We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Nelson Tavern

75 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NJ, England
+44 1202 486171
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good30%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
10:30 - 23:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
75 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We'd flown into Heathrow that day and travelled over to Christchurch so we were 2 weary travellers looking for a quick bite to eat so we stumbled into here as it was the nearest to our B&B. Little did we know we were about to...More

2  Thank Sally M
Hayley T, Owner at The Nelson Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sally M, we are pleased you enjoyed our burger. It is a favourite of many of our customers, hope you come back and try one of our other dishes. Thank you for you review. Hayley

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Trying to make the place up market competing with the Jetty and Noisy Lobster yes it is refurbish nicely although the lights are far too bright in evenings The food is good but come on tradition pub food please not food which is played with...More

2  Thank Julie P
Hayley T, Owner at The Nelson Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Julie P, I do agree that the lighting can sometimes be turned up too much, i have told the staff to be aware of this following your comment. We are trying to turn the Nelson into a friendly family, dog, locals and visitors establishment...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter and son-in-law moved into a flat in Mudeford yesterday so my wife and I took them for a meal at The Nelson. It was in every respect a very pleasant experience. The staff were attentive and efficient, the food was excellent. My wife...More

1  Thank Nick P
Hayley T, Owner at The Nelson Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

HI Nick P, we are delighted you had a great time with us. Joe and i are trying very hard to pick up the Nelson and its comments like yours which makes all the hard work worth while. We hope to see you all soon....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After booking a table for Sunday lunch we arrived and got seated next to a couple of families with rowdy, tired, uncontrollable kids. Parentals after lunch tend not to hear the mewling and noise emitted by their offspring as they sit sated by lunch and...More

1  Thank 235elaine
Hayley T, Owner at The Nelson Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointing visit to the Nelson. I am guessing you visited the pub before Joe and i became the owners just two weeks ago from 21/08, as we have been serving our roast dinners to a later...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Mudeford on our holiday this year (Airbnb) and this was the closest pub to our holiday home. My wife and I stopped by for a drink the day before and checked out the menu. We met Joe the new landlord who honoured...More

Thank Richard J
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very tasty lunch had by myself, husband and 2 children. The mains are reasonably priced, big portions and well cooked. The kids meals were also very good. The staff were friendly and efficient. We will definitely be back when we are in Mudeford again...More

Thank Sarah D
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

New landlord uh oh...but not in this case, excellent food, good service. .all in all hoping this may be a 'regular' for us when we come down. The specials are excellent!

1  Thank sarahwoodcock
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After deciding not to go to the tourist trap 'The Haven' on the harbour we wandered aimlessly around the town before stumbling across The Nelson. So glad we did....dog friendly...people friendly...the 3 girls working behind the bar and waitressing could not have been more helpful,...More

1  Thank Marcus B
Hayley T, Owner at The Nelson Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Marcus B, Joe and myself are the new owners of the Nelson and are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We particularly like making dog owners welcome as we have our gorgeous 8 month old labrador Remy who is enjoying being a...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I ate in the Nelson as part of a group who seemed to have ordered nearly everything from the main course menu. I had beer battered fish of the day, which was Haddock on that particular day. It was beautifully cooked, not undercooked or overcooked...More

Thank Andrew F
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Enjoyed the food very much. Only downside was being put on table next to men's toilets, we were a table of 8 making it difficult to be reseated elsewhere, unfortunately every time the toilet door swings shut it blows a gust of air tinged with...More

Thank 6nitho
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Beach House
6 reviews
.02 km away
The Jetty
1,989 reviews
.23 km away
The Beach Hut Cafe
304 reviews
1.58 km away
The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach
1,728 reviews
1.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mudeford Quay
977 reviews
.66 km away
Hengistbury Head
1,838 reviews
1.11 km away
Avon Beach
251 reviews
1.25 km away
Mudeford Ferry
58 reviews
.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MARION J
5 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Happy F | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry i am just a visitor so i have no clue about their functions or prices
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
10:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
10:30 - 23:30
Thursday
10:30 - 23:30
Friday
10:30 - 23:30
Saturday
10:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 486171
  • E-mail
Description
The newly refurbished Nelson Tavern is now serving a locally sourced menu, cooked fresh by our experienced gastro chef. Family and dog friendly, Cask Ales, Sunday Roasts, and a Friendly atmosphere.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing