We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barley Mow

) #141 of 158 Restaurants in Banbury $ , British,
Warwick Road, Banbury OX16 1SS, England
+44 1295 269758
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good16%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible25%
Travellers talk about
“lasagna” (3 reviews)
“ribs” (2 reviews)
“salads” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Warwick Road, Banbury OX16 1SS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

I was meeting some friends for an early evening bite to eat and the Barley Mow was the most central place we could think of.. I've been there a few times in the past few years and it's always been very hit and miss but...More

Thank Maggie T
Yvette R, Guest Relations Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Maggie. I'm really happy you gave us a try. Our previous issues with consistency have now been resolved we now have a big versatile and motivated team of staff members who do a great job and we are very happy we are fixing and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was value for money and tasty. The service was excellent. Mo was very friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Will defiantly recommended because Mo was so kind.

Thank Melanie W
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

thank you for your kind words i will pass them onto mo we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Come here quite often with friends for lunch and drinks, the food is all pretty cheap and the menu is extensive, lots to choose from! The food always comes out quick and is always of a good standard! I recommend the lunch time subs, the...More

Thank ElmoMasey
Yvette R, Public Relations Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi their. Thank you so much for your feedback and we are very happy you enjoy our subs they are pretty awesome! We always live to hear from all guests but especially regulars who come and see us often. So thanks again we really appriciate...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The pub has a good sized car park, with a pleasant bar and lounge, we were greeted by two cheerful members of staff.There is a good choice of food at very reasonable prices .we will be returning very soon. .

Thank johnbanbury630
Yvette R, Guest Relations Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi! We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We pride ourselves on having happy motivated staff and we will be very happy to welcome you back when we see you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

used to go there for food, but not lately. Cheap food, not bad, if you go for the normal pub food. for the past weeks (around 6 weeks ago) it started being short staffed, and very very busy. we had to wait for 20 min...More

Thank Andra M
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there I'm really sorry to hear about your poor experience with us. we do have a staffing issue at the moment but we have recruited several new team members and staffing up ready for the school holidays. I hope this aids you in having...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found a hair in my food. Told the staff and was told I was "being fussy". Walked out and will never go again.More

Thank Sean W
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sean. I am really sorry to hear about this. I'm not sure who you spoke to but our standards are usually impeccable when it comes to food hygiene. Do you recollect who you spoke to I'll be sure to chase this up and make...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've used this place many times before around 2 years ago whereby the food and service was great,however today and the previous visits are beyond acceptable as a paying customer. Extremely short staffed which then has a knock on effect of the quality of the...More

1  Thank Vegelover40
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we are sorry the service wasn't up to scratch on sunday as you could see we were very busy and had quite a few members of staff ring in sick . i would just...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here on Sunday 2nd July, en route to home. Absolutely awful. The glass for Diet Coke was dirty looking - more the effects from dishwashing, but I did not drink from it. Barman apologised for giving me a bitter shandy for my husband in...More

Thank Karen L
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you for taking the time to leave us a review if you would like to discuss this further please contact us on 01295269758 look forward to hearing from you

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today with family and friends its a nice clean pub with plenty of parking space and a big garden with plenty of tables and chairs inside and out good menu with plenty of variety and prices are very good the staff are brilliant mo...More

Thank Pauline R
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we would like to know how we could make this a 5 and we hope to see you again soon. Feel better soon from all the team at the barley mow

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for breakfast. Had a steak and egg served on potatoes and onions good coffee to wash it down No omelettes or bacon so that let the place down

Thank valhalla4901
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thank you for your feedback just to let you know all our omletts are now back in stock looking forward to seeing you soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Purple Mango
250 reviews
1.39 km away
The Roebuck Inn
96 reviews
.96 km away
A And C Fish Bar
20 reviews
.92 km away
Just Wok
19 reviews
.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
Banbury Museum
160 reviews
2.23 km away
Peoples Park
58 reviews
1.64 km away
St. Mary's Church
25 reviews
1.96 km away
Castle Quay Shopping Centre
30 reviews
1.99 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Yvette R
12 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Abigail G | Reviewed this property |
I think overall it's great!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
21:00 - 00:00
Saturday
21:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Warwick Road, Banbury OX16 1SS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Banbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1295 269758
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing