be quite thick, this is for two reasons, 1) to be wide enough to sit on the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

People were starting to fill the car park and no wonder why excellent hosts, beer and food great atmosphere and music. Dog friendly and highly recommended

1  Thank Phil C
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and we are so pleased you enjoyed your food, drink, ambience and service, this means a lot to us, thank you.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant
196 reviews
6.09 km away
Fantails Restaurant
378 reviews
6.34 km away
Bridge End Inn
213 reviews
6.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
High Head Sculpture Valley
13 reviews
5.39 km away
Five Senses Hideaway
5 reviews
6.82 km away
Hadrian's Wall
406 reviews
6.74 km away
Eden Rock
103 reviews
6.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
scarletflt
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jane K | Property representative |
Hi We are approximately 4 miles off junc 42 of M6
0
Votes
SabineHolgado
29 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jane K | Property representative |
Hi Unfortunately trip advisor does not offer facility to offer food versus opening times. Monday we only open for charity quiz 7-11pm Tuesday's we are closed Wednesday - Sunday 12-3pm(2.30pm last food order) 5.30pm - 9pm... More
0
Votes
ianturnbull524
12 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jane K | Property representative |
We do not serve food on a Monday or Tuesday but do lunches 12-3pm Wednesday- Sunday and evenings 5.30-9pm Wednesday - Sunday. It is advisable to book on a weekend as it gets very busy.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wreay, Carlisle CA4 0RL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Carlisle
  • Phone Number: +44 16974 75770
  • E-mail
Description
The Plough Inn was tastefully refurbished with handmade brickwork and granite slabs, under floor heating adding to the warm, relaxing and welcoming atmosphere in 2005. The bar has been built using hand-made bricks rescued from an old Cumbrian mill race, decorating its front is an old ploughshare, the rural connection continued with a part of the edging to the bar coming from a combine harvester. The Plough has a well-deserved, excellent reputation for it's food which is locally sourced, wherever possible. Meals are served between 12 and 3pm, Wednesday to Sunday and between 5.30 - 9pm Tuesday to Sunday from March - November, The Plough opens on a Monday evening from 7pm for a fun quiz night which starts at 8.15pm. It is a £1 to enter and teams can have up to 6 players per team. A bottle of wine is raffled on the evening with the proceed going to the winners charity of choice. Free home made chips are given to all that attend on the evening. Tuesday evenings during March - November offer a small limited menu followed by a weekly acoustic music evening where musicians can come and play with other like minded folk or can just come to sit and listen and enjoy the music. A fun night is guaranteed for all who attend with a selection of real ales available from Corby & Hawkshead Brewery. It has been LocAle accredited by the Solway branch for it's local real ales and we are in the We hope to be in the 2016 edition of The Good Beer guide and have won CAMRA Winter Pub of the Season December 2015 and have just been nominated for CAMRA Pub of the Year 2016 so fingers crossed. We have been nominated 2014 and 2015 as Best Country Pub in the Carlisle Living Magazine awards and as a small family business are thrilled with the achievements so far since we took over the pub in May 2014. We have a real wood burning stove lit on a cool evening to add to the lovely ambiance of this Country Inn. We often have live music acts who come to entertain customers at The Plough Inn. The dates for these can be found both on the website and on The Plough Inn Facebook page. We can cater for up to 65 covers, weddings, funerals, birthday parties, special events, business/corporate lunches/meetings and training days. Afternoon teas are available on request, but must be booked. PLEASE NOTE - ALL OUR FOOD IS COOKED FRESH TO ORDER SO YOU WILL HAVE A WAIT WHILST YOUR FOOD IS COOKED. WE CATER FOR PEOPLE WITH VARIOUS ALLERGENS, PLEASE DISCUSS THIS WITH YOUR WAITRESS ON ARRIVAL
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing