We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red House

) #14 of 144 Restaurants in Newbury $$ - $$$ , British,
Marsh Benham, Newbury RG20 8LY, England
+44 1635 582017
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
12:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Marsh Benham, Newbury RG20 8LY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I went with a friend to The Red House for lunch. The first challenge after seeing the car park was full was to find somewhere to park. I ended up parking in what is a fortunately quiet but narrow road. In consequence of the car...More

Thank Oliver D
Laurent L, Manager at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I'm really sorry that you were unhappy with your experience. As the waitress said, we are renowned for our fish & chips, so I'd like to invite you back for complimentary fish & chips at your earliest convenience. Your feedback about the Coke is appreciated...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I can't praise the Red House enough!! Nothing was too much trouble. Having journeyed to our hotel in Newbury after an enjoyable day at the Goodwood festival of speed, we discovered to our dismay that the hotel in question had suddenly decided to close their...More

Thank Kathryn H
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your visit and for taking the time to write this kind review. I'm glad we were able to look after you and please visit us again next time you're in the area.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of our local WI ladies had a very enjoyable cream tea at The Red House this afternoon. Very tasty sandwiches - with no crusts, delicious scones with home made strawberry jam and clotted cream and sumptuous home made cakes with oodles of teas...More

2  Thank Smartie475
Laurent L, Manager at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for visiting us and for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea. The waitress who looked after you realised she had forgotten the cake forks - I can only apologise. We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After mooring up on the canal we had a quick 10 minute walk to this cracking pub. Really nice cheerful bar staff who admired our colourful shirts ! Whilst we didn't eat there the menu looked really interesting with a very reasonably priced all day...More

Thank bowcreekrunner
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting and for your kind review - we hope to see you again sometime.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Continue to like coming here. Good beers and good cooking by laurent and team in particular very good skilful homemade puddings. Good staples and i know the sunday lunches tick many boxes. Sensible good reasonably priced wine list

Thank Mark M
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your ongoing custom and your lovely review - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 15 June 2017

great food service very good prices for standard of food great the he pub you never know the well know people dine there

Thank ian-bradshaw1
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind review - hope to see you again sometime!

Reviewed 4 June 2017

The actual location is idyllic set in rural Berkshire and with a thatched roof! Lovely garden and a nice ambience inside. We went for a family afternoon tea and had a room to ourselves. The food was lovely - in particular the homemade scones, sausage...More

Thank Annette B
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you for your visit and your very kind review. We are proud of our Afternoon Tea so we are very glad you enjoyed it. Please do return and try our a la carte menu!

Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Not been here for years, and attended a works night out. The service was quite good considering we were a party of 16. When our meals arrived, they were very small portions. Also lacking in any vegetables! The chicken was beautifully cooked and with a...More

1  Thank Claddersmum
Laurent L, Manager at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We feel it's a little unfair, as the Chicken Ballotine is a very special and popular dish - corn-fed chicken breast, stuffed with chicken mousse, served with sautéed wild mushrooms, port sauce and potato gratin. We do also served roast...More

Reviewed 26 May 2017

Ordinarily, the Red House is an excellent country pub serving above average lunches and dinners. We're regular diners. We thought we'd give one of their promotional curry nights a go. Regrettably their attempts to produce Indian food were below average. The issues were : -...More

Thank tofer50
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your review. The Curry Night is new so we value your feedback and will certainly take it on board. I'm sorry you were disappointed, and hope that you will return so we can restore your faith in The Red House.

Reviewed 24 May 2017

Having had slow service received over cooked steaks. They were replaced however the offer of vouchers was withdrawn at the till. Shame as it could have been great.More

Thank HoldayHey
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Hi - as discussed via email, we don't feel that your review is an accurate reflection of your experience. You were offered complimentary wine and desserts, and we have discussed privately your interactions with our staff, who were very upset, and I do not propose...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Dundas Arms
345 reviews
4.06 km away
The Woodspeen
928 reviews
2.66 km away
The Vineyard at Stockcross
524 reviews
1.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kennet Horse Boat Company
68 reviews
3.92 km away
Donnington Castle
253 reviews
3.79 km away
Snelsmore Common Country Park
69 reviews
4.37 km away
Corn Exchange
29 reviews
4.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
steffi_bean2212
27 May 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Joan D | Reviewed this property |
Visited The Red House, Marsh Benham, In March 2017 for afternoon tea. Excellent tea and lovely location.
1
Vote
KazzieJ
13 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Daniel D | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Go onto the site on browser and then it will submit. The app is good but it will be easier to upload to the site from a browser
0
Votes
Mandy200447
29 August 2015|
Answer
Response from laurentlebeau7 | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry, however we do not have rooms here at The Red House, might I suggest The Hare and Hound which is 5 minutes from us. We are a pub/restaurant renown for our exceptional quality of food and... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$45
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marsh Benham, Newbury RG20 8LY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Newbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1635 582017
  • E-mail
Description
The Red House is a traditional thatched pub set in the beautiful West Berkshire countryside. We pride ourselves on offering Great British Food, complemented by a well-stocked bar full of local beers and and a hand-picked wine list. Chef Patron Laurent has been cooking for over 25 years in brasseries, bars and Michelin-starred restaurants.

The pub has a lovely snug bar, a charming restaurant and a beautiful private dining room overlooking the marshes. In the summer our sunny patio and meadow garden provide a perfect opportunity for al-fresco dining or afternoon tea. We look forward to welcoming you to The Red House for a drink, a meal or one of our special events.

We open at midday and serve food all day, every day of the year.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing