We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ship Aground

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
About
Historic Harbour side Pub Inn & Hotel. A landmark building with its history of hospitality going back over 100 years. Our atmospheric restaurant and pub food experience will be very much 'River Cottage' style with Seafood, Fresh Fish, Local Farm Produce, Seasonal ingredients, Carvery, Kids Menu Not forgetting Celiac gluten free, dairy free there is lots of choice. If we cannot grow it or raise it on our farm, you can be sure it is locally sourced and the very best of quality. From home smoked bacon to our own baked breads you won't go hungry. Alfresco eating with beautiful scenic views. Great Beers & Wines. Cosy in winter with a real fire. Completely refurbished during the summer of 2013
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Dog Friendly
Reviews (1,730)
Filter reviews
1,715 results
Traveller rating
1,237
359
70
23
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,237
359
70
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rabbit faggots mussels mash pudding sunday roast beef burger pie potatoes curry the pub dog friendly pub warm welcome friday night booked a table short break
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Having messed up my reservation and arrived on the wrong night they bent over backwards to fit our party of six plus a young dog into the restaurant. They were helpful and friendly and nothing was a problem including our gluten and egg intolerant family...members. The food was lovely. My son’s steak was perfect and everyone we encountered was polite and cheerful. Will definitely be back and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Great pub. Warm and friendly. Great food. Good selection of menu and food was really nicely cooked.We always like coming here when we visit Minehead.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Allison Thanks so much for your lovely review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed another visit to The Old Ship Aground. We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Minehead.

Reviewed 3 days ago

A quaint old pub,with lots of charm!The staff were friendly & attentive and the food was good.Well worth a visit!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi RoberteC5123LQ I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to see us at The Old Ship Aground. We may be a little biased but we totally agree with you, that we have a wonderful team of friendly staff. Many thanks for leaving...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

My husband told me about the pub as he used to drink there after work 20 years ago! A friend and I were up in Minehead for an event the next day and we booked for an evening meal here. Very sympathetic to my Covid...awareness concerns. Our table was in a quiet area with just on other couple at a table an acceptable distance away from us. We had the cod and chips and the mussels. Both were excellent and the mussels were a real treat. We decided on two (medium) glasses of Southern Californian Merlot. An excellent choice and what really impressed us was the fact it was served at exactly the right temperature. A great start to kur brief stay in Minehead.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Ann Great news that you enjoyed your visit! We all hope that it is not another 20 years before you return to see us again. Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent food, very friendly and attentive staff visited twice during our weeks holiday in Minehead as it was so good the first time. Best Sunday lunch we’ve ever had in a restaurant and good size portions. Situated at the harbour with ample parking and great...view, highly recommended!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Odyssey We are all thrilled to read that you loved your visits to The Old Ship Aground, well behaved dogs are always welcome & they can bring along well behaved owners too... A good Sunday Lunch is essential to a happy Sunday! We all...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited for dinner. The pub is located just by the harbour in a lovely and quiet part of town. The menu was imaginative with some normal pub type dishes as well as some more unusual ones. The range of drinks was also good with three...hand pulled ales along with the usual selection of others. Will definitely return when next in Minehead.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Alex Thank you for your lovely review, we firmly believe a great Pub should offer good food along with a great drink selection! We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were lovely and friendly, food selection was great, we had the brisket burger and the mussels and it was delicious! The vibe and the decor inside was cozy but also so interesting! (loved the whisky bottle lights haha) Would definitely recommend a meal or...a drink here if you're visiting Minehead!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Astronaut-tofu Thank you so much for your lovely review! We may be a little biased but we love our decor too. I am delighted to read that we looked after you and that you really enjoyed your food, and please do visit us again...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here with my Mum today as we arrived at 2pm wasn’t sure we would still be able to get a meal but was told they serve until 2.30pm. Very friendly staff. Had a wonderful meal. I had Crab my Mum had the Sea...Brass, It was about 3pm by this time and still offered us a sweet. And we both fitted one in as you just have to don’t you. The Chocolate Fondant was delicious, Mum had the Cheesecake which she said was good also. Would Recommend ~ Great Food ~ very Friendly helpful staff ~ in a lovely area.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou so much for your wonderful review! I will let everyone know how much you enjoyed the food and service from our lovely team. Puddings are always a very good idea... especially when it is Chocolate Fondant served with Clotted Cream and kirsh Cherries! We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I went to this pub and it was well worth the visit. Dog friendly and good access for mobility scooters.A good size disabled toilet and all on one level. We both had very nice meals and the staff were very helpful.Many thanks....More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Steven Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Great news that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you can return to visit us again soon. Well behaved dogs are always welcome and we try to ensure that they enjoy...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Reserved a table in the main bar on July 9th. For Oct 2nd arrived half an hour early only to be told the manager had allocated our table. Very dissapointed and left will not be going again. Don't bother booking not worth it we should...of asked for them to pay our £10 taxi fare. avoidMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi RuskyDorset I was very sorry to read your review, however after investigating this with our team I have been informed that when you arrived you were very upset that you could not sit in the main bar area (this was because we already had...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Marston Lodge Hotel
322 reviews
.39 km away
Channel House Hotel
52 reviews
.42 km away
Northfield Hotel
944 reviews
.46 km away
Kildare Lodge
44 reviews
1.29 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Wheelhouse Restaurant
749 reviews
.78 km away
Apple Tree Tea Rooms
730 reviews
.78 km away
Cream
291 reviews
.83 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
West Somerset Railway
2,588 reviews
.88 km away
South West Coast Path - Culver Cliff Woodland Walk
99 reviews
.14 km away
Blenheim Gardens
114 reviews
.55 km away
Minehead Museum
51 reviews
.75 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
martinwI7690BK
10 September 2020|
Answer
Response from YorkshireConnoisseur | Reviewed this property |
There was a step up through the front door but I think there was a side door that was at a lower level and all the internal doorways were wide.
0
Votes
Keith D
17 July 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from INDISGUISE1809 | Reviewed this property |
Some may find the rooms a tad old fashioned but we find them acceptable. However, as mentioned by others, it is the food that is really excellent, well above usual pub standards. The staff are all friendly and on the ball... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Ship Aground

Yes, The Old Ship Aground is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Old Ship Aground is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5