We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cole Green Lane, Welwyn Garden City AL7 3JF, England
+44 1707 332193
Website
Today
11:00 - 11:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 11:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 171: English reviews
Bishops Cleeve, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying in a local hotel whose kitchen wasn't open we needed to get some grub before going to a party. Place was recommended by the hotel staff so if we went. Looks ok from the outside, typical modern pub grub place. After seeing loads of reserved tables we thought "how long to get served?" Answer, pretty damn quick! the waitresses... More 

Helpful?
Thank NikP61
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cosy, dog friendly pub. Nice beer garden. The food was also very good and filling portions. Depending on the time of year can be quite busy and regularly have deals on their food such as main and drink for £10. Being within walking distance from the king George v park it's the perfect place to relax in the summer after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria N
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

The quality for price ratio is great, and everyone is really nice. Good garden too! Highly recommend the desserts.

Helpful?
Thank atchim
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I went here on the spur of the moment with my friend after work the other Monday evening. We both had the Full English breakfast which is so good value for money. It is also very filling & tasty. They do the BUY ONE GET ONE FREE DEAL which makes it even more enjoyable. We were both rather greedy &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Meeting friends in there local pub was supposed to be a reasonable cheep afternoon as the pub boasts about its reasonable prices!!!! Hahaha. £8.10 for 2 pints strongbow what a rip off. £4.60 for 2 pepsi colas average size. When I challenged them on the high prices I was informed there high because the foods cheap......no its not first item... More 

Helpful?
Thank junolunaecho
David H, Manager at Chieftain, responded to this review

thank you for taking your time to review us, we work extremely hard to ensure all our customers enjoy there visits to the chieftain.We believe we offer great value for money to our guests as can be seen from previous TripAdvisor posts I am sorry that on this occasion you didn't experienced this More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

I visited when it first opened and was pleasantly pleased with the service menu and food. Unfortunately since I first went the owning company appears to have change and the menu and food was very disappointing. Looks great from the outside but the food let it down inside.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
David H, Manager at Chieftain, responded to this review

Hi I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your visit to us at the chieftain, the owning company as not changed and the same manager is in place , if you would not mind emailing the pub on chieftain.welwyn@mcmullens.co.uk to let us know what wasn't to your satisfaction that would be most appreciated More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Always friendly. Good value food with decent selection. Good for kids too. Nice, friendly atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank amanda a
Jennie M, Manager at Chieftain, responded to this review

Hi Amanda thank you for taking your time to review us,we work extremely hard to ensure all our customers enjoy there visits to the chieftain,i will pass ypur kind comments onto our hardworking team and we lok forward to seeing you again very soon More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Been going here since the pub opened, landlord and staff very friendly and helpful, good place for reasonable priced food , will be going back very soon

Helpful?
Thank stevenlU3352JK
Jennie M, Manager at Chieftain, responded to this review

HI Steven Thank you for taking your time to review us and I will pass your kind comments onto our hard working team and we look forward to seeing you again very soon More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Cheap & cheerful food is good value for money - service is good staff friendly recommend to friends & family

Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
Jennie M, Manager at Chieftain, responded to this review

Hi Michelle Thank you for taking time to review us and we are really pleased you enjoyed you visit to the chieftain, we hope to see you again very soon More 

Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017

had an amazing roast beef dinner - the Yorkshire puddings are unusual - they are shaped like a small loaf - huge! fresh vegetables and the meat was superb. bargain at £9.95. staff are efficient, don't wait long for food, very clean and also offer 2 for one meals for £10 for the 2!

Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
Jennie M, Manager at Chieftain, responded to this review

Hi lynn thank you for taking your time to review us and I will pass your very kind comments onto our hard working team at the chieftain, we are really pleased you enjoyed you roast to had when you visited an dour unusaual Yorkshire puds,we hope to see you again very soon More 

Travellers who viewed Chieftain also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Chieftain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 11:00
Monday
11:00 - 11:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 11:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 11:00
Thursday
11:00 - 11:00
Friday
11:00 - 11:00
Saturday
11:00 - 11:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cole Green Lane, Welwyn Garden City AL7 3JF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn Garden City
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 332193

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chieftain staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?