We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant at Shibden Mill Inn

) #27 of 230 Restaurants in Halifax $$ - $$$ British, ,
1 Shibden Mill Fold, Halifax HX3 7UL, England
+44 1422 365840
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good23%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“rabbit” (7 reviews)
“scallops” (15 reviews)
“pudding” (20 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Shibden Mill Fold, Halifax HX3 7UL, England
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 412 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
154
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Second visit and once again a great meal. It is expensive compared to other places we have been, however the quality of the food, presentation, service and decor is worth it. Extensive wine list and an interesting menu make it a place to come back...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped here today for lunch. The day was baking hot (25 degrees), so the outdoor setting was perfect. We chose from the lunchtime special menu which was varied and very tempting at £14 for two courses. It would seem, from the previous reviews, that...More

1  Thank pdubo
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Sat 20th May, we were booked for 6.30 in the upstairs restaurant. on arrival there were more staff than guests and nowhere to move near the bar. taken to our table at approx 7pm to which we were made totally awkward as the wedding party...More

1  Thank traceysmith2017
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

We had Sunday Lunch here today -four of us. We all came away hungry. Tiny portions probably just enough to feed a child and at £15 for one course we shouldn't be coming home to make tea two hours later!More

2  Thank Darringtonjh
sdholenka, Owner at Restaurant at Shibden Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jo I have left you a voicemail and emailed you directly to request further information but I have had no response which means I cannot make an informed respond at this time . Thanks Simon S D HEATON THE SHIBDEN MILL INN 07770 698900...More

Reviewed 8 May 2017

I visited here recently for afternoon tea for a baby shower. The setting and the room were lovely unfortunately the food did not match. The sandwiches were a strange combination of fillings and had gone a bit hard on the ends. We were brought cookies...More

1  Thank Helen W
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Whilst I would always put quality before quantity (and the quality was generally sartisfactory), the portions sizes were laughable -- except that it wasn't funny on the evening, when most of my party had arrived hungry. The three whitebait that comprised my starter could have...More

5  Thank Joe S
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Food choice was not too much but gave plenty of variety across starters, mains and desserts. The menu advised which wines were recommended to go with each meal which was a nice touch. The staff were very attentive and the quality of the food was...More

Thank AshleyL82
Reviewed 19 April 2017

My partner and I came for a lovely meal on a Saturday night. We were seated promptly and was brought the wine list. I ordered the crab and salmon salad for a starter. If I am being honest it was on the small side. My...More

1  Thank Michelle L
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Welcoming log fire and warm welcome from the Manager who has been there 20 years We were served attentively by everyone and the Sunday lunch was very good, whitebait for starters, trio of lamb and roast beef perfectly pink with decent veg, lemon tart and...More

Thank MommaSimpson
Reviewed 2 April 2017

one of our favourite restaurants with great locally sourced products , unfortunately my meal was not up to usual standard , the lamb main course being particularly chewy.

1  Thank DarylBarker
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
22 The Square
491 reviews
1.29 km away
The Stump Cross Inn
288 reviews
1.30 km away
The New Prospect Inn
98 reviews
1.35 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shibden Hall
476 reviews
1.58 km away
Shibden Park
131 reviews
1.30 km away
Bankfield Museum
133 reviews
1.34 km away
Halifax Ski & Snowboard Centre
19 reviews
.84 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Judith V
Is it wheelchair friendly
1 May 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from PollyDollypolly | Reviewed this property |
Yes sorry for late reply
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, View, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Shibden Mill Fold, Halifax HX3 7UL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Halifax
  • Phone Number: +44 1422 365840
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing