We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 17/10
20:00
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
219
225
147
163
189
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
219
225
147
163
189
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Crooked Chimney used to be a favourite local pub to us but we haven’t been for ages due to slow service and unsatisfactory food. We decided to give it another try to this evening. The staff were very friendly and approachable. My wine was...warm so needed a glass of ice to cool it. By 6.45 the Sunday roasts which were the main part of the Sunday menu were totally unavailable. This left a very limited choice of main courses. Tables around us had not been cleared and those that were had not not been cleaned, so were sticky to the touch, as was the glass for my husband’s beer. Our meals arrived promptly and were nice and hot. Not sure we will be back think there’s still room for improvement with cleanliness .More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. I am glad to hear you found a great improvement with regards to the service and quality of food. We do take cleanliness very seriously and still maintain most of our COVID...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Been 4 yearssince been here. We had starters, mains and drinks for 3 of us. My hubby, brother and myself enjoyed the sunday roasts but the veg portion could have been better as not enough for us all to have a bit if each but...had to decide who would have ine particular veg. My main dissapointment was the garlic, cheese mushrooms - they were a let down, as in lack of garlic and cheese. I will not order them again as last time I had them I was also disappointed - nothing seems to have changed there.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thank you so much for leaving us your thoughts. I am glad to hear you had a nice visit, and will pass your comments regarding the veggies and mushrooms to the team in the kitchen, and hope this isn't an issue for you next...More

Reviewed 1 September 2021 via mobile

Last Wednesday, 13 members of our family arrived unexpectedly for lunch. The Crooked Chimney were kind enough to accommodate us with great service and delicious food. Kimberly, our waitress, was phenomenal. A great pub to visit, great with the grandchildren and we will definitely be...coming back. Highly recommend.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2021

Hello Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad we were able to accommodate you and your party and glad you had a fantastic experience. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Martin and the Crooked Chimney Team

Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

We came for a Sunday lunch which was very enjoyable. We were served by Cam who was very helpful and pleasant.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Q6495uidavid, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to Cam and the Team here at The Crooked Chimney! We look forward to your next visit! Martin and the Crooked Chimney Team

Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

Visited here for the second time and I think it was better than the first, fantastic food and service and very reasonable priced, will definitely be back and soon

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2021

Hello Thank you for such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Martin and the Crooked Chimney Team

Reviewed 28 August 2021

Amazing staff and well run pub! Amazing food and their garden is beautiful. Can't wait to stop in there, eat my beautiful gammon steak and enjoy a nice glass of wine

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, General Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Hello Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did, we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Martin and the Crooked Chimney Team

Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

Last minute decision to go out. Very good service from entering the pub as to when we left. Food all fabulous, very tasty, well presented and all correct temperature. A nice friendly atmosphere. Will definitely return. Waiters and waitresses very attentive. Well done to the...team. Family C-CMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, General Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Family C-C Thank you for such a lovely review, We are glad to read you had a fantastic experience and can't wait to welcome you back again very soon! Kind Regards Martin and the Crooked Chimney Team

Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

what a treat... We all decide on the fish cakes, it was totally delicious full of lobster and not mash potatoes... Can not highly recommend enough... Kimberley was great.... Great waitress x

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2021

Sandra Thank you for your great review!! We are glad you had a fantastic visit and will pass your comments on to Kim :-) We hope to see you soon!! Martin and the Crooked Chimney Team

Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

Awful service, poor menu availability, average food. In half empty restaurant, despite booking, we were sat at the table right next to the toilets and kitchen. The drinks were served just before the mains and only because we went and got them at the bar.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2021

Hello Thank you for leaving us your feedback. I am sorry that you left disappointed. With current issue with regards to supplies of food and the shortages of delivery drivers, there are occasion that one or two items become unavailable, however we have now introduced...More

Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

Where do I start! Straight away as soon as we walked in, got told your in the bar area as you have a dog which we expected which was fine, we got to our table in the bar area and were told one person needs...to go to the bar and order your drinks and food, 5 minutes later a waitress comes down and serves the next table which came in after us with there drinks, and took there food orders which I thought was a bit unfair, now the food! No cutlery with our starters had to ask, but ended up going up and asking at the bar and retrieving this ourselves , not enough bread to go with cambert asked for more , then was charged twice for this, then the mains came out at different times3 then 2 5 minutes interval, had to wait for pizza as was informed the 1st one had stuck so we’re doing me a new one, once received the pizza this was undercooked, tried to eat this but had to send back as was not satisfactory and could not eat this and not edible, after 5 mins came back still undercooked, so we gave up on the rest of the menu ie the dessert all this at a cost of a 150 pound never again, We will never recommend the crooked chimney to our friends and family.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, General Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your visit on Saturday evening. I am sorry that we fell short of expectations this time and you experienced several issues. The bar area isn't normally a table service area, however the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Brocket Hall
111 reviews
.81 km away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City hotel
943 reviews
2.62 km away
Travelodge Welwyn Garden City
296 reviews
2.90 km away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
414 reviews
3.27 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Misya Meze & Grill
293 reviews
2.69 km away
Auberge du Lac
772 reviews
.61 km away
The Stanborough Beefeater
885 reviews
2.61 km away
John Bunyan Pub
314 reviews
2.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Barn Theatre
66 reviews
2.17 km away
Stanborough Park
293 reviews
2.17 km away
Wheathampstead Heritage Trail
45 reviews
3.67 km away
The Reading Rooms
17 reviews
3.67 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
LondonSsh
22 January 2020|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from GusEdwards | Reviewed this property |
Had a very good drink there last week. Very welcoming and pleasant time beside the roaring. Haven't eaten there for several months, but whenever we did we had good food and good service even though it was busy
0
Votes
chuck1es
10 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Fredbertie1 | Reviewed this property |
That is one for the management not me,but a very good point.
2
Votes
chuck1es
10 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Andrewfarrrow | Reviewed this property |
It's always difficult to complain at a meal check, as this really does spoil the ambience of the occasion, and who wants another meal when you are already halfway through!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Crooked Chimney

The Crooked Chimney is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 3