We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mareel Cafe bar

$$ - $$$
Bar, Cafe, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Mareel Gutters Gaet | Gutter's Gaet, Lerwick ZE1 0WQ, Scotland
+44 1595 745500
Website
Today
10:00 - 01:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 10:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 10:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Me and my friends came into the cafe for a coffee in the afternoon, and received constant stares from a member of staff. We suspect it was purely due to our age, as we are all 16 years old and doing nothing wrong, we weren't being disruptive and we had bought something from the cafe. It felt as if they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex K
LaurenDoughton, Marketing Manager at Mareel Cafe bar, responded to this review

Hi Alex, We're really sorry to hear this. We aim to provide all our customers with a warm welcome and a relaxing atmosphere to enjoy their food and drink in. It seems this time we didn't quite get it right. I've passed on your feedback to our Bars & Catering team and I hope you'll come and visit us again... More 

Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

since the fresh popcorn has gone, it's good to be able to get something hot and fresh before and after the film, nice food and drink selection.

Helpful?
Thank Emma W
EstherRenwick, Marketing at Mareel Cafe bar, responded to this review

Hi Emma W, glad you enjoyed our café bar, we try to offer a nice selection of food and drink so I'm pleased you liked it. All the best, Esther More 

Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

If you want really good quality food served well stay clear! Coffee ok. place moderately clean, not a lot to recommend it ...except the Cinema

Helpful?
Thank veggielakelandliving
EstherRenwick, Marketing at Mareel Cafe bar, responded to this review

Hi veggielakelandliving, I'm glad you liked the coffee and will pass on your other feedback to the Café Bar. All the best, Esther (Marketing) More 

Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

The Mareel is such a great arts centre, and we love visiting this place. When we needed to meet up with family just before watching a film, we met at the cafe. It's such a great setting on the dock side, with views out onto the sea, light and airy, with a really relaxed atmosphere. The coffee was excellent. I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve N
EstherRenwick, Marketing at Mareel Cafe bar, responded to this review

Hi Steve N, thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review of your visit. We're delighted you enjoyed your time at Mareel, nothing like sitting in the Café with a coffee, cake and a great view of the Sound! I hope we see you back soon, All the best, Esther (Marketing) More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Went in for some food today, big blackboard saying food served until 4, but at 3:50 they said we couldn't have anything. Have been before and enjoyed it but if you don't want to serve food at certain times please don't advertise that you do!

Helpful?
Thank neil b
EstherRenwick, Marketing at Mareel Cafe bar, responded to this review

Hi Neil B, Really sorry to hear that, as you are aware our kitchens close from 4-5.30 to prepare the evening menu. As all our food is prepared fresh this does occasionally mean that we may run out of the daytime menu slightly ahead of time and at 10 minutes until the kitchen closes there is insufficient time to freshly... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Very impressed, the decor and design was great. Very light and airy, right on the dockside overlooking the water. Lovely, friendly staff. Great food at a great value. Well worth a visit 👍

Helpful?
Thank Tina T
EstherRenwick, Marketing at Mareel Cafe bar, responded to this review

Hi Tina T, thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again soon! All the best, Esther (Marketing) More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

To be fair, this is a café in the local cinema/arts centre. So, you wouldn't expect that much. But, the food exceeds those expectations and is better than some local dedicated restaurants. The service is nice and the view on the ground floor is great. Just give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank fingerle
EstherRenwick, Marketing at Mareel Cafe bar, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave us a good review. I'm glad you enjoyed it, we love the views too! All the best, Esther (Marketing) More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2016

We were disappointed at the lack of variety of cakes and dishes on offer, but it was a pleasant place to take a break and have a quick coffee. There are better places to go in Lerwick (eg Peerieshop Café)

Helpful?
Thank tjsussex
LaurenDoughton, Marketing Manager at Mareel Cafe bar, responded to this review

Hi tjsussex! Thanks for taking time to review Mareel Cafe Bar! We're sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the range of products on offer during your visit. We try and change our menus regularly and update our cake offering - we also have the biggest range of coffees, syrups milkshakes and frappes in town, so I hope that... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

The bar serves a variety of drinks with a nice selections of teas and coffee, they serve draught beer , food at selected times ,nice window views, opening times are late so good place for doing a little work with Free internet access

Helpful?
Thank wagon0011
EstherRenwick, Marketing at Mareel Cafe bar, responded to this review

Hi wagon0011, thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Glad you like the Café Bar, its a great place to catch up with a bit of work with a nice view and a coffee! All the best, Esther More 

Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2016

Saturday night and the place to ourselves? where was everyone. They had run out of basic cocktail ingredients ? Asked for a Black russian had a vodka and cola as not got Kahlua or tia maria ! Apparently Staffing problems/ordering problems however there is a tescos and a co op down the road.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry B
LaurenDoughton, Marketing at Mareel Cafe bar, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, Thank you for taking time to review Mareel Cafe Bar. I'm sorry to hear that your experience wasn't as you'd hoped. We run cocktail nights every Friday night, and have a wide range of ingredients available. We do try to cater for customer requests outside of those nights, but we can't always guarantee availability - our stock orders... More 

Travellers who viewed Mareel Cafe bar also viewed

 
Lerwick, Mainland
 

Been to Mareel Cafe bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Cafe, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 01:00
Saturday
10:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mareel Gutters Gaet | Gutter's Gaet, Lerwick ZE1 0WQ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Shetland Islands  >  Mainland  >  Lerwick
  • Phone Number: +44 1595 745500
Description
At the Café Bar in Mareel we pride ourselves on using fresh, locally sourced ingredients to create delicious, rustic dishes and refreshments - the perfect accompaniment to a day out at Mareel. We offer a wide selection of teas, coffees, other hot and cold drinks, bar refreshments, and light snacks, so come along and enjoy a fabulous view, a comfy seat, and some delicious food and drink. Mareel Café Bar hosts regular enjoyable events such as Singer Songwriter Nights, Sunday Jazz Sessions, Monthly Film Quiz, and Mixology at Mareel on Friday nights where DJs select relaxing background music while you enjoy a cocktail or two. To find out more about these events, follow us on our Facebook and Twitter pages.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mareel Cafe bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?