We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Long Arm and Short Arm

) #22 of 66 Restaurants in Welwyn Garden City $$ - $$$ , British,
18 Lemsford Village, Welwyn Garden City AL8 7TN, England
+44 1707 322401
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good40%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“pork” (12 reviews)
“sunday roast” (14 reviews)
“gammon” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
18 Lemsford Village, Welwyn Garden City AL8 7TN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here this afternoon after walking from the village of Wheathampstead. As a bit of a self confessed food critic myself, I must admit that I wasn't expecting too much, and it was rather late at 4.05pm for going up to the carvery for our...More

Thank Denise B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I came here for the first time for a drink after work. It was pretty empty but there were some gentlemen outside who felt it necessary to make comments as I passed them. This is not the fault of the pub, but i wonder whether...More

1  Thank missinaylor
Ian B, General Manager at Long Arm and Short Arm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments Miss Naylor, we are looking to improve the look of the outside and make the little space we have more attractive. Regarding the unnecessary comments I can only apologise and I will be making sure this does not happen...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This pub used to be rammed with Sunday lunch goers...best roast around for miles, and everybody knew it !!. Since being taken over it's a place to be avoided. It's an insult to be served BLACK roast potatoes to be told they're ok on the...More

Thank Sarah H
Ian B, General Manager at Long Arm and Short Arm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Sarah for your personal opinion. We take on board every comment and feedback and from what you have said this is being investigated as to what went wrong and why. If you could inform me of the date and time of your visit...More

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We attended the Long and Short yesterday for Sunday lunch. There was one incident as we were on our way in when a very rude man was swearing and shouting abuse like an absolute buffoon right in the face of one of the bar staff....More

Thank Lancelots8
Ian B, General Manager at Long Arm and Short Arm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments. The young lady in question was goes by the name of Georgina and is an absolute pleasure to work with. She will not let occurrences like this phase her and she handled the situation perfectly. The situation has been...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

A friendly village pub with cheap basic food. I ordered the ham eggs and chips which was tasty. The 2 for 1 main course deal makes it good value but I wouldn't rush back.

Thank Allendm53
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We took my mother here for her birthday, as she said she hadn't been there in a long time. I thought it would be nice for her to go again. For a Monday night, the place was dead. But, unfortunately, the staff acted like they...More

Thank Dibdabbado
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

avoid eating here food is awful. both of us didn't eat or food and we left. will not be returning here. such a shame as it used to be really nice.

Thank Derri7
Reviewed 19 May 2017

I had a bacon and cheese burger which was a bit bland.Wife had ham egg and chips.Ham was tasteless.Still 241 menue you get what you pay for i suppose.wont be eating there again anytime soon.Shame because its a nice pub and the staff are friendly.

Thank billherts
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Popped in to this pub for lunch twice in April. We had a great curry which could not be faulted. The service was also good. However it was the food-grubby salts and peppers on both occasions which have stopped me giving the pub an "excellent"...More

Thank Matsudana
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Visited here on a Sunday afternoon for the Carvery. The food was very good. There was a choice of four meats, and you could have a bit of each of them. The vegetables were good - the only thing missing, for me, was mashed potato!!...More

Thank Dominic B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Auberge du Lac
602 reviews
1.04 km away
The Waggoners
516 reviews
1.38 km away
The Crooked Chimney
583 reviews
1.16 km away
The Stanborough Beefeater
397 reviews
1.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stanborough Park
185 reviews
1.51 km away
Welwyn Roman Baths
87 reviews
3.67 km away
Tulip Clinic
40 reviews
1.74 km away
The Galleria Outlet Shopping
197 reviews
2.79 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vanesa M
20 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from alan d | Reviewed this property |
i didn't see any but if you ring them up iam sure they would sort you out with a meal they are a lovely couple who runs the pub
1
Vote
bruce a
17 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Paul K | Reviewed this property |
Jose & Mandy Ferriera-Cabrita
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Lemsford Village, Welwyn Garden City AL8 7TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn Garden City
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 322401
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing