We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Meeting Place

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Scottish, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
+44 1350 727219
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 148: English reviews
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had a very relaxing time in the reception area of the hotel between the Meeting Place and Riverview Restaurant. The receptionist was very helpful when we said we would like to sit on the sofas rather than in the Meeting Place. She clearly described what was available and it arrived quickly. We asked for 2 coffees... More 

Helpful?
Thank heleneshaw
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the restaurant on Saturday night for dinner. There was a good selection of food on offer, my son and I had fish and chips which was so fresh and the battery perfectly light. The husband had a burger with blue cheese which was out of this world -I wish I'd ordered the same! My daughter had pizza. Staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie M
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Natalie M, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld. Great to hear you enjoyed your meal and that there was something on the menu that your family could enjoy. We work hard designing our menus so its nice to read this. You may be interested... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Stopped for lunch here last week, had been previous and liked it that's why we were returning. Cullen Skink was £7.95 starter, a tad dear but usually a winner. Potatoes were raw and there was no fish, I was told the fish was blended in the sauce, nope, no taste. The waitress was lovely as I explained and apologised how... More 

Helpful?
Thank fionamcgurk
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello fionamcgurk, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have looked into this review as we do take these complaints seriously. Several other guests had cullen skink the day of your visit with no complaints from anyone else. This is one of our best selling dishes. What I am concerned about is that you had mentioned... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Didn't eat here but nice pub. Dogs are welcome too. Has a lovely outdoor seating area right by the river which wasn't open but will definitely return when it is.

Helpful?
Thank Maisiegogs
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Maisiegogs, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our outdoor terrace will be opening on the weekends once the weather allows, hopefully not long now. Our food is award winning and you may be interested to know we offer a tasting menu every month. Every last Thursday of month, 5 courses, wine pairings, local dishes that... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2017

We came across this restaurant by accident on a weekend break to Dunkeld and how glad we were to have found it. Lovely open fire, really friendly staff. We started with the homemade tomato and lentil soup - it was delicious. My husband had the fish in breadcrumbs which he enjoyed and I had the home made burger and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee H
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Dee H, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld. Our Meeting place offers a menu that suits everyone and we often have daily specials to choose from as well. Can I also mention that we will be starting our slow food tasting dinners in March. This is... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
479 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Visited here a few times as staying in Atholl Arms for New Year. Welcoming open fire, friendly staff, Hogmany dance held in newly refurbished Bistro. Met the luvly Agnes a local lady who visits regularly, listened to all her amusing stories.:) Had soup and a sandwich before leaving to come home. Freshly made and delicious. All staff were great, especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank dundeetravellermrshc
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

HelloScotlandTigger999, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld. Great to hear you enjoyed your meals, everything is made from scratch and to order. This may take just a few minutes longer but we feel its well worth it. Agnes is happy to tell a story or two and loves... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Good burgers especially with the different toppings. Good onion rings. Can't go wrong with the haggis neeps and tatties.

Helpful?
Thank clynnjones
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello clynnjones, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your visit. Our burgers are all made to order from scratch and are incredibly popular. Our vegetable and bean burgers are vegan and we can also do a vegetarian haggis as well. I'm not sure if that's of any... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We ate here over the new year period. The new years meal in the Bistro was lovely. Minestrone soup. Chicken and prawn curry superb.the cloutie dumpling with vanilla custard was great. Friendly service and nothing to much bother. We ate here again on the 2nd and the sandwiches and soup in the bar was lovely. The open fire is great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dundeetravellers_8
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Dundeetravellers_8, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Meeting Place, Dunkeld. Great to hear you visited on several occasions and service and food was to your satisfaction. Your review has been shared with the whole team including our award winning chefs. We change our menu quite a... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Great dominos! This is a solid pub for a pint during the day or evening, with games and a good hotel lounge for lounging in

Helpful?
1 Thank Phillippa D
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Phillippa D Great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Feel free to use the lounge for games as well as the pub. Our food is also fantastic! Hopefully we will see you again soon on your next visit to Dunkeld. Regards, The Atholl Team More 

Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016

Had fish and chips and was definitely not over impressed by the standard of the food that I was served. The fish was not exactly inspiring and the chips were pretty much a non event. The peas were an embarrassment, these should never have been put on a plate, frozen peas that were hard and totally flavourless. The menu was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martinmc1967
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Martinmc1967, Im not sure what went wrong the day you visited. Since I do not know what day this was I cannot look into things further. We get fantastic reviews about our food and have a full house often with fish and chips being one of our most popular dishes. There is no need for us to reduce our... More 

Travellers who viewed The Meeting Place also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Meeting Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Scottish, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Parking Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Dunkeld
  • Phone Number: +44 1350 727219

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Meeting Place and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon TYne
over a year ago
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Meeting Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?