We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
British, Scottish, Bar
Special Diets
Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
33
13
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
33
13
8
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Me and my husband have just had our wedding at the Dryfesdale Hotel. Glen was helpful from beginning to end. The room was set out gorgeously, the suite was had was superb and all the staff where so warm and welcoming. Food was absolutely gorgeous...and the Dryfesdale grounds and the staff made our day as perfect as can be. Thank you for all your help and for making our day so perfect. Dryfesdale Lockerbie will always hold a special place in our heart 💕More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

Brilliant time had by all. Glen was great. Rooms were beautiful we had the room with four poster bed breakfast was good would definitely stay again.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 16 January 2020 via mobile

Perfect for overnight stays. The rooms and hotel decor are wonderful and recently refurbished. The restaurant menu is disappointing though and could be more adventurous. Fish and Chips, Burger, Steak - Run of the mill menu. There is a good breakfast choice, but £9 extra...for continental is rather steep.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
wrighty147, Owner at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Reviewed 18 November 2019

Staff were great, rooms were clean but beds and pillows well past their sell by. Bed was very uncomfortable and pillows were awful, flat bricks with ratty protectors. At almost £100 a night, definitely not what I was expecting.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2019

Thank you for your review, our beds are changed fully every 5 years however they are orthopaedic mattresses which our guests prefer,

Reviewed 13 October 2019 via mobile

We arrived here late on the off chance of booking a room . Luckily for us they had one. About a mile out from Lockerbie on the Moffat road. Lots of parking and very quiet. Lovely place to stay . Friendly staff . Really nice...room no. 11 Great Breakfast.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2019

Thank you for your lovely review, and great it was a wonderful start to your Scottish holiday.

Reviewed 14 September 2019

Lovely bright spacious dining area, delightful friendly staff. Compliments to chef for some varied interesting starters. The scallops and the sea bass were excellent. The main of duck was a good choice.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2019

Thank you for your review, I the chef passes on his own personal thanks

Reviewed 12 August 2019

We travelled here with 36 family and friends for our wedding. The hotel is beautiful, the staff was amazing and couldn't do enough for you and the food was out of this world. The only downfall I can say is that my wedding planner was...off duty for the whole weekend I was there so I didn't know what time my car was picking me up and how many could fit in it. But on the whole it was the most perfect day. We plan to visit again for out 1st wedding anniversary.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2019

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure hosting such a special day for you, and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your anniversary

Reviewed 16 June 2019 via mobile

The new menu is well worth trying out. Had the scallops and duck starters and must say it was beautifully cooked and presented. We both had sirloin steaks for main and I must say this was probably one of the best steaks I’ve had for...a long time. We will definitely be back as this is one of the best places and settings to eat as a couple and a menu that is very well balanced for everyone and really want to try the liver starter next time. Thanks to James and the team working that evening you guys really made the evening extra special. Thanks Ian & SeemaMore

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?2  
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review, the chef and his team pass on their own personal thanks to you both, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel very soon.

Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

Thursday evening 11/04/19 new updated menu had game ravioli to start fantastic my wife had duck breast with fig puree I had lamb with quail and haggis scotch egg veg etc to die for

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Thank you for your review, the new menu has received great feedback from our guests and great compliments for Ryan and the team. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review

Reviewed 26 March 2019

Just back today after a 2 night stay room fantastic Dinner out of this world breakfast one of the best I’ve had in a hotel will go back for another stay.

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2019

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your lovely review, we have passed you kind words onto all our team, thank you once again

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
OYO Dryfesdale Hotel
655 reviews
.01 km away
Townhead Hotel
466 reviews
1.69 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
84 reviews
2.01 km away
Sure Hotel by Best Western Lockerbie
61 reviews
3.51 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant
428 reviews
1.68 km away
Just Be
157 reviews
2.08 km away
Cafe 91
211 reviews
2.17 km away
Lockerbie Lorry Park
89 reviews
6.45 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lockerbie Garden of Remembrance
307 reviews
4.53 km away
Lochmaben Golf Club
5 reviews
4.87 km away
Eskrigg Nature Reserve
93 reviews
2.68 km away
Lochmaben Castle
8 reviews
4.69 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ladysatin2
13 May 2019|
Answer
Response from wrighty147 | Property representative |
Unfortunately we do not accept pets, Best regards, the reservations team
0
Votes
ladysatin2
13 May 2019|
Answer
Response from wrighty147 | Property representative |
Our bar is open until 12am
0
Votes
mandaashworth
11 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Richard H | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I take my dog every time I say, your dog will love it. Book a garden room..... John H
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Dryfesdale Country House Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4