We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Duchess Pub

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
152 Hovingham Drive, Scarborough YO12 5DT, England
+44 1723 351884
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Wed 12:00 - 23:00
Thu - Sun 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

Can't comment on the food as we didn't get any. Called in today for lunch at 1:45. Advertisement outside boasting of lunch menu till 2:30. Lady behind bar told us that she'd just switched everything off but she'd "switch it all back on if we like". We thanked her and she then immediately disappeared. We sat for at least ten... More 

Helpful?
Thank NYorksSteve
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Went there for Sunday lunch was told not serving as have a function on then went through week for evening meal was told again that they we're not serving. So why advertise meals when they not serving.

Helpful?
Thank kent j
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2016

Although we were in the Duchess for sandwiches ,tea/coffees after a funeral, we found the staff very friendly efficient and very attentive to our needs. The food was excellent and very well presented, certainly the atmosphere was good. I think the majority of the friends and family thought it was an ideal venue to have further meetings and get together... More 

Helpful?
Thank neilcarter
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2015

Really good atmosphere and the food is excellent . Usually call when we are visiting the hospital and have never ever been disappointed. The landlady is so nice and friendly and we feel really welcome. Have been a few times now and would highly recommend

Helpful?
3 Thank Christine W
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2015

We Emailed the Duchess on the 13th July after not being able to get through on the phone to enquire about booking a table of 20-25 people. 15th of July I have had no response from them. clearly not interested in the business so will go elsewhere.

Helpful?
2 Thank Harry M
Heidi D, Owner at The Duchess Pub, responded to this review

I am sorry you were unable to get through to us, I did email back, apologising that our email was down and had you managed to get sorted. With regards to not being able to get through on the telephone, I can only apologise if we were engaged or alternatively we do have an answer phone, you can leave a... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

we had our Diamond wedding anniversary party at the Duchess tonight and the food was excellent, the staff so attentive friendly and overall we cannot recommend highly enough. If you want to experience top quality customer service book at the Duchess now! Looking forward to our 80th birthday back here soon!!!! Mr & Mrs Charles Milam.

Helpful?
Thank mchopkin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

Overall very nice, reasonable priced food. Friendly staff. The downsides to our visit were that upon arrival, the door labeled the "restaurant" was the wrong room to enter. We preceded to walk through the pub area to the conservatory, the pub seemed pleasant enough. The table itself was rather sticky and the cutlery was slightly dirty. Good taste in music... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank McCreeryG
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2015

We had arrived in Scarborough and were looking for somewhere to eat when we came across The Duchess. We arrived just before opening and as the door was unlocked we were greeted by one of the staff. She gave us a table in the conservatory at the back, we ordered our food and it came quickly. I had the wholetail... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Arrived here at 7:30pm,food is served only till 8pm. We asked for a table for 8 people and was seated straight away. The food options were good, and each child ate free with a paying adult meal! The burger was huge! My partner asked for steak with mash instead of chips, all meals brought out apart from his (forgot to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank randlapril2009
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Visited here whilst on holiday with family. Good price for meals and good selection. All the children ate free, portion sizes were generous. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will defiantly return in the future when visiting Scarborough.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L

Travellers who viewed The Duchess Pub also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Duchess Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$2 - US$19
Cuisine
British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 152 Hovingham Drive, Scarborough YO12 5DT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1723 351884
Description
A friendly family pub, serving delicious home cooked food from just £2.50. 2 Meals for £10 Weds-Sat and Sunday Carvery 12-3pm. Kids eat free with each full paying adult.
Any occasion catered for including weddings, birthdays, christenings, funerals etc.
Ample parking available with beer garden and play area.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Duchess Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?