We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Woolpack Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2-4 Bedford Road | Wilstead, Bedford MK45 3HW, England
+44 1234 742318
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 135: English reviews
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our grand daughter was taking time out to explore Australia so we met up with her at the Woolpack for a chat and something to eat, and as usual the food and service was excellent, as on all of our visits to this pub restaurant. Back in November a large number of the family, 26 in total met up for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter D
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

popped in here on the off chance for a Sunday lunch. Good menu and a choice of traditional Sunday lunch or something off the menu. Just one girl serving but she was brilliant and attended to our every need despite being rushed off her feet serving numerous other diners.would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank alanp343
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We were left feeling disappointed on our first visit to the Woolpack which we chose because of good reviews on Trip Advisor. There is a fairly limited menu anyway (not necessarily a bad thing), but on arrival we were told that the scallops, pate, charcuterie platter and pork weren't available. After ordering, the staff told us that there were no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
Samuel0409, Owner at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Good morning Firstly I would like to thank you for reserving a table with us on Saturday evening We sincerely apologise that we were out of one or two items and it's no excuse but we had a big shooting crowd in the afternoon who had ordered all our fresh scallops As for the tomato ketchup we did have on... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Just had a lovely lunch at the Woolpack Wilstead , catching up with a friend before Xmas we had a lovely lunch and chat , service was very good and food was lush and it looked very festive inside the pub .

Helpful?
Thank Alison A
Bedford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

A group of us had our yearly get together at The Woolpack last night. There were 25 of us and everyone said how much they enjoyed the meal and the service, not one negative remark. We've been going there for about 6 years and thoroughly enjoy it. We also eat there often as a couple, and highly recommend it. Managed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hollydaze57
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016

We ate here on a Tuesday night, we were welcomed by the young man behind the bar, there was a roaring fire lit and the restaurant was clean and welcoming, nice varied menu and also specials boards, I had the Ribeye and my wife had the Scallops followed by the Cod special, all the food was presented nicely and tasted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan1981Leics
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Such a lovely hidden beauty Lovely open fire, friendly staff and home made food Will return with friends soon

Helpful?
Thank Lozy092
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

One of the best steaks I've had this year, I would advise any traveller to make a stop here. The bar staff and waiting staff are very attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Nick F
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016

My sister and I are carrying out a trawl of all the pubs in our area as a Sunday Lunch experience. The Wool pack has come out on top, polite efficient staff, good food at a reasonable price. Well done we will be re-visiting you again. Margaret

Helpful?
1 Thank grumblow
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

We booked lunch for 2p.m. and our Baguettes did not come till nearly 4! No explanation given although when requested we were given a small discount. Hanging about so long took the edge off our appetites.

Helpful?
Thank Rosina33

Travellers who viewed The Woolpack Inn also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2-4 Bedford Road | Wilstead, Bedford MK45 3HW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Bedford
  • Phone Number: +44 1234 742318

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Woolpack Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?