We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Baggies

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
43 High Street, Christchurch BH23 1AS, England
+44 1202 490229
Website
Today
08:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 112: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Popped in late afternoon with the kids as we were all peckish after strolling around Christchurch. Very helpful staff. I had classic burger, served on olive wood dish, nicely presented. Kids enjoyed a veggie pastie and Cornish pastie. A plate of chips to share. All food nicely presented. Good value will go again.

Helpful?
Thank strawbhillmark
Baggies C, Owner at Baggies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taken time to share your experience about our food and service. Her at Baggies we thrive to do our best and serving you as our guest and provide our best food we can produce. We look forward to see you again soon. Best Regards, More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Not very impressed with the takeaway sandwiches.Bread dry and did not taste like butter was used. The service was okay though

Helpful?
Thank Annie T
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Had the order of a breakfast with a pot of tea....for 2 people.....!!! When WE asked for another t-bag for each of the pots as the TEA was very WEAK WE were told it would COST us an EXTRA 25p per T-Bag....Yet We were given a Full jug of milk which was enough for 2 cups of tea for each... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank katmar2
Baggies C, Owner at Baggies, responded to this review

I can only say you are the saddest people I've had in Coffee shop, we terrible because you asked for an extra Tea Bag and when we informed you that you would have to pay 0.25p? And you refuse and wanted to trade what's left form your milk and we decline then you start your war, you also said that... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Terrible breakfast, didn't bother to ask if there where any allergies, then when informed that there was he took the breakfast away and didn't talk to us for the rest of the time we where in the place. Really disgusting customer service and the food the others ate was small portions and cold at best.

Helpful?
3 Thank Perez M
Baggies C, Owner at Baggies, responded to this review

You can lie as you like and but we both know who is wrong very twisted said man I'm nit the one who shouted and have customer who can testify that, also I have come and greeted you and explain to you the special offer and you have decide to go for it any way and I point to you... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a Baguette and nobody seemed to know what they were doing. Charged extra to pay by card - really?? Asked for red onion and ended up with half an onion sliced on the top of the roll with roots on - won't be going back and it seems as others must feel the same as very dead... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason D
Mike I, Owner at Baggies, responded to this review

Dear Mr Reviewer, Thanks for taking time to give us feedback and we very much value your opinion, I'm the one who served you as my colleague was in training and I see that you are very disappointed when I informed you that the minimum spend £5 on card if less you will be charge 25p and you agreed, simply... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Having eaten here on prevoius visits to Christchurch in recent years, we went in for lunch on Xmas Eve. Waited for a table, & were then advised a 20 minutes wait which was expected as they were ultra busy. It is a popular venue and people were coming/going, but after 44 minutes we noticed other diners who had come in... More 

Helpful?
Thank CambridgeCat
Mike I, Owner at Baggies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to give us feedback, although you have not give us chance to try our food, please see my summery of you feedback:- * I'm truly sorry that we have not meet your expectation on the visit. * You mentioned that you have visited us before and enjoyed previously and that make you come... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely ham sandwich and a black coffee, great service and Mike makes everyone feel welcome. Always nice to pop in and have a relaxing time having a coffee.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Food and service was very good had the breakfast special all served on a nice hot plate. The only disappointment was the ketchup Says Heinz on the dispenser but sadly a cheap alternative 😗 Would certainly return when here next.

Helpful?
Thank Bizbmth
Mike I, Owner at Baggies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for take time to share your experience, We are delighted that you have enjoyed your most recent visit and you enjoyed our food and service. In regards to the Ketchup I guess you mean the metal basket that we put our sauces on it, as the bottle is red and have no brand name written on... More 

Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Popped in for a late lunch. I had the "classic burger" which was of excellent quality beef and cooked to order. It was imaginatively served on a board of olive wood, came with a generous garnish and was extremely tasty. Chips (which cost extra) were also good. The gentleman I take to be the proprietor was very pleasant and polite,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gregory T
Mike I, Owner at Baggies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your visit to us, we are very glad that we have met your expectation in service and our food. Our main goal is to do our very best in serving each guest walking through our door as a special one. * In Regards to the sign we have add some more... More 

Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

A lovely little cafe with friendly, excellent staff for whom nothing too much trouble. Homemade soup delicious. Would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank 159Jackie
Mike I, Manager at Baggies, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience, I'm very glad that you enjoyed our home made soup and service. We are unique and our aim is to make every visit as good as the 1st for all our guests We look forward to see you again soon. Best Regards, More 

Travellers who viewed Baggies also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Baggies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$10
Cuisine
Cafe, British
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 43 High Street, Christchurch BH23 1AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 490229
Description
Seating upstairs, downstairs and outside. There are extensive take-out and eat-in menus, serving mainly traditional British food. All dishes are homecooked, and supplies are sourced locally wherever possible. We serve a great range of the finest coffees which are Fairtrade and Rainforest Alliance certified.Baggies is a charming Listed Building at the heart of Christchurch High Street.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Baggies staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?