We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rosette

2 Hackness Road, Scarborough YO12 5RY, England
+44 1723 507214
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good21%
  • Average11%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible30%
Travellers talk about
“chain pub” (6 reviews)
“play area” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
DETAILS
2 Hackness Road, Scarborough YO12 5RY, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here my mother and I and my son on the way back from a day out. We have visited fairly regularly up until last year when I moved away from Scarborough. My mother and I ordered steak with JD sauce. One medium rare...More

Thank Alexandra C
Rosette S, Manager at The Rosette, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback Alexandra. We're sorry to hear that we didn't meet the grade on this particular visit. We always like to put things right at the time should there be a problem ! We hope that you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although we live near to The Rosette, we haven't been for years, we decided to try it again when family came to stay, it was much better than the last time we went. Food was brought quickly to our table and everything was clean, much...More

Thank Susan R
Rosette S, Manager at The Rosette, responded to this review

Hi Susan, thanks for the great review! So pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your recent visit - hope you won't leave it as long next time! We look forward to welcoming you again very soon! Suzanne and all the team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We regularly visit the Rosette and it has improved so much since the new landlady has taken over. The food comes out sizzling, and it's good value. It's definitely worth a visit!!

Thank Susie1962
Rosette S, Manager at The Rosette, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this amazing review Susie! So pleased to hear that you love the sizzle as much as we do! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Suzanne and all the team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately we had to wait over an hour for food when we visited The Rosette. We had to ask when our food would be ready, when it arrived it was obvious a lot of it had been sat for a while. We asked for cutlery...More

1  Thank Rachp14
Rosette S, Manager at The Rosette, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your comments. I apologise for the service received on your recent visit. I believe we have already been in contact and have resolved the issue with yourself. Kind regards, Suzanne and all the team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well what can I say? On our way home we decided to stop off for a spot of tea to end our day out. Ironically we chose this pub because of favourable reviews on here. The big big problem we had was we couldn't park....More

Thank Gemma F
Rosette S, Manager at The Rosette, responded to this review

Hi Gemma, Thanks for your review. We appreciate that the car parking spaces are very tight and are looking in to a way we can improve this. We hope that this doesn't put you off from trying us another time! Thanks, Suzanne and all the...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Visited at 6.30pm on Saturday. There was a 45min to an hour wait for food. Lucky it was a lovey evening and the kids could play outside. The menu is extensive, plenty of choice for everyone, but they are in the process of swapping menus...More

Thank thornton131313
Rosette S, Manager at The Rosette, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent visit even though we were extremely busy due to the sunshine!! Thanks for being patient with us during our menu change, we hope that you will visit us again soon and...More

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Me and my partner dined here on every evening of our recent holiday in Scalby and on every occasion totally enjoyed the whole experience. The food was brilliant - generous portions at very agreeable prices, and the service was great - first class. What a...More

Thank NMCBuryStEdmunds
Rosette S, Manager at The Rosette, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this fantastic review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us on your recent holiday! We look forward to seeing you again next time you're back in Scarborough! Suzanne and all the team.

Reviewed 13 March 2017

I visit the Rosette regularly for a drink and enjoy the company and atmosphere. They had a special discount voucher on the food so arranged to meet a friend for a light lunch. We both had jacket potatoes with salad. It was well presented, and...More

Thank Colette T
Rosette S, Manager at The Rosette, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Colette. Hope to see you again very soon! Suzanne and all the team.

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I called the rosette and reserved a table for a family birthday tea..I have visited the rosette on a few occasions and this visit was by far the best.. we arrived to find our reserved table with birthday banners and balloons..What a lovely surprise..!! The...More

Thank Debbie H
Rosette S, Manager at The Rosette, responded to this review

Thanks for the fantastic review Debbie. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit - even the little surprise of balloons and banners! We really hope James enjoyed his birthday and we look forward to seeing you all again soon! Suzanne and all the team.

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

visited for a family reunion. the staff couldn't have been more attentive and the food was good value and excellent quality. kids had plenty to keep them occupied with the outdoor play area and colouring sheets. will definetly visit again

1  Thank Beth H
Rosette S, General Manager at The Rosette, responded to this review

Many thanks for the great review, Beth! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your food and that we kept the kids occupied on your recent visit! Look forward to seeing you all again soon! Suzanne and all the team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Plough Scalby
224 reviews
.52 km away
The Foulsyke Bistro
147 reviews
1.29 km away
Yew Tree Cafe
129 reviews
.51 km away
Daisy Tea Rooms
211 reviews
.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
Peasholm Park
3,408 reviews
2.24 km away
North Bay Railway
760 reviews
2.10 km away
Freddie Gilroy and the Belsen Stragglers
100 reviews
2.70 km away
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
2,127 reviews
2.18 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
gangan67
Would you recommend booking for Sunday lunch?
10 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Rosette S | Property representative |
Hi yes, we would recommend booking as it can get rather busy. Our contact number is 01723 507214
0
Votes
referee3
Serving times for Sunday lunch
5 June 2016|
Answer
Response from Rosette S | Property representative |
Hi, we open from 10am daily serivng breakfast and we serve food up until 10pm Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$13
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Buffet, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:30
Thursday
10:00 - 23:30
Friday
10:00 - 23:30
Saturday
10:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Hackness Road, Scarborough YO12 5RY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1723 507214