We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Boat Inn Cottage The Back, Chepstow NP16 5HH, Wales
+44 1291 628192
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We popped in for lunch and Peter, a veggie, was impressed with the menu which included mushroom risotto and a tomato and basil pasta dish with garlic bread which he chose and really enjoyed. Carole had a tuna panini which was equally tasty. We also shared a plate of home made chips which were to die for! Nice beer -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PeteC-CaroleB
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Accomodating in every way. Came with small baby and moved table 3 times with no complaints. Let us order food after kitchen closed. Offered to go out and but food had run out of. Doombar and Grolsch on pump and tap. Cute puppy lives in. Two floors and lots of atmospheric options. River terrace. Better than the high street options... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a nice meal at the Boat. The menu is a bit limited but rather that and do it well than offer loads and do it badly. The food was lovely and more importantly ALL freshly cooked unlike another 'more upmarket' pub in Chepstow. The atmosphere was very pleasant and relaxing. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Ken B
Newport South wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Saturday 4th march. We waited a long time to be served and 45 minutes for our meals. The server served our meal to another table in error, left the meal with them after they explained it wasnt theirs. Server then returned to kitchen. I observed the meal being pucked particulary the chips off the plate. Server then returned... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LadyHelen S
Steve S, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, I do not understand why two of you would feel the need to comment on the same visit? First of all may I say that you were both informed that we were very busy, but we managed to fit you in and tell you that as long as you were happy to wait we would... More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch at The Boat Inn today. The decor is refreshingly unpretentious if a bit outdated - proper old fashioned pub with a real fire and a reasonably priced range of bar meals. I was met with a very genuine and resoundingly warm welcome with helpful and good natured staff. Also, it's in a great spot on the river where... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa G
Steve S, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I have been here nearly a year now, sometimes the decor does get me thinking how I would like to change it, unfortunately this is a brewery owned establishment, so ultimately any change would be at my expense, I do see where I could do things, and would love to invest a little money to... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this pub with a friend for lunch upon recommendation. Waited a long time for drinks and food. Mix up with food which was given to the wrong table. When it was corrected rather than taking it back she served and when challenged she did not accept her mistake. Nice pub if you don't mind waiting for food and drink... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank juls70
Steve S, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, I do not understand why two of you would feel the need to comment on the same visit? First of all may I say that you were both informed that we were very busy, but we managed to fit you in and tell you that as long as you were happy to wait we would... More 

Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped off at this tiny riverside pub on our arrival in wales, en route to Cardiff. A great suprise and a lovely little find. Beer was good, food was good and exactly what we wanted - good British pub grun with a slight gourmet twist. Not hugely expensive. Service was great - very convivial and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank RachelValbonne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved the location of the Boat Inn which is in the striking position on the river in Chepstow. You can see the bridge and the river through the windows. The new management made us feel well at home and the wine and ale was good. We loved that we could be cosy and sit by a window playing one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
Steve S, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

It was so lovely for your feedback & comments, so look forward to seeing you both again in the future. Many many thanks, a lovely evening. Olly & Steve More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We Visited this pub for dinner with family on a Saturday night, although they were very accommodating with a last minute booking (Booked earlier that day for an evening reservation) the menu was very limited. The food when served was nothing spectacular and wasn't the best value for money. The waitress which I think was also the landlady, was quite... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Becky B
Steve S, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback, to follow up your comment about limited menu, it is impossible to cook fresh with a huge array of food. I am sorry you all didn't think it a good meal for the price, I wish you had spoken up at the time??? it is impossible to fix things after the event, also I am... More 

bristol
Level Contributor
132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

Keeping an eye on TripAdvisor over a period of time I saw that The Boat Inn has in the past suffered with some reviews, however I noticed that the reviews have been very good of late so we went there from Bristol last Sunday for lunch. We had a great welcome from the landlady Ollwyn who took over the inn... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank skibereencork
Steve S, Manager at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks both, it was a pleasure to serve you. We are still in the very early stages of running this pub, but with people like you makes it feel worthwhile, I am confident that we can continue with the standards I am looking for. regards Olly More 

Travellers who viewed The Boat Inn also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Buffet, Accepts American Express
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Boat Inn Cottage The Back, Chepstow NP16 5HH, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Chepstow
  • Phone Number: +44 1291 628192
Description
We are a local pub in the heart of Chepstow town. We overlook the beautiful River Wye.

All our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order and we pride ourselves on personal customer service.

Our bar is fully stocked including three different ales, including local artisan suppliers to support local trade wherever possible.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Boat Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Cardiff
21 days ago
Chepstow, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Boat Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?