We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant

) #18 of 47 Restaurants in Tavistock $$ - $$$ British, ,
1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
+44 1822 613221
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sandwiches” (7 reviews)
“hake” (3 reviews)
“beef” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We chose to have Sunday Lunch at The Bedford Hotel whist on holiday in Tavistock. The restaurant was lovely and the staff extremely attentive. There was plenty of choice on the menu but the Roast Beef was really good. The three courses we chose were...More

Thank Karen F
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

£16 for 2 delicious courses. Food looked and tasted beautiful, almost to fine dining standard. My husband had the Hake with gnocchi and summer veg and was very pleased. We both had banana parfait for dessert which was fab. Being vegetarian I was excited at...More

Thank Wendypgeorge
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased that your portion size was corrected at the time by the waitress and the chef. We look forward to welcoming back again this summer.

Reviewed 3 June 2017

Our lunch was expensive but stylish. We each ordered a vegetarian and gluten-free meal. It was good that these dietary needs were catered for, even though the choice was limited. The meal had more style than substance, unlike the generous meals that we experienced in...More

Thank Clive N
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your comments are appreciated, I am pleased that your dietary needs were catered for. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We have just had a lovely afternoon tea at the Bedford hotel, there was nothing to fault and is very good value for money,we have paid a lot more for sub standard afternoon tea in more than one place,so we were thrilled with the Bedford...More

Thank redpanda2002
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon. I am delighted you enjoyed the experience and will recommend us to others. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Reviewed 27 April 2017

We stayed here on a conference weekend package. On arrival we found there to be car park at the rear of the hotel (this turns out to be on Lower ground floor level). There is a lift (for wheelchairs and less able bodied) to take...More

Thank Bikercouple63
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback I have taken your comments on board and will certainly act upon them. The Bedford is a beautiful historic grade 2 listed building with stunning garden to the back. Unfortunately due to its high listing we are only permitted to...More

Reviewed 4 April 2017

Staff very accommodating making wedding and reception a very special day. Good having everything under one roof. Food of a very good standard.

Thank neilanddebdirtmonkey
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your positive feedback I am pleased you enjoyed the wedding, accommodation and food at the Bedford Hotel.

Reviewed 1 April 2017

Called in for afternoon tea but I am afraid we must have caught them on a busy day. Having heard many excellent reports about this place we were quite disappointed. Most tables, and the bar area , had not been cleared of dirty crockery and...More

Thank brian840019
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you did not experience us at our best on the day of your visit. We do strive to achieve the very best in all of our offerings but on some days we can be unpredictably over...More

Reviewed 22 February 2017

Whilst visiting relatives in Devon, we stayed at The Bedford two weekends in a row. Breakfast was our first experience of the restaurant, wich a great selection of cereals, pastries, juice, etc. and then a choice of cooked breakfast. The full Devon breakfast was excellent....More

Thank JuSlaughter
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am delighted you enjoyed both weekend visits to the Bedford whilst visiting relatives. Thank you for your generally positive comments on the food, we are so pleased you enjoyed it. No black buns with the burgers now as our menu changes with the seasons....More

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Very nice sandwiches and cakes. And staff very helpful and professional. Hotel excellent and historical.

Thank Keith J
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So happy to read your lovely comments about the afternoon tea and our staff. I hope you return soon! Warm wishes, Leanne

Reviewed 14 February 2017

I honestly was not expecting food like we had at the Bedford hotel. My friend brought us here on good authority and pulling up to the place it had a certain charm to it. Inside via the car park the hotel could be described at...More

Thank Russell K
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Taylors
749 reviews
.14 km away
Robertson's
280 reviews
.15 km away
Bob's East End Cafe
137 reviews
.12 km away
The Kitchen
56 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tavistock Pannier Market
366 reviews
.09 km away
Tavistock Farmers Market
79 reviews
.04 km away
The Wharf
129 reviews
.25 km away
Stannary Brewing Company
22 reviews
.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$78
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Validated Parking
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England (Formerly The Bedford Hotel)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Tavistock
  • Phone Number: +44 1822 613221
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Bedford Hotel
Description
Historic hotel at the gateway to Dartmoor. Built by the Duke of Bedford on the site of Tavistock Abbey where the very first Cream Teas were invented and are still served today. The hotel oozes with charming features which hark back to a gentler time and its location provides guests with a close walk up on to the Dartmoor National Park.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing