We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duke's Head

Dukes Head Slugs Lane | Somerleyton, Lowestoft NR32 5QR, England
+44 1502 730281
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good25%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“antipasti” (3 reviews)
“pork belly” (6 reviews)
“sea bass” (5 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Dukes Head Slugs Lane | Somerleyton, Lowestoft NR32 5QR, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We've eaten here before and it has been great. This time really wasn't. Five of us ate, collectively eating 12 courses of food. Half of those courses were below par. With the mains, the pies were really good, but all the grilled meat was badly...More

Thank FTP82
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Once again me and my wife was not disappointed with our trip to the dukes. We started with the large anti-pasti to share and there was plenty for us two. For our mains we had the swordfish and the Lamb, my wife said her lamb...More

2  Thank John P
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi John Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review following your second visit to us. Its fantastic to see you enjoyed the food and experience so much. I will of course pass on your feedback to Matt and the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

How refreshing to be welcomed in to a pub as you enter. First visit but not our last, the pub is warm and welcoming to all, the service is really good, polite and trying to ensure your visit is without fault. We had Saturday lunch,...More

2  Thank Croyde33
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review of your visit to the Duke's head. Its fantastic to read that you had such a lovely warm welcome and found the food to be of the highest standard. I...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with my friend on Sunday, the pub was very busy, but the waitress still managed to find us a lovely table by the window looking out into the garden. Everything about our visit was enjoyable, we had the picpul wine which is gorgeous!...More

2  Thank raspberrymellon
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us, its very pleasing to see that you found your experience to be of the highest quality. I look forward to passing your comments onto the team at the Duke's...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited twice this establishment and both times the food was wrong or didn't arrive . First time my steak was cremated so I though it can happen , but you charge so much for it so it should be perfect . We went for...More

Thank Gintare1986
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving your feedback for us, please accept my sincere apologies that twice you have been disappointed by your lunch at the Dukes Head. Please could you contact Matt the Manager of the Dukes Head on matt.clarke@somerleyton.co.uk who would like to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have limited mobility so access/egress is difficult. I wouldn't have got in in my wheelchair or my waking frame - the car park is loose shingle and the ramp up to the back door is steep - then there is a deep threshold to...More

Thank Reuben D
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Reuben Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Duke's Head, I will of course look into your comments regarding the access to the pub. I will also discuss your comments regarding the team members with Kieran the Manager and address this...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I had dinner here last week and were very impressed with both the choice on the menu and the execution of the dishes. We started with beetroot mousse, feta, walnuts, pickled golden beets, blood orange and tarragon dressing + crisp belly pork....More

1  Thank christinebeehive
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Christine Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback following a visit to the Duke's Head. It's pleasing to read that this was the best meal and experience you have ever had with us, the team will be very pleased...More

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

After pulling up the pub which was not busy staff kept passing us by !! until a young lady arrived and was served immediately !! When I asked what was going on I was stared at and ignored. The service was none existent, the attitude...More

Thank Mark E
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Mark Thank you for your comments following a visit to the Duke's head, please can you contact me directly on ewen@somerleyton.co.uk so I can contact you personally? Kind Regards Ewen

Reviewed 13 April 2017

Whilst out walking last summer, we came across the Duke's Head, called in for a drink and promised ourselves we would go back there for a meal. This we did a couple of weeks ago and we were not disappointed. Staff polite and friendly, service...More

Thank Rita T
Fritton A, Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Rita Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your visit to us last year and a couple of weeks ago, its great to see you had another fantastic experience with us. I hope we will be seeing you again very soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 12 April 2017

We tried to eat here on a Saturday but they were fully booked, which we took as a good sign. We returned on Tuesday, 28 March, when the pub was nearly empty. The specials sounded fancy and were. I had a small seabass, 2 tiny...More

Thank Monica L
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Monica Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments for us, please accept my apologies that you couldn't get a table on Saturday, the pub can get very busy so I would always recommend booking in advance. Its a shame to read...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Decoy Tavern
8 reviews
3.09 km away
The Mardle Cafe
94 reviews
3.26 km away
Wheatacre White Lion
183 reviews
3.78 km away
The Waveney Inn
157 reviews
3.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Redwings Horse Sanctuary
113 reviews
4.36 km away
Aphrodite Beauty Studio
67 reviews
5.79 km away
Pettitts Animal Adventure Park
485 reviews
7.48 km away
Gorleston Beach
1,415 reviews
7.53 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
POLLY333
Is it dog friendly?
10 January 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Dixie H | Reviewed this property |
yes it is
0
Votes
Cynke
Can trips to sugar loaf be organised from hotel
18 June 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$64 - US$64
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dukes Head Slugs Lane | Somerleyton, Lowestoft NR32 5QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Lowestoft
  • Phone Number: +44 1502 730281
  • E-mail